We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were actually pretty nice...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Charles, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Rooms were actually pretty nice...”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Fancy? Definitely not. The place actually has kind of an odd set-up, with the indoor pool/rec area in a sort of an indoor courtyard, surrounded by rooms. Arriving in our room, however, we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean (even had a sterilized remote for the TV -- kind of a nice touch). And they were surprisingly spacious. We had two queen beds in our room. They were not super-duper amazingly "Four Seasons" comfortable-- but they were not hard, lumpy rocks either. They were perfectly fine-- no achy back or neck problems the next day at all. The staff at the hotel was friendly and very accommodating. Would I want to vacation here? No. But for a reasonably priced place to stretch your legs, get a decent meal, and rest your head for the night, this place is just fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdnwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Kelly, General Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us. Reading through your comments, it seems that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our goal, as a staff, is to provide each of our guests with exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff works very hard to take care of our guests and great comments such as yours show them that their hard work pays off. Myself and the staff look forward to seeing you again during any return visits you may have to the Davenport area.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kerkhoven
General Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    116
    62
    30
    7
See reviews for
177
117
21
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Only stayed one night but everything was perfect. No issues whatsoever and the place was clean and QUIET. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet the next morning too. About an hour after I checked in, the front desk called to see if everything was okay and if I needed anything. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Kelly, General Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for all the wonderful comments and for taking the time to share them on TripAdvisor. Our staff works very hard to take care of our guests and great comments such as yours show them that their hard work pays off. Sounds like you will be back during your next visit to the Davenport area, myself and the staff will look forward to seeing you!!

Sincerely,

Kelly Kerkhoven
General Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn - Davenport, IA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Driving to the hotel is a bit awkward. Long access road that is very rough. Parking outside the room is awkward, no place to park near our room and the parking lot sloped so much it was difficult to keep our luggage from rolling away.

The check in staff was very nice. Unfortunately we found that our room was directly over the maintenance shop. We could hear the men closing up and hoped that they would not start work early. Our room was non-smoking but we could smell cigarette smoke. The next day we could see why. The maintenance workers were standing outside the window smoking. In the hallway the smell was very strong. The workers didn't wake us up, but the ice machine outside our door kept us up as people got ice all night long. The maid knocked on our door at 8:30am.

The restaurant and bar were very nice. Drinks good in the bar and it had a lively crowd. Breakfast was good as well. I wanted to sit in the hot tub but the inside pool and hot tub area was cold and drafty and the water in the hot tub was luke warm. So I skipped that. Oh well, at least the bar was good..

The room itself was alright. Adequate number of plugs, Wi-fi worked fine.Cheap Kleenex but Pantene toiletries. Husband complained that the toilet seat was difficult to keep the lid up, even with the intention cut in the counter to accommodate it. The bath and shower worked, nothing special although the tub seemed to give when I stepped in. An unsettling feeling.

Beds were good, nice flat screen TV, Micro and Fridge were good, as was the coffee maker. The air conditioner worked just fine although the blow dryer provided was whimpy.

All in all, probably won't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you near the ice maker or the shop.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was really not aware of this hotel's environmental policies. In fact, there was no recycling bin in the room nor notice of their policies. I wouldn't know that the paper goods were recyclable without being told.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Kelly, General Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for all your feedback regarding your stay with us. Reading through your comments, it seems that you were able to experience several aspects of our hotel. Our goal, as a staff, is to provide each of our guests with exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Your comments tell me that we did reach our goal in some areas, but fell short in others. I truly believe that our guests are the most valuable voice in helping us to improve our hotel and I appreciate your honesty and candor - without the honesty of our customers, we would never be able to adequately address issues and implement improvements.

I would like to assure you that myself and my management team are actively addressing the issues that you mentioned and I sincerely hope that you will give us another try. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to make arrangements for another stay.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kerkhoven
General Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn - Davenport, IA

or sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSP,
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived late after traveling many hours. At check in we were invited to enjoy the lounge and order some food. We had a great time dancing to the music which the DJ was happy to play for us. The next morning was a nice hot breakfast with eggs, bacon , sausage and the other average items. The room was bright and cheerful.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Kelly, General Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mary Jo,

Thank you for all the great comments!! I am so glad you had such a great time while staying with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many aspects of our hotel. I certainly hope that you will be traveling to the Davenport area in the near future and choose to stay with us again. We would love to have you back!!

Sincerely,

Kelly Kerkhoven
General Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn - Davenport, IA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Arrived late and reserved room type unavailable check in staff blamed booking company although wife later overheard them discussing how a staff member had messed up again. Would appear my explanation was a fob off. It was after 9 and restaurant was closed asked for suggestions and were directed to a restaurant nearby which was also closed found a diner ourselves.
Room was fine although carpet badly stained - advised reception of this and an unsuccessful effort was made to clean. Bathroom a little worse for wear good hot water pressure. Beds comfortable room we had extremely quiet interior looking. Amenities incl wi fi excellent. Rate included breakfast buffet which was substantial. Pool area which you walk through to access pool smell of chlorine overpowering. All in all happy with the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiretraveller2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Kelly, General Manager at Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. Reading through your comments, it seems that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. Our goal, as a staff, is to provide each of our guests with exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere. I did make note of the your honest obeservations of the carpet and the chlorine smell from our pool and both those issues have been addressed. Thank you for bringing them to our attention so that we had a chance to fix them. All in all, I am very glad that you enjoyed your time with us and I certainly hope that you will be back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kerkhoven
General Manager
Best Western PLUS SteepleGate Inn - Davenport, IA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

One morning, I was working in my room, and lost track of time. I went to the restaurant, and just missed the hours they were serving. Susan Brandt, a manager there, said, "Oh, I am so sorry, the restaurant is now closed for breakfast".... She then followed up with "But, I can get you whatever you want from the kitchen". Imagine that!! I was already depressed, assuming I had missed breakfast.. I then said, ok, what can I get. She said "anything, I will get it made for you". Wow..... I said, how about 2 eggs over easy, toast and bacon extra crispy.. She said, sure!!! I was the only one there---and was served a custom breakfast.. Wow... It reminded me when you visit relatives out of town, and your relative fixes you something to eat....whenever. Susan Brandt----. Not only did she go out of her way...and the cooking staff also... but (and this is important)... Her smile indicated that she REALLY WANTED to do this!! I said "thank you" and she said "you're welcome"-- and meant it. So much a better response than "no problem"---(overused), as it truly WAS outside of their plan for the next meal. Susan.. You are an asset to this hotel.... and made it special.

Room Tip: I forgot this hotel chain was a smoking chain. (oops)-- So I recommend the upper floors....away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueTwinJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davenport hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Davenport
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Davenport
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn
Address: 100 W 76th St, Davenport, IA 52806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Davenport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davenport
#4 Business Hotel in Davenport
#5 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Steeplegate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Steeplegate Hotel Davenport
Best Western Davenport
Davenport Best Western
Best Western Steeplegate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing