We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mabe's Pizza

Mabe's Pizza
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I will admit, I wasn't expecting much from this local favorite. I kind of assumed it was a place that, if you grew up there, would be legendary. But for a visitor, might just be "pizza". We ate dinner here after visiting the local Toppling Goliath tasting room (highly recommend) and I was pleasantly surprised. It had an old-school feel in the dining room, and it was bustling the evening we were there. We had the Regular pizza, sausage and pepperoni. The crust was thin and very good. Just the right balance between sauce and toppings. Worth a stop if you are in town and craving pizza.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HIltonMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    75
    37
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't Listen to Bad Reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Although a few people have said Mabes isn't good, that's because they are expecting gourmet food. Don't expect that, but expect it to always be good. The food is really reasonably priced, and very good. The pizza is always good, and the salads are not bad either. Their craft beers from local breweries are also very good, according to my mother. It is such a sweet atmosphere with nice people working, a mix of young adults and adults. The restaurant has a very nice small town feel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 78Michael78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My teen age son gives the wings a thumbs up. He had the pizza and I have the cheese pasta. It was all really good for a great price. Very busy on a Friday night. Lots of locals and families which was great to see. Will be back again when visiting Luther College.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AzScrapbookingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
127 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Always Good Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

When we come to town we always order pizza from Mabe's, it takes awhile to get delivered to our hotel but it's hot and delicious, we all go away full. They do need a meat lovers, but all others are good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A disappointing suggestion for Pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My family was visiting the area and had been told by other family members to try Mabe's Pizza. We tried it and were very unimpressed. My kid ordered pasta with Alfredo sauce which was also horrible. We sent the pasta back but managed to eat some of the pizza but will not ever go back when in town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank daileh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mabe's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Mabe's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing