We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stuff - poor service”
Review of Whippy Dip

Whippy Dip
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Decades old institution.
Restaurant details
Description: Decades old institution.
Decorah, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great stuff - poor service”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice menu - not inexpensive - can be dreadfully slow sometimes. Since it's the only soft serve place around that maybe why. Grin and bear

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveFmIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decorah, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Soft serve ice cream just steps away from the bike trail”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Why would you go to a chain ice cream parlor when there is Whippy Dip. Back in the 60s the name Whippy Dip was given to this local soft-serve place by the college kids and it has stuck. It is open from April- October for their wonderful cones, sundaes, sodas, ice crams bars, tacos in a bag, shakes, etc. It is a really great stop while on the bike trail (just go up the hill at the College Avenue Drive bridge) or after tubing or canoeing on the Upper Iowa River.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edie108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Old Style”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We love the old style walk-up hamburger/ice cream stands. We stopped here for a quick lunch of footlong and a ham and cheese for a total of $5. Then we went to Seed Savers and stopped back by and had peach sundae and twist ice cream cone.
We didn't have to stand in line but there was a short line while we were eating at picnic table.
This is a walk up and order so no seating besides picnic table. Your kids will love the ice cream .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had stopped at the Vesterheim Museum and on our way out of town we decided to stop at the Whippy Dip. We both ordered a sundae and they hit the spot - really good! Service was also friendly and fast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great summer place for soft serve!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Just a great place of yesteryear! If you like soft serve, come! Large twist cone, including tax is $2.50! But be prepared to wait in line!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevenrealife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whippy Dip also viewed

 

Been to Whippy Dip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing