We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but far from perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful but far from perfect.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The lobby is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are very small and are missing a desk. I have never been in a hotel that did not have a desk or a table or someplace besides the bed or toilet to do work or use a laptop. The other problem with the room size is to close the drapes one has to climb over the bed. The rest of the room and the bathroom were very nice. As I stated before The lobby is beautiful but it was impossible for us to enjoy because of the loudness of a wedding reception. The check in process was a little slow, they only have two check-in desks and both had four people in line each. All of the previous problems were minor but the parking is a major issue. When we checked in the lot was completely full because of the Festival of Trees and a wedding reception and we had to park 2 blocks away on the street. After 10pm I was able to move our car to the hotel lot. Without the parking issue I would have given the Blackhawk a very good rating. I will recommend this hotel to my friends but I will tell them to avoid it during the Festival of Trees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spackler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear spackler43,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Blackhawk for your recent stay in Davenport, and thank you for your review.
We do apologize for your wait at check-in. We take pride in the fact that we want to make each guest feel welcomed, and we do so by taking the time to explain all of the amenities that we have to offer.Thank you for your compliment about our staff.
The lobby is a wonderful place to relax, and I hope that you got a chance to enjoy it on Sunday while the Jazz band was playing during brunch.
Next time you stay with us, please be sure to mention that you'd prefer a sleeping room with a desk, and we will do all that we can to accommodate your request. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room overall.
Since Hotel Blackhawk is located in a downtown area, parking is limited. We are fortunate to have a parking lot for our guests to self-park in at no charge. Our bellmen monitor the lot, and reserve our parking spaces for hotel and restaurant guests, although these limited spaces do fill quickly. I'm glad that you were able to move your vehicle back to our parking lot later that night, and I apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Blackhawk very soon.

Tim Heim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    106
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
105
170
26
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but went to the bowling alley in the lower level of the hotel. They had several lanes and at the end of the alley were large televisions so you could watch the football game as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scoobysmom2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear scoobysmom2003,
We thank you for taking the time to come experience the Blackhawk Bowl & Martini Lounge. We were delighted to hear your positive feedback. We always strive to create a unique and high quality experience for our guests, and I'm glad to hear that you had such a great time.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you back in the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Haven't stayed at the hotel, but go there often to the restuarant and bar in the beautiful lobby. the food is excellant and the Martini's are so good, the bartenders are so friendly and make you want to come back often !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear margo g,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Blackhawk and Bix Bistro on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you have been enjoying your time spent at the hotel. Have you been to Bix Bistro for martinis on Tuesdays or Thursdays? Those nights are buy one martini, get one free! We encourage you to experience a sleeping room in the hotel also, but until then, please continue to enjoy our food and beverages. Thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Tim Heim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
state college, pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Exceptional hotel. Really stunning there is something so nice in a relatively small town. Makes you think about the time when Davenport was one of the largest cities in the US. Just a really nice place all around. The restaurant is pricey, but the rooms are such a great value, it didn't bother me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear mjc471,
We thank you for taking the time to stay at Hotel Blackhawk, and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. Your comments are important to us. We were delighted to hear your positive feedback. We strive to create a unique and high quality experience for each of our guests. We are extremely pleased that your stay was so enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Blackhawk in the future.

Tim Heim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State Center, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

While traveling back home from Chicago my wife came across this gem online. SInce it was her birthday, and we didn't have to get back right away, we decided to see what it was all about. Walking through the doors is like taking a trip back in time to the 1920's, but with a modern twist. Check-in was great, and when they found out it was my wifes birthday, the upgrades started flowing. Everyone went out of their way to make sure things were perfect. The room was gorgeous, king size bed on the 8th floor with a view overlooking the Mississippi, jacuzzi tub with seperate shower, floor to ceiling windows. Restaurant was outstanding and the service was top notch (thanks Matthew for making it a special night). The decor throughout reminded me of the Peabody in Memphis, minus the ducks. Elegance and splendor everywhere! The bowling alley in the lower level is a nice touch and was a neat escape. Thank you for a wonderful time and creating memories for us. We will be sure to visit again, and I know our friends will be stopping by also.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side will provide a view of the Mississippi river. Make sure that you get above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emslifer911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Steve V,
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear such positive feedback. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the appropriate parties. At Hotel Blackhawk, we do our best to create an exceptional experience for each of our guests. It sounds like we have achieved this for you and your wife, and we could not be happier. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Blackhawk soon.

Tim Heim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Picked this hotel for a one day biz trip to Davenport. Must admit choice was based on quick glance at reviews. First impression upon arrival was that I should have been wearing a tuxedo. Very grand and glamorous. 1940's elegance.

Hotel has been completely refurbished. Staff was friendly and competent. Room service actually called me and asked if they could remove tray. Room was quite comfortable and clean. Great bathroom.

Was surprised there was no free breakfast buffet. Great place for a wedding, a honeymoon or vacation traveling. Not my cup of tea as a business traveler. Room price was a bit high, but was acceptable.

No real complaints, just not my type of ambiance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen H, General Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Albert A,
It is refreshing to hear such an honest review like yours. We thank you for taking the time to stay at Hotel Blackhawk and to review us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you chose us. Thank you for noticing our renovations. We’re thrilled that our staff made you feel so special, as superb Customer Service is one thing that we pride ourselves on at Hotel Blackhawk. Thank you once again for your candid feedback on our operations. We hope that you will keep us in mind if future travels bring you back to the Quad Cities area.

Tim Heim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was in town with a friend to watch a volleyball tournament at Augustana College in Rock Island, Illinois. Got a phenomenal Priceline deal ($65/night). This hotel was beautiful throughout. They upgraded our standard queen room to a suite. Incredible amenities. Went down to the bowling lane/bar for a nightcap of Pumpkin Martinis. Delicious. Had a fabulous breakfast in the morning. Will try and stay here the next 3 years my daughter's college team is in the tournament!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldschool09Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to stay and review Hotel Blackhawk on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to hear your positive feedback.

We always strive to create a unique and high quality experience for our guests. I'll be sure to share your wonderful comments with our team.

I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will keep us in mind for future visits to the Davenport area.

Warm Regards,

Jen Hamann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.1 mi away
Radisson Quad City Plaza Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
503 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson on John Deere Commons
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bettendorf / Quad Cities
3.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Moline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Address: 200 E 3rd St, Davenport, IA 52801-1633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Return to Sophistication!Resplendent from a multi million-dollar renovation, the Four Diamond Rated, Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection once again reigns supreme as the grande dame of Davenport, Iowa. Since it first opened in 1915, the hotel has served as a home away from home for families, romantics, presidents, movie stars and legendary athletes alike. Now this majestic landmark reopens with a “something old something new” approach to hospitality and a fresh new focus on modern amenities and rich décor—and all the while keeping a hand in the past under the direction of an artful restoration team. Poised to provide knock-your-socks-off service to a new age of guests, The Hotel Blackhawk has reclaimed its status as the venue of choice in the Quad Cities. It is once again an integral part of the community—where guests are impressed and memories are made—a friendly, fun place where approachable luxury and personalized service will be enjoyed for generations to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing