We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCaffrey's Dolce Vita

McCaffrey's Dolce Vita
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Iowa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Go for the wood-fired pizza with thin-thin crust, just like they make in Italy. Don't expect it to be like New York or Chicago pizza, because it's not. It's a bit tricky to find, but is actually just 10 minutes from downtown Decorah.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeTravel2Learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We've been to McCaffreys's several times over the course of 4 years and love the setting, however the food is always average.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kcps1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ask for your pizza to be fully baked!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My third time here and was a little disappointed. Our pizza was under cooked. I forgot you had to ask them to brown the bottom of the crust. Picked up a piece of pizza and everything slides right of the crust. I know they have the right equipment to make world class pizza. Maybe the locals are use to lefse For pizza crust, but I am not. Please use the wonderful wood fired pizza oven correctly or have the server ask would you like your pizza raw or baked. Other than the pizza being raw the location and the building were wonderful. The server was very nice but didn't ask how our food was.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a wonderful experience! After a short little drive over a winding road we found McCaffrey's! They are located in a serene park-like setting. Just what we needed after driving all day. Their menu offers wood-fired pizza, salads and sandwiches. We opted for the special of the day, bacon-wrapped filet mignon with baked potato, corn and salad. It was delicious! Nyle, our server was very attentive. Our request for no pepper and a very well done steak were fulfilled. McCaffrey's has clean, open, refreshing atmosphere. I'm very glad we got a chance to experience it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chippewabluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food but erratic service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you can find McCaffrey's, it should be a good evening. The junkyard pizza was delicious. Our waitress was a little frazzled by a group of 11 and it was pretty tough to get a second beveridge. The atmosphere is rustic and fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank moritznet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCaffrey's Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to McCaffrey's Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing