We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great hotel, very clean. Staff was friendly. Internet was fast. Breakfast was hot but not a large selection. Coffee was very weak almost like water..... Hot tub needed to be scrubbed, but the rest of the stay was excellent. Got a discounted rate through the college. If I didn't get the discount, I wouldn't have paid the full price. Little steep for the hotel. Pillows could have been better, but I am more about the cleanliness of the hotel which was great except for the hot tub as I mentioned above.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Christine T,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the customer survey regarding your recent stay with us. It is through comments and suggestions from our guests that we are able to improve our facilities and service.

I am pleased to see that you found your stay with us to be an enjoyable one. Thank you for mentioning the hot tub! Our hot tub and pool were repainted last week and we think that really made a difference in the appearance, we do clean it regularly, but the paint was chipping and gave it a worn look. Thank you for leaving such nice comments on the cleanliness of your room, our housekeeping department does a great job for us here!

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and I invite you to stay with us once again. The staff and myself will look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Davenport area.

Sincerely,

Jodi Hamilton
Rooms Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn
Davenport, Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 519 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the best western plus in davenport on business recently. the staff was great, wanting to make sure everything was fine with my room and service I was receiving. the food in hotel was very good, especially breakfast. no issues. would stay there again and recommend it to others,

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear joyce b,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the customer survey regarding your recent stay with us. It is through comments and suggestions from our guests that we are able to improve our facilities and service.

I am pleased to see that you found your stay with us to be an enjoyable one. Thank you also for your nice comments on the restaurant, the breakfast, and the service!! Our goal, as a staff, is to provide each of our guests with exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and I invite you to stay with us once again. The staff and myself will look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Davenport area.

Sincerely,

Jodi Hamilton
Rooms Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn
Davenport, Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Helpful staff made stay very pleasant. Nice accommodations. Sun deck a lovely little used perk. Strongly recommend to anyone looking for quality place to stay. Appreciate extra efforts made by Emily and Aaron.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DMJCASE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear DMJCASE,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the customer survey regarding your recent stay with us. It is through comments and suggestions from our guests that we are able to improve our facilities and service.

I am pleased to see that you found your stay with us to be an enjoyable one. Thank you especially for mentioning Emily and Aaron, they are always on task and are amazing asset for our customers. Our goal, as a staff, is to provide each of our guests with exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and I invite you to stay with us once again. The staff and myself will look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Davenport area.

Sincerely,

Jodi Hamilton
Rooms Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn
Davenport, Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

recently stayed at the hotel for business trip. staff was courteous, friendly, gave excellent service. rooms clean comfortable, roomy. food in restaurant was good. would highly recommend staying there if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Joyce M,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the customer survey regarding your recent stay with us. It is through comments and suggestions from our guests that we are able to improve our facilities and service.

I am pleased to see that you found your stay with us to be an enjoyable one. It sounds like you were able to use our restaurant Prairie Grille as well. Our goal, as a staff, is to provide each of our guests with exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and I invite you to stay with us once again. The staff and myself will look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Davenport area.

Sincerely,

Jodi Hamilton
Rooms Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn
Davenport, Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a visit with family. Shocked the hotel did not have an elevator, which was a problem when some in our party needed one. Got past that. Biggest problem was that we came back around 3pm, to find our room was not made. We left at 4:30, and came back 11pm, our room was never made that day, at all.

We complained. The on the day of check out the maid knocks on our door to make the room at 9am. We were still sleeping in, from the night before. Not sure why they would want to make a room so early on the day of checkout, and screw up other days. I think there is a lack of communication between management and maid staff.

Personally the hotel was not worthy of a 3 star rating. It's older than most hotels. The rooms are clean, though.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Ben C,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

I would like to address a couple issues and apologize for any confusion. We do not have an elevator since we are only a two floor property and all of our handicap accessible rooms are on the 1st floor. I did investigate the issue of your room not being attended to by housekeeping with our housekeeping manager. She has logged that you had a Do Not Disturb flag on your door, as a rule we do not enter any room that has this signage on the door so that we do not disturb your room. She also had a request that your room was addressed 1st thing the following morning because you did not receive service and that is your room was approached at 9:00 am when the housekeeping department starts their day. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Jodi Hamilton
Rooms Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn
Davenport, Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

very nice rooms and very comfortable beds. The free breakfast is great. Would highly recommend. We have stayed here several times and will keep coming back. They also have a very nice pool area and restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 619kelliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear 619kelliek,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the customer survey regarding your recent stay with us. It is through comments and suggestions from our guests that we are able to improve our facilities and service.

I am pleased to see that you found your stay with us to be an enjoyable one. I share each customer survey, including the comments and suggestions made, with the entire hotel staff. Our goal, as a staff, is to provide each of our guests with exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and I invite you to stay with us once again. The staff and myself will look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Davenport area.

Sincerely,

Jodi Hamilton
Rooms Manager
Best Western SteepleGate Inn
Davenport, Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Upon arrival, I experienced a fast check in. Because I am a Best Western Rewards diamond member, I was up graded to a Jacuzzi suite without me asking. Though I did not use the whirlpool, it was a nice room. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Also, in the room was a TV guide listing the programs for the week. All the staff I spoke with were polite and friendly. Derek, the person at the front desk, even let me use the exercise facility at 10:15 p.m. (It closed at 10:00 p.m.) I made sure that I was very quiet. The gym had a True treadmill, a stationary bicycle, a stair-stepper rowing machine, a weight lifting machine, and free weights plus a bench. I had an excellent workout. The only negatives I experienced during my stay was that since this was an older building, the walls were "thin" which means you could easily hear outside noise. (People talking and doors shutting.) Moreover, there was no USA Today newspaper for the guests, and no elevator at this hotel. In the morning, I took a relaxing hot shower. The breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs and other hot items. It was an excellent breakfast given the price - free! Upon departure, I experienced a quick check out. When in the Davenport area, I will again stay at the Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn.

Room Tip: If you do not like to climb stairs, ask for a first floor room since there is no elevator at this Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear MrLorin,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the customer survey regarding your recent stay with us. It is through comments and suggestions from our guests that we are able to improve our facilities and service.

I'm glad that as one of our diamond members you were recognized at check in, your loyalty to our brand is very appreciated. We very much appreciate your review as it is written is such a polite candor. We do provide USA today newspapers (complimentary to rewards members) but they are only at the front desk, I'm sorry that this was not told to you. I'm pleased that Derek was able to help you get your workout in! I am very pleased that overall your stay was an enjoyable one.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and I invite you to stay with us once again. The staff and myself will look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the Davenport area.

Sincerely,

Jodi Hamilton
Rooms Manager
Best Western SteepleGate Inn
Davenport, Iowa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davenport hotels
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
559 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Davenport
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Davenport
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
5.1 mi away
Radisson Quad City Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn

Address: 100 W 76th St, Davenport, IA 52806-1339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Davenport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davenport
#4 Business Hotel in Davenport
#5 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range: $103 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Steeplegate Hotel Davenport
Best Western Davenport
Davenport Best Western
Best Western Steeplegate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing