We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel is very clean, staff are very friendly. Nice pool and hot tub. Cable for TV was flaky and had to fool around with it to get it to work. Could hear people walking above us. When the next door neighbor and the one above took a shower (at 5:00 am) the water pipes whistled and it was very loud. The room next door left their alarm clock on and it blared at 5:30 a.m., had to call front desk to get them to turn it off, the result of paper thin walls all the way around. Could hear truck traffic starting at 6am. Turned on the heater and it had not been run recently (I'm guessing) and it had a terrible burnt smell so I shut it off.

Room Tip: Get a second floor corner on the end, facing north side away from parking lot.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndecorah, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise issues you encountered. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 439 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

My son's family and 2 grandsons and I all stayed recently at the Country Inn in Decorah. What a clean, comfortable choice! We enjoyed the pool as well as the generous breakfast, and found having a small refrigerator and microwave to be very convenient as well. Very convenient to the new trail around town, also. What most impressed me was the friendly and dedicated service the staff displayed. I mistakenly thought a grandson's blanket had disappeared (turned out he had left it at home) and the staff was so professional and thorough in their investigation. They handled this upset grandma's complaints with patience, and shared desire to find the blanket. Positive experience, for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flbwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinndecorah, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the missing blanket was found!!!. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Friendly hotel staff. Complimentary cookies at check in (and they allowed us an early check in). Good selection of breakfast items (biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, muffins, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, and more. We had some loud people next door and the front desk attendant came down immediately and took care of it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saritaj14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is a great place to rest your feet after you've spent an afternoon and/or evening watching the famous Decorah Eagles and walking along the fabulous trail system they have here. The town is very clean with a vibrant downtown. The Sunday breakfast was tasty. We had scrambled eggs, biscuit w/sausage gravy. There is toast, bagels, fresh fruit and yogurt, coffees, milk and juices to drink, with plenty of seating area. The pool area is clean and the pool is refreshing. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our room faces north, which is a field, so there is a lot of privacy. The ac unit is quiet enough to...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mntravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We love to stay at the Country Inn and Suites no matter where we go. This was our first time staying at the Country Inn in Decorah. The free breakfast the next morning was very good. Our room was large, cozy and comfortable. Check-in was very smooth. Loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stopped at this place as a result of a e-mail offer from the chain. Place is nice & well maintain. Desk staff were nice and friendly. Suggested a number of places to eat and were very pleased with place we went (Mabe's Pizza). Breakfast in the morning was amazing as many times places cut back on the offerings on the weekends. Two drawback are there isn't a light by the chair in the corner of the room so I needed to go to the lobby to read the paper & the bed pillows are "sofa" sized. Took the pillows from the self which help some. We will come back to this place.

Room Tip: bring along your own pillow as pillows are super small - stay on the west end of the building as the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here when doing business with Luther College; more frequently my wife and I stay here when in the area for the Oneota Film Festival, Vesterheim, or other Decorah attractions. This time we stayed for two nights and had two rooms for a family reunion.

I find this CI&S to be hospitable; their receptionists have always been friendly and helpful. They never fail to have cookies waiting (unlike many other CI&S I have stayed at where cookies are promised but seldom available).

The pool area was very clean and nicely kept.

Room Tip: no elevator for 2nd floor
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdjatmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decorah
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
1.1 mi away
Hotel Winneshiek
Hotel Winneshiek
#2 of 5 in Decorah
193 reviews
16.3 mi away
No photo provided
Cresco Motel
#2 of 2 in Cresco
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#4 of 5 in Decorah
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dug Road Inn
Dug Road Inn
#1 of 4 in Decorah
59 reviews
16.4 mi away
Super 8 Cresco IA
Super 8 Cresco IA
#1 of 2 in Cresco
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah

Address: 1202 Highway 9 West, Decorah, IA 52101-2459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range: $120 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Decorah
Decorah Country Inn
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing