We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed at in USA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's amazing that you'll find one of the top 3 hotels I've ever stayed at in USA in the little town of Davenport, Iowa - with rates 1/5 of a simple decent hotel room in any midsize city.

This hotel very much reminds of The Plaza, NYC. The building is pretty, interior and exterior. The rooms are large with windows from floor to ceiling. The bathrooms are over sized, and even has built in TV. The mini bar is great and the rooms as clean as they get.

Hotel staff is very helpful and a "No" is non-existent here. For breakfast you get served at your table, what ever you like to order and the lobby bar is a nice hang out as well.

There is only one place to ever stay in Davenport and nearby areas - Blackhawk.

Room Tip: Make sure to get river view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fantorangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Fantorangen,

Thank you for your outstanding review! Wow. Being ranked as one of the top 3 hotels that you've stayed at in all of the USA is truly an honor. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. At Hotel Blackhawk, we strive to create memorable experiences for each of our guests. We want to do whatever we can to make our guests feel as if they are at home when they're with us. Thank you again for all of your positive feedback. I will be sharing your review with all of our team members. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 553 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We've never been to Davenport so we had no idea where to stay for just one night while driving thru to Wisconsin. With the help from TA, we narrowed it down to the Hotel Blackhawk! Wow, great choice. It was our anniversary and they upgraded us to a high floor, river view. The room was beautiful as was the hotel. Martini's were 1/2 off in the lobby bar so we had to try a few ;)
Then we went in search of dinner. We found a gem right across the street. Read my review on Duck City Bistro. So great!!
In the morning we walked for miles along the river. (Had to walk off dessert). Wonderful city, wonderful stay. Can't wait to get back!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lcrich56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Lcrich56,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Blackhawk for your recent visit to Davenport. I was delighted to hear how you found us on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate all of your comments, I will be sure to share them with our team. If you're ever back in the area, I hope you stay us again very soon. What a great way to celebrate your anniversary......

Happy Anniverary to you from all of us at Hotel Blackhawk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The renovated hotel is a very solid offering. New touches abound, but they are integrated into a hotel that when built in 1914 was ahead of it's time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, providing a welcome feel to the property. Modern touches in the bath and rooms, blends with the marble and ornate glass work of a previous century. The pool, the spa, the coffee shop, the lobby bar, all contribute to making this a very deserving spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennesseeTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear TennesseeTraveler14,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor. We are honored that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for your compliments about our staff and the service that you received during your time spent with us. At Hotel Blackhawk, customer service is our top priority. It is our goal every day to ensure that each person who walks through our historic lobby feels welcome. It sounds like we succeeded in providing a unique and memorable experience for you, and we could not be happier.

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I actually had a meeting in Moline but decided to stay in Davenport at the Blackhawks Hotel. It was a great...has a local coffee shop onsite. Rooms are large and comfortable. You won't be disappointed. Great find.

Room Tip: High rooms facing the Mississippi Rive are ideal.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevels2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear nevels2000,

Wow- what a great compliment! The fact that you were working in Moline and decided to stay with us in Davenport is truly an honor. We appreciate your decision to stay with us, and are thrilled that we were able to provide the accommodations that you were looking for. We are fortunate to have Beignet Done That, our coffee shop, on property. I'm glad you were able to enjoy it. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel is a real beauty.
Well restored and maintained it shows the grandeur of its history and is also on todays luxury level. Room was very nice decorated with very good beds. Pillows are both a bit the same (new type was ordered already said the front desk).
Curtains are very nice but you need some assistance from your suitcase to keep them completely closed at the edge.
Bathroom very nice and clean - good level of extras and a real old glory with modern twist.
Swimming pool (indoor) clean and nice, even the size. Outside terrace is nice extra when the temperature is right.
Workout room is very professional with enough diff - and clean!
Bar and restaurant F&B is good and nice in presentation.
Front desk and lobby service was excellent
But, yes we had a 'but' experience.
Being a Marriott hotel since a couple of months, it was diff to enjoy the goodies of the gold status as not all employees understood how it works. At the end it all was arranged but not without some efforts from our side.
The speed of service in the bar/restaurant was a bit slow - when nobody is in the bar or restaurant it was needed to alarm the staff that we were in.
The service it self was very good, but to get it was under par.
This hotel can be better and I trust it will be - just some final touches.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear rob n,

Thank you for your detailed review! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor. It is an honor to receive such high remarks from someone like yourself who is traveling from The Netherlands. It is wonderful to have a review like yours, which touches on all aspects of the hotel; thank you for that. I am saddened to hear that you felt as though our front desk staff did not display adequate attention when welcoming you, as a Marriott Rewards Gold member. We truly value our Rewards Members, and I will be working with our Front Desk Manager on perfecting the check-in process when greeting all of our special guests. I also would like to apologize that you did not receive prompt service when entering Bix Bistro. I will be discussing this issue with our Food & Beverage director to ensure that the bar and restaurant are properly manned at all times. It is only through candid feedback like yours that we are able to take full advantage of the opportunities that we have, in order to create a unique and memorable experience for each of our guests.

Thanks again, and if there are any concerns mentioned that you'd like to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This old restored hotel is beautiful! The beauty was kept but the hotel is updated and modern in every way. The rooms are tastefully done and very comfortable. The hotel features a very good resturant and a friendly staff. I would not stay anyplace else in Davenport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Gary G,

Thank you for your review! When we went through our $45 million renovation a few years ago, our owners wanted to maintain the history of the building, while also providing the modern amenities and ambiance that our guests are looking for. It is wonderful to read a review like yours, which validates the fact that we were successful in creating that atmosphere. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are honored that you have chosen to make us your top choice in the Quad Cities!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Visited the Blackhawk again for business. Great experience, one of my favorite hotels. The staff is always tops and they are willing to help with any issues that may arise. The workout facilities are some of the best that I have ever used, and the room is extremely clean and well stocked with cold water and towels.

Check out the bowling alley too, for some added fun. A great stay.

Room Tip: River view rooms are nice to look out of.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landzack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear landzack2013,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Blackhawk! We are honored that you continue to choose Hotel Blackhawk when traveling to the Quad Cities for business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We love it when guests mention the amenities that we have to offer. We know that when traveling for business, your morning workout sets the tone for your day. We strive to ensure that there are constantly stocked towels, fruit, granola bars, and water for our guests to enjoy. Thanks again for noticing and for giving us your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.1 mi away
Radisson Quad City Plaza Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Current Iowa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
3.0 mi away
Radisson on John Deere Commons
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bettendorf / Quad Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection

Address: 200 E 3rd St, Davenport, IA 52801-1633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range: $174 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Return to Sophistication!Resplendent from a multi million-dollar renovation, the Four Diamond Rated, Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection once again reigns supreme as the grande dame of Davenport, Iowa. Since it first opened in 1915, the hotel has served as a home away from home for families, romantics, presidents, movie stars and legendary athletes alike. Now this majestic landmark reopens with a “something old something new” approach to hospitality and a fresh new focus on modern amenities and rich décor—and all the while keeping a hand in the past under the direction of an artful restoration team. Poised to provide knock-your-socks-off service to a new age of guests, The Hotel Blackhawk has reclaimed its status as the venue of choice in the Quad Cities. It is once again an integral part of the community—where guests are impressed and memories are made—a friendly, fun place where approachable luxury and personalized service will be enjoyed for generations to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing