We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable and relaxing break away”

Seed Savers Exchange Heritage Farm
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Decorah
Attraction details
Zumbrota, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable and relaxing break away”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We didn't know what to expect here. The old barn remodeling was very interesting. You must take the short 1/2 hr tour. Lori our tour guide was very knowledgeable and outgoing. We could've followed her around the grounds more listening to her. The number of different plants is amazing. The history of the whole thing is quite interesting. We went with another couple and we all enjoyed it. And it's free! We all bought seeds and other items there. The natural spring is neat. We should've came prepared to hike their 8 miles of trails. Next time...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
220 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived just as they were opening and we were greeted by Lori. She was very friendly and helpful and answered any questions we had. Loved looking at the variety of seeds they have, really nice store. Wandered around into the barn and in the gardens - great stop!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windom, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tomato Tasting time”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We traveled to Decorah, Iowa to experience the tomato tasting event at Seed Savers Exchange Heritage Farm. There were at least 20 different varieties of tomatoes to sample. Guests were invited to rate the samples and decide upon a winner. I hope chocolate cherry won because it tasted like candy! So sweet! Apple varieties and salsa samples were also available for tasting but the lines were long which meant the event was well attended. The gardens were open for viewing and the variety of different vegetables and flowers was amazing. One heritage flower variety was 7 feet tall called Kiss Me Over the Garden Gate and looked like a giant version of smart weed or jimson weed. Inside the building were seeds, books and other gardening items for sale plus information about joining the exchange. On the grounds was a large tent and tables and a chef offering soup, salads and a corn-shuck wrapped burrito for lunch at modest prices. The food was healthy and tasty. Hay rides were offered and I think there were hiking trails. Enjoyable experience except for the lines and the heat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gardener's delight!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

For the gardener this is a "must see". Very informative. We actually joined the club - loved it! Brought home several new seed packets for vegetable gardening that we had never seen before.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a few hours when in the area”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am NOT a gardener by any stretch of the imagination but found this place fascinating. After walking around looking at plantings and poultry and enjoying the rural ambiance I couldn't resist buying seeds and books for my friends who do garden. The project of collecting and preserving heirloom seeds seems very worthwhile. My husband, with dementia, also enjoyed it greatly. We were in Decorah mainly to visit the Vesterheim museum. This was definitely a great add-on to our trip!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seed Savers Exchange Heritage Farm also viewed

 

Been to Seed Savers Exchange Heritage Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing