We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Winneshiek
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had been to Decorah many times when our daughter was a student at Luther, but never had the opportunity to stay here. We spent 2 delightful nights and loved it. The stately lobby, the rich wood of the staircases and the large, nicely decorated rooms contributed to the comfort of our stay. The service was gracious and friendly. Breakfast, included with the room, was a fairly typical continental breakfast. It's located on the main street, and we enjoyed walking and shopping. Mabe's Pizza on the same block had the best gluten free pizza we've ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007mom2seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 203 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I were in the area for a funeral and instead of staying at a basic chain hotel, we decided to spend a little more (only around $30 more) for a nicer hotel where we would be more comfortable. Wow. I can't even tell you how far that extra thirty dollars went.

First, the hotel service was outstanding. The front desk clerk was very professional and friendly and had either remembered or had made a note on our reservation that I had called the day before to inquire about wireless internet.

We had an after dinner drink in the cozy hotel bar, which has a sophisticated, relaxed atmosphere with tasteful candles lit on every table. Even though the bartender was busy, he let us know he'd be with us soon and was super friendly (and made a killer Old Fashioned!).

Our room was very clean and comfortable. It had the modern amenities you want (a newly updated bathroom, strong water pressure, cable TV, etc.), but also had period-appropriate details and several antique furniture pieces to keep true to the historic nature of the hotel. The bed was comfy and we slept better than we typically do in a hotel. It was also really quiet, which was great.

The most amazing thing about this hotel, however, is the architecture and how well the interior and exterior have been maintained over the years (no sloping floors). The lobby is stunning and although I didn't go inside it, the historic Steyer's Opera House on the 3rd floor looks (from the photos on the hotel website) to be amazing. I have stayed at other historic hotels, and this is by far the most welcoming and appropriately updated. This may sound strange, but whereas some historic buildings have a bit of a creepy vibe this doesn't at all. It feels warm, welcoming and comfortable.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We traveled to Decorah to view the bald eagle nest near the hatchery. This hotel was a wonderful find! The rooms were very spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included the next morning. The whole hotel had the feel of an elegant building from years past, but was totally updated with all the modern conveniences. I had compared several other places to stay before our trip and this hotel came out way above the rest. The price was right too! While visiting Decorah, we also took a short trip to the north of town and stopped at The Laura Ingalls Wilder Museum. Well worth seeing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheG03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I always like staying here. You could not ask for a better location in Decorah. The rooms are large and well appointed. The service is also top notch. The few negatives are that sound from the lobby carries very well so it isn't the quietest hotel. Also, the continental breakfast is below average. From a room standpoint however, couldn't get any better and highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishyfishy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at this hotel and we had a wonderful stay. It is a very beautiful hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I definitely will stay here again. i also enjoyed Decorah. So many great shops and things to do. We went to the Winneshiek Wildberyy Winery, Seeds Saver, fish hatchery, viewed eagles nest and also great shopping and wonderful places to eat. It was a very fun and relaxing get away!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iowa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Decorah is a wonderful Iowa destination with a thriving downtown. There is a tremendous variety of shops and restuarants. Hotel Winn is a gem located right in the middle of it all. This is a wonderfully restored hotel with charming common areas and clean rooms. I love the attention to detail--it was done right. I highly recommend bringing a kayak and bikes. There is so much to do in this Iowa town. Oh yeah, don't forget about a visit to the coop. Unlike many towns, you could live without a car very easily here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on mainstreet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTCFIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Winneshiek is a lovely old hotel located in downtown Decorah, Iowa. It was gutted (in the 70s, if I remember correctly) and remodeled after falling into disrepair. Effort was made to maintain the integrity of the interior architecture and woodwork. The room we stayed in fronted onto Water Street, the main street in town. It was a large room (perhaps it had been 2 originally), the beds were excellent, and it was well appointed. Breakfast was okay, but if you appreciate the character of old buildings, I would highly recommend this hotel! We were in Decorah for a college visit and offered a discount. There is an excellent family operated pizza joint just a few doors down that you should definitely plan to frequent!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Decorah hotels
1.1 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
0.3 mi away
Dug Road Inn
Dug Road Inn
#1 of 4 in Decorah
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#4 of 5 in Decorah
377 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Winneshiek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Winneshiek

Address: 104 E Water St, Decorah, IA 52101-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range: $121 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Winneshiek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Winneshiek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winneshiek Hotel Decorah
Hotel Winneshiek Decorah, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing