We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Art, worth stopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Figge Art Museum

Figge Art Museum
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Art, worth stopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This art museum has an incredible aray of quality pieces in every form in their collection. They also display new and exciting rotating exhibits that make every visit new. Fun drawing and creative center for children as well. Great view of the Mississippi from the 3rd floor Winter garden too. Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank usatraveler5556_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    56
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Art Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I love this art museum. The artwork there is beautiful. I am glad that we have a place like this in the QC. It's also free for students which is also a plus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mississippibelle_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BETTENDORF
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you love art, the price probably doesn't bother you. I would not recommend taking children. Nice displays and interesting art pieces, but not family friendly priced.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“a real treat, unexpected treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We went to the Figge to see the exhibit of quilts. (Having seen the fabulous collection in Paducah, KY, this was a grouping of various antique quilts - many from 1840-1870), The quilts were certainly worth the stop, but the unanticipated treat was the exhibit Portrait of Maquoketa: The Dimensional View which was a very engaging installment; it helped that the artist was actually present and working though available to interact with visitors.

This is not a large gallery, but it does displays it's work in a clean and direct way that I appreciate.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ecclectic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great selection and affordable. Something for everyone. Frank Lloyd Wright furniture is exceptional and the early Latin American Exhibit is excellent. It's quiet and you never feel like you have to keep on moving. You can explore at your own pace.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figge Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Figge Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing