We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very nice clean property! The front desk was super helpful. Excellent breakfast choices in the morning. The room was very clean (no dust behind the nightstand), the bed was comfy. Looks like a nice pool but I didn't use. There is no on site fitness room but the front desk offered a local fitness facility to work out with using your room key.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 454 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

The pool, breakfast and large rooms are all a plus. The blowers for the heat are fairly quiet. Best of all, the hotel is located on a lovely bike/walking trail that goes into town by foot in about 30 minutes, making this a great choice for walkers/runners/ bikers. The steakhouse accross the street is good, too. One of the better hotels of its type we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJNJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Worst internet speed I have found in a hotel in a very long time. Best speen 1.22Mbps downloand and .22 Mbps upload. Took 15 minutes to send a small Excel file. Netflix took forever to start and then timed out. Big TV but poor picture quality. Service is non-existent - just give you the key and offered no other information about anything in the hotel. When I asked about the slow speed, I was advised that there is faster internet avaialable for a fee. Do not advertise free internet and then provide such poor service that the only real choise is to pay for it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndecorah, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Todd, we are so sorry that you did not have a good experience with our internet. We have purchased the highest bandwidth available from our local provider in an effort to provide our guests with the fastest speed. I did review our static reports for that evening and due to the fact that the hotel was fully occupied, you may have experienced the slow down as a result off high usage.
We strive every day to provide our guests with great customer service and I will review our express check in training so that our guest feel recognized and appreciated during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

2 nights in mid August. Indoor pool and hot tub were a highlight of the facility as well as the many offerings at their morning breakfasts. I couldn’t stay away from the free coffee and chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. They are starting to undergo a remodel in late 2013 which will take out the local ornamentation that makes Decorah special, but then corporate just doesn’t get small towns. They want everything to look similar when they design it at headquarters. Hopefully the upgrade will spiff up the place. Our bathroom was a bit tired and not up to the standards that I have experienced as other Country Inns. It wouldn’t keep me from staying there, nor would the noise in the hall or in the pipes. Take a couple of cheap ear plugs and enjoy the really nice an comfy beds. We will stay there again when in Decorah.

Room Tip: The rooms to the North will be quieter and see if you can get a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel is very clean, staff are very friendly. Nice pool and hot tub. Cable for TV was flaky and had to fool around with it to get it to work. Could hear people walking above us. When the next door neighbor and the one above took a shower (at 5:00 am) the water pipes whistled and it was very loud. The room next door left their alarm clock on and it blared at 5:30 a.m., had to call front desk to get them to turn it off, the result of paper thin walls all the way around. Could hear truck traffic starting at 6am. Turned on the heater and it had not been run recently (I'm guessing) and it had a terrible burnt smell so I shut it off.

Room Tip: Get a second floor corner on the end, facing north side away from parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndecorah, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise issues you encountered. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son's family and 2 grandsons and I all stayed recently at the Country Inn in Decorah. What a clean, comfortable choice! We enjoyed the pool as well as the generous breakfast, and found having a small refrigerator and microwave to be very convenient as well. Very convenient to the new trail around town, also. What most impressed me was the friendly and dedicated service the staff displayed. I mistakenly thought a grandson's blanket had disappeared (turned out he had left it at home) and the staff was so professional and thorough in their investigation. They handled this upset grandma's complaints with patience, and shared desire to find the blanket. Positive experience, for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flbwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndecorah, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the missing blanket was found!!!. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Friendly hotel staff. Complimentary cookies at check in (and they allowed us an early check in). Good selection of breakfast items (biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, muffins, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, and more. We had some loud people next door and the front desk attendant came down immediately and took care of it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saritaj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decorah
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
1.1 mi away
Hotel Winneshiek
Hotel Winneshiek
#2 of 5 in Decorah
203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#4 of 5 in Decorah
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dug Road Inn
Dug Road Inn
#1 of 4 in Decorah
62 reviews
16.4 mi away
Super 8 Cresco IA
Super 8 Cresco IA
#1 of 2 in Cresco
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah

Address: 1202 Highway 9 West, Decorah, IA 52101-2459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range: $98 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Decorah
Decorah Country Inn
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing