We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored hotel”
Review of Hotel Winneshiek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Winneshiek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This turn of the century hotel is located directly in the center of beautiful downtown Decorah. If you are coming to town, This is where you want to stay! Wonderfully restored to its grandeur with well decorated rooms. They are not large, as expected from a hotel of this era. There is also a nice but somewhat pricey restaurant within the hotel as well. Service was good, food was adequate, but priced high for the town.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dr_reagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 204 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

A beautifully remodeled hotel in great condition (they told us the remodel was around 2000 and you'd swear it was a few months ago). We hadn't been to Decorah but had been told it was worth a day trip (it was). The Winneshiek seemed the best choice. It's a small (31 rooms) hotel with a variety of rooms (we got the King bed of more than ample size and a nice sitting area). Very friendly staff. We had drinks in the bar (nice happy hour appitizers) and a great meal in the restaurant. It's an old style hotel - no spa/pool etc. There is an associated opera house that we were told normally is used for weddings - a common event here. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willearnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very lovely hotel. Beautifully remodeled. We had a small standard room, nicely furnished, quiet, very nice bathroom. Our only complaint was that the bedding didn't seem to fit the bed, and kept coming off during the night. Other than that, it was a very nice stay and the location was perfect. Lots of quaint shops and the Vesterheim Museum nearby. Had lunch at the Old Armory, which was a pleasant surprise. Did a winery tour, visited the fish hatchery, and walked through the nearby parks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedal_Pusher_7441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We came for a family wedding. it is fun to go to a small town and find such a nice well cared for place! There is a a unique atrium that just isn't built in a new hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and if ever in town again we will stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JVPonKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've stayed in Decorah 5 times, this was our first at Hotel Winneshiek. It's a smaller hotel (not for Decorah), very clean, pretty, friendly. Rooms are large with a sitting area. The hotel is within walking distance to bike/running trail and is along the main road in downtown. No swimming pool. Hotel has a restaurant which servers breakfast and dinner (not lunch) as well as a "tap room". Room service is available. Parking is right out back with validation from front desk. We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: we had a room on the second floor so didn't have to wait for elevator, looking over the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 43Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Winneshiek on a business trip and was impressed. My room was a junior suite with a very comfortable Queen-sized bed, nice couch/chair area and small working table. Bathroom was huge and it had both a shower and giant tub. This is a small town but their is a lot to do here - restaurants, shops, bike trails, Seed Savers, etc. For this Hotel Winneshiek was excellent choice. The restaurant was good but not as great as the rest of the hotel. French onion soup comes in a little cup and seems to have been just kind of thrown together, not baked like most restaurants. Filet was excellent, asparagus good, and baby new potatoes pretty bland. Good but not great for the prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the hotel get less sun but probably less traffic noise than those on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We traveled to Decorah, Iowa to photograph the Decorah eagles and their juvenile fledglings. Hotel Winneshiek is situated in downtown Decorah and is close to restaurants, coffee shops and shopping. Since the hotel is rather small, service was provided on a personal level and we found that all hotel employees were friendly and quite helpful. The room, food, and service were all outstanding and we will defintely stay at Hotel Winn on the next trip to visit the eagles.

Suggestion: book your room early. Decorah is a small town with limited accomodations and we were unable to get a room for our original travel dates and had to adjust our schedule to fit hotel availability.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decorah hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Decorah, IA
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Decorah
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dug Road Inn
Dug Road Inn
#1 of 4 in Decorah
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#5 of 5 in Decorah
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Winneshiek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Winneshiek

Address: 104 E Water St, Decorah, IA 52101-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range: $112 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Winneshiek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier location and unparalleled amenities. Stately architecture and rich heritage. While all these qualities make the Hotel Winneshiek unique in Decorah, our warm welcome and passionate embrace of the community give the Winn a quality of hospitality unique unto itself. Situated in the heart of Decorah, the Winn is part of a thriving main street full of local shops, restaurants, galleries, parks and unique attractions like the Vesterheim Museum. The hotel also offers the region’s best wedding and event venues, including the historic Opera House, with its original tin walls and ceiling, beautiful mezzanine level and dramatic stage. From the day it opened in 1905, the Hotel Winneshiek set a standard for elegance that has yet to be exceeded. More than a century later, the Winn gleams brighter than ever, honoring the past while exuding a vitality that will make every stay a treasured part of your own history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Winneshiek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winneshiek Hotel Decorah
Hotel Winneshiek Decorah, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing