We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My family has to visit every time they are here!”

Dunnings Spring Park
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Decorah, IA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My family has to visit every time they are here!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My family lives only 150 miles from me, but they enjoy seeing Dunnings Springs every time they visit. You can simply enjoy the waterfall from the park area or climb the wide steps up to the mouth of the springs to look into the hillside/cave.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowhuntress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    30
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Dunnings Spring Park has added a wonderful wooden walkway up the side of the hill so you can really experience the beauty of the area. We were just there last week and the leaves changing made it even more beautiful. Great spot to visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank buckyfanWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

You follow a single lane into the parks and the treat at the end is the waterfall. You can walk to the top or take trails and go to the very top. It is always a good photo op.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, IL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful for hiking and picnicking”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were there on a 100 degree day, and when we walked toward the springs, it felt like we were entering an air conditioned room. There are a few picnic tables. We were there twice during our trip at lunchtime (both week days) and the tables were available. The water flow is slightly down due to the lack of rain, but the clear cold water is still plentiful. You can do a conservative walk up on the newly restored railed stairway to the left of the falls or a more daring ascent to the right. Then there is a wooded area to the right where you can hike. It's a restorative experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience, young and old alike”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We love the short trek up the side of the springs to the top. There are stairs for those not quite so daring

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taylor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunnings Spring Park also viewed

 

Been to Dunnings Spring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing