We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was in Decorah, IA for work and chose to stay at the Country Inn and would stay there again, but I did have a few issues when stayed there. The positives: the room was clean, modern, service was good and breakfast was good with many choices. The negatives: them room heater was very loud and woke me up two times when it kicked on over night, the breakfast was under stocked and the hotel was under staffed in morning to maintain the items on the breakfast buffet.
I can give them a pass on the breakfast as it looked like there was a lot of guests that were leaving the just before I got to breakfast. They were unprepared to replace many of the items they were serving. I was ok with what was served but some other guests were a littled peeved by having to wait a few minutes for each item to be brought out separtely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afiskness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    109
    19
    18
    5
See reviews for
173
72
21
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I travel frequently and find myself in Decorah. The Country Inn & Suites is more like a second home to me. Anytime I need something out of the ordinary silverware for use in the room, documents faxed, printing, supplies for special presentations and meetings, the staff has always been so accomdating and helpful. I had asked a catalog be sent to foreign national here in the states for a brief period of time, so he and his family could choose different locations to stay at Carlson hotels, the staff at Decorah sent a catalog right out. I often find my self with lots of work to do in hotel stays but find it easier when in Decorah.

Room Tip: Always be courteous and thankful for the room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

As part of our Midwest road trip, we ended up at this hotel at the last minute, in a handicapped-accessible room. No problem! We've stayed with Country Inn before and this one was good for us. It started off well because there were chocolate chip cookies near the check-in desk! Always a plus, especially for my choco-haulic hubby! Our room was very clean, smelled good, and we were able to get the Olympics on the TV and wi-fi for our laptops. Check and check. The bathroom was spacious with bars around, which really was the only way we could tell that it was a handicapped room. I actually appreciate having the bars around; they come in handy! The expanded breakfast was typical and tasted good, so no complaints there. We also were able to grab a cookie on the way out. Cool! What an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great little hotel. Staff was very helpful, courteous and helped with my business needs. Good, free breakfast. Nice selection and fresh food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We were in Iowa for one day on a return trip from the Up of Michigan for my Gfs dad services, I have family in Iowa they came to visit us at the hotel kids loved the pool, staff went out of their way to help us

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaskatravler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel was very accommodating during a recent week long stay in Decorah, due to my mother's stroke and death. Family came from all over and they held rooms, canceled rooms and all in all, took very good care of us. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is full of many choices. The lobby is very nice to visit with larger groups.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I booked a block of 4 rooms and arrived with a confirmation. They apologized, but could not honor the reservation! I had stayed there before, but no reason to now! Stay down the road at Hearland Inn...not 'quite' as nice, but double the value.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decorah
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Decorah
1.2 mi away
Hotel Winneshiek
Hotel Winneshiek
#2 of 5 in Decorah
187 reviews
16.3 mi away
No photo provided
Cresco Motel
#2 of 2 in Cresco
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Capone
Hotel Capone
#1 of 1 in Spillville
21 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Decorah
Super 8 Decorah
#4 of 5 in Decorah
342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dug Road Inn
Dug Road Inn
#1 of 3 in Decorah
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah
Address: 1202 Highway 9 West, Decorah, IA 52101-2459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Decorah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Decorah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Decorah
Decorah Country Inn
Country Inn By Carlson, Decorah Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing