We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed ourselves” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's

Ruby's
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Norwegian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
“Enjoyed ourselves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had the chef salad. There was a lot of iceburg lettuce, tomatos, cheese, ham and turkey... bottled dressing. My lunch companion had the caesar salad (also iceburg lettuce) dressing was outstanding. He also ordered the lasagna with garlic bread. Lasagna was delectable, bread was good, not much garlic flavor. He then ordered the chocolate cake for dessert... scrupmtious. He was in pain, but ate every last morsel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ML2BMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ruby's a Must for Scandinavian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were there for Settende Mai (Norwegian Independence Day) and they had several fine Norwegian dishes (we had salmon patties w/beet relish and Norwegian Meatballs). Even though they were busy, the service was great and don't miss the lefse and rosettes for dessert!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
250 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This is your quintessential iowa small town cafe. The service was great. The food was good but not phenomenal. Their "famous" cinnamon roll was average. They microwaved it a bit too long so the cinnamon flavor was muted (and wish it didn't have to be microwaved). I'm guessing their midweek, off peak tourist season traffic precludes them from making them fresh daily. My corned beef hash, two poached eggs, toast, coffee and roll came to almost $12.50 before the tip so the pricing is pushing the upward end considering the quality and quantity of what I received.

Helpful?
Thank stevenrealife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Comfort food with delightful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in to Ruby's for a quick lunch while waiting for my husband. What a treat! I had a steaming hot bowl of hamburger vegetable soup and a side of homemade lefse. I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch, the service and my carry out treat of a Ronny's famous cinnamon roll and more lefse!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KBGB1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Roll Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

When in Decorah, it is a tradition of many families to get a cinnamon roll from Ruby's. These cinnamon rolls are huge and sure to satisfy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HereNThereTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing