We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome to Davenport”

The Putnam Museum & Science Center
Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Putnam is a place where people connect with history and ideas by doing, making and experiencing. Our classes and special events are a great complement to our hands-on exhibit galleries. There is always something new to discover and something for everyone at the Putnam.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Iowa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great welcome to Davenport”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We started our visit with a movie on the Big Screen (The Rocky Mountain Express) and then visited the museum, especially enjoying the Asian and Egyptian displays. I think what I like the best about this museum is that, while it does have displays and exhibits that are child-oriented, they do not dominate the museum. That balance is very important in a museum that wishes to serve the entire public. Very much worth the trip.

If there were a negative point to be mentioned, we did chuckle at the price (a whopping $18 bucks per person additional) to visit Lady Diana's dresses, which, of course, we declined. That is highway robbery...did they have to buy each outfit a plane ticket, or what? I could see such an exhibit being housed at the casino which sponsored it - or especially in Las Vegas. But why, oh why, in a museum?? Contrast that with the importance of the exquisite mummy in the permanent collection. Oh well, the chuckles were free. There's that.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jojofrance2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    49
    20
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Diana's Tribute”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This exhibit was awesome! So interesting reading about her life and seeing her clothes. She was an icon and is greatly missed. We enjoyed other stationary exhibits in the Museum as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Princess Diana Exhibit”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed the entire exhibit. The Quad Cities are blessed to have this museum. There werent any negatives to be found.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise2162013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent use of time”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I spent two hours at the Putnam visiting the Diana Museum. The exhibit was laid out well with video of the dresses and of her early life corresponding to the time periods of her life in each room. The museum itself is very modern with clean facilities and a gift shop. The Diana gift shop was right at the end of the exhibit. I had no trouble finding the museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Class act staff and facilities”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Checked out the Diana exhibit. That is quite an undertaking to get a big deal like the Princess Di exhibit to come to the Midwest. A sincere Thank You to the staff and city of Davenport for making it possible. Imax theatre was clean and films were entertaining. Rocky Mountain Express and Jerusalem were fascinating films and I would recommend both. Nice concession area. Clean restrooms. Extremely attentive staff. Davenport has much to brag about with their museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank indiana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Putnam Museum & Science Center also viewed

 

Been to The Putnam Museum & Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing