We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking”
Review of Trout Run Trail

Trout Run Trail
Canton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hiking”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Beautiful place to go for a walk or hike with your dogs. People were also biking and very courteous to those walking. Also, some great places to take photos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decorah, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail along the river and through the hills”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This beautiful trail winds its way approximately 11 miles through farm fields , along the Upper Iowa River and Trout Run River. There are 3 or 4 hills that make the trail more challenging but you can either walk your bike or stop and enjoy the view if yo get tired. Along the way you can stop at the trout hatchery and feed the trout. and stop at the famous Decorah eagles'nest. If it is spring or early summer you might see the parents swoop down to the river and catch a fish for the young eagles. There is handicapped access to the river to fish. I have the good fortune to live a few blocks from the trail so it is my regular exercise location for biking, walking and conditions permitting cross country skiing in the winter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edie108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Scenic Run”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A great trail that we ran on two mornings at daybreak. Mile marker 0-2 was pretty flat thru edge of town. We were lucky to meet up with a local lady who we ran a mile with and gave us tips on the town.
Next morning we ran from 11-9 mile markers. What a nice hilly run and view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trail, but beware”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

we love camping at the city campground and exploring everything Decorah has to offer. the trail is in excellent shape with great views and of course the trout hatchery is a great place to visit. The trail from the city campground through town and out to the hatchery from the east end of town is quite biker friendly for almost all ages and abilities. BUT the approximately 6 miles of trail between the hatchery going west and north to the campground is extremely hilly. young children will not be able to do it and don't even try to do this section pulling a child trailer behind you. it is a beautiful section but the steep switchbacks make this section a very unfriendly family trail. The town should disclose this issue in their trail brochures and signage similar to how the Root River Trail in Southern Minnesota does. On that trail, they show where any steep sections are located.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MmurphyIowa_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“I would have gone to Luther if they had this trail back in 85”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have a long history with Decorah, so really love this little town, but actually went to the school in Waverly. I love cycling and this project has made Decorah into a premier destination for travelers, students and towns people. I could type for an hour about all of the sights that I saw, the friendly people getting exercise, but I will save you the time. Bring your bike and enjoy the ride!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trout Run Trail also viewed

 

Been to Trout Run Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing