We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Central, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Price”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent one night. We booked a king jacuzzi suite. The room was on the third floor and I was surprise that the room was very quiet considering that we were close to the elevator and it is the floor with the pool. I found the room to be very clean and nicely decorated. The jacuzzi tub did not work. The hotel is nicely decorated but staffing seemed to be a real issue. Since parking is on the side of the hotel and you don't really enter into the main lobby there was not staff present to direct you to the location for check in. Check-in is difficult to spot with a lobby full of people. The lobby has comfy seating but the bar does not provide service into the lobby. We had to go up and wait at the bar to be served drinks even after we had ordered a couple. Staff for morning check out wasn't even dressed in uniform. For over $300 a night I really would have expected great service from staff. They were pretty much non-existent. I think there are other hotels in the Quad-Cities within similar rooms for much less the price.

Room Tip: Lower floor that face 3rd St. have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knlaw2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear knlaw2003,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Blackhawk during your recent time spent in the Quad Cities. We realize that our guests can choose to stay in many hotels, and we truly appreciate the fact that you chose to stay with us. Also, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your compliments on our decor and cleanliness.

I am disappointed to hear that your Jacuzzi tub was not operating properly. Thank you for letting us know. Our maintenance department will be looking into this issue immediately. I apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that you will consider returning to Hotel Blackhawk to enjoy another Jacuzzi room. It would be our pleasure to offer you a complimentary upgrade to a Jacuzzi room during your next stay with us.

All of your comments have provided us with the information that we need to be able to work with each department on their opportunities. For that, we cannot thank you enough. If there is anything that I can do, or if you have any additional questions or concerns that you'd like to share, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to Hotel Blackhawk again in the near future.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    108
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
106
176
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had two rooms for a weekend. The maid service didn't happen until about 6 in the evening and wasn't great. Dirty cups & glasses left in the room. We asked for extra towels and didn't get them. However the coffee shop downstairs is great and the rooms were very comfortable. Usually when a hotel is expensive the service is excellent and we didn't find that to be the case, seemed as though they were short staffed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankfam5735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Tankfam5735,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Blackhawk. We are honored that you chose us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed to hear about the lack of service that you received. It is not like our Housekeeping department to have delayed and/or subpar service. I apologize that you experienced this. I will be meeting with the Supervisor and Department Head to discuss the opportunities that occurred. It is only through guests like you who are willing to express their concerns, that we are able to focus on ways to improve the overall experience for our guests. Your review is greatly appreciated, and this issue will be taken care of immediately. We hope that you will return again, and are confident that the service received during your next stay will exceed your expectations.

Thank you and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed one night for my daughter's dance competition. This hotel is a signature Marriott resort and rightly deserves that label. Very nicely appointed rooms with mini fridge and 3 TVs if you include the one built in to the bathroom mirror. Public areas are beautiful and spotless. Staff very welcoming and helpful. There is a really neat and unique bowling center in the basement, a must if you have kids (adults will enjoy this too). This hotel is adjacent to and connected by convered walkway to the Adler Theatre. The hotel can be pricey when booked on a busy weekend, but worth the extra cost. Parking right on site was free and available. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goals1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear goals1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Blackhawk during your daughter's recent dance competition at the Adler Theater. We are honored that you chose us. Also, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the fact that you noticed our public areas. Cleanliness is something that is very important to us. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful team. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to each department.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Journeyed here for a friend's birthday and was delighted and impressed. Took a larger room with 2 queens and an extra sitting area (820-822); also had a small balcony with a great river view. Loved the ironed sheets and comfy bed coverings. Towels were large and thick. Robes were soft and comfortable. Mini bar/fridge very adequate, room safe there as well. Large flat screen in bedroom and sitting room. There is also a small tv in the mirror in the bathroom! Better than average drawer space in a curved chest of 3 drawers: one each in bedroom and sitting room if you take/want the extra space. Plus 3 drawers in the night stand between the beds. Great touch is a small shelf on the outside of the bed nearest the window. Good closet with ironing board and iron......if you use those things. Small coffee maker. Electronic wave card security for room and elevator access.

Remarkable lobby and bar area: very comfortable and beautiful! Huge atrium floral skylight outlined by thick gold plaster filigree edging; art deco original iron railings on the second level. Beautiful curved openings on the second walk around level. Music at various times by pianist or 4 piece combo. Bar area tucked on one side so it is there but not intrusive to the larger lobby. Restaurants: see review of Bix Bistro.

Did I mention the fun bowling facility on premise?! Was there WAY too late one night: not just bowling, party area! In the lower level of the hotel.

I did not use the spa but companion loved it for facial, massage, hair done, makeup. I was playing golf at TPC Deere Chase, hotel has a relationship there. Played long due to wet conditions, want to go back: nice.

Service: doorman/bartenders/servers/housekeepers in the hall: all were friendly and anxious to please/help. Did I mention the hotel was busy with weddings and business meetings? The army of friendly staff worked hard and provided great service.

What more can I say: This is the superior facility to stay if you are in the Quad City area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaritaman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Margaritaman44,

Thank you very much for your review! We are honored that you chose to stay at Hotel Blackhawk during your time spent in the Quad Cities. We truly appreciate the time that you took to tell TripAdvisor about your experience with us. We are privileged to have a partnership with TPC Deere Run, an exclusive PGA golf course in our area. I'm delighted that you were able to enjoy the course. It sounds like you and your companion had a very relaxing and fun-filled time. We are honored that we were a part of it.

At Hotel Blackhawk, we strive to create unique and memorable experiences for each of our guests. It sounds like we were successful in creating that for you, and we could not be happier. Again, thank you. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to all of our team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twann, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Passing on a trip trough the Mid & South West we visited Davenport. We were really astonished about the quality and service of the hotel comparing the price we got at the reception desk. Also the food and service in the restaurant was very good. Don't miss to visit the John Deere Visitors Centre on the other side of Mississippi (Moline).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BramwellK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear BramwellK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor. We are honored that you chose to stay with us. It sounds like you really enjoy traveling. You must have stayed at numerous hotels during your adventure across the Midwest and Southwest, and the fact that Hotel Blackhawk was chosen as one of your stops along the way is greatly appreciated. We are truly honored. I will be sure to pass your kind words along to all of our staff.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Safe Travels!

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband surprised me with a stay at the Hotel Blackhawk for our anniversary. We have attended several events at the hotel but since we live in town we have never stayed at the hotel. The hotel has been beautifully restored. The room was very comfortable and quite large. My husband loved the TV in the bathroom mirror. The service was outstanding, everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The hotel restaurant, Bix Bistro was great. The hotel has a gym, pool, and spa services. The coolest thing is the bowling alley/ martini bar in the basement.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Mississippi River
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Karen C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Hotel Blackhawk on TripAdvisor. We are honored that you and your husband chose to spend your special day with us. We are always delighted when local residents have the opportunity to stay in one of our guest rooms. We like to think of each guest that enters our doors as one of our family members. We strive to ensure that all of our guests feel welcome and special. It sounds like we were successful in creating that experience for you, and for that, we could not be happier. All of your comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks again for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you back at Hotel Blackhawk again soon.


Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's always better the second time around (as they saying goes) and this proves true for Hotel Blackhawk.

A HUGE thank you to Tim H and his team in creating a beautiful stay this past weekend. Not only was my room gorgeous, but after connecting with Tim to discuss transportation issues I was assured that I would get where I needed to go....and with the help of Ben and Brian (to name a few) I was transported all around the quad cities.

Go to this hotel and enjoy the charm, they beauty and the care, compassion, and focus on service...you will not regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancin418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP of Sales & Marketing at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear dancin418,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Blackhawk. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay on TripAdvisor. It was my pleasure to assist in making your stay with us an enjoyable one. I am delighted to hear that Ben and Brian were able to transport you to all of your desired destinations. At Hotel Blackhawk, we want our guests to have a memorable and unique experience. One way that we do this is by providing our guests with the best customer service possible. I could not be happier that we were successful in creating that experience for you. Your compliments are greatly appreciated, and I will be sure to pass along your kind words to all of our staff members.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.1 mi away
Radisson Quad City Plaza Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
511 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson on John Deere Commons
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bettendorf / Quad Cities
3.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Moline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Address: 200 E 3rd St, Davenport, IA 52801-1633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Return to Sophistication!Resplendent from a multi million-dollar renovation, the Four Diamond Rated, Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection once again reigns supreme as the grande dame of Davenport, Iowa. Since it first opened in 1915, the hotel has served as a home away from home for families, romantics, presidents, movie stars and legendary athletes alike. Now this majestic landmark reopens with a “something old something new” approach to hospitality and a fresh new focus on modern amenities and rich décor—and all the while keeping a hand in the past under the direction of an artful restoration team. Poised to provide knock-your-socks-off service to a new age of guests, The Hotel Blackhawk has reclaimed its status as the venue of choice in the Quad Cities. It is once again an integral part of the community—where guests are impressed and memories are made—a friendly, fun place where approachable luxury and personalized service will be enjoyed for generations to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing