We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for the price, ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Topeka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best hotel for the price, ever”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This hotel is incredible and when booked through a service, such as Expedia, is the best value I have ever come across, and I travel a fair amount, from coast to coast. This hotel was recently renovated, and the rooms are extraordinary. Some have full kitchens, and all have top notce amenities. Great workout facility. Excellent restaurant on site. Even a martini bar/bowling alley in the lowest level. Free parking. Close to a lot of other fun things to do and bars/restaurants.

Outstanding in evey way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskerNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Good afternoon HuskerNed,
We love it when a guest gets the opportunity to enjoy so much of the Hotel Blackhawk, and experience a number of our ammenities! For a seasoned traveler like yourself to give such a wonderful review really means alot to us. I will definitely share your review with my staff. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    106
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
105
170
26
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Blackhawk in June and just again this weekend. As always, the place was jumping with wedding receptions, etc. Lots of energy in a totally renovated historic hotel. The craftmanship of the renovation is outstanding and our 2nd stay was great. The staff is always very nice and the restaurant has great food but the service has been slow both times we have stayed at the hotel. We've never been in a hurry, we've always been dining with friends of ours that meet us there for dinner. If we had a booked schedule, it would be a problem. The problem that I see is that they need to find a better way of serving their customers in the area of dining. The coffee shop "Beignet, Done That" is known for their beignets, but they didn't have any this morning. It was 10:30 am. The Restaurant didn't start their breakfast brunch until 10:30 and they were "full" with reservations. Food service is very important to customers. This is the only thing I would adjust. I would still go back. It's a great place.

Room Tip: ask for the upper floors facing the Mississippi River
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWTropicalTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear MWTropicaltravelers,
I hope the two of you are having a wonderful day whether you are on one of your many adventures or simply relaxing at home. The next time you are in the area and looking for a great experience please look me up personally. I would appreciate the chance to extend our hospitality to the both of you, And I am confident we can make up for past delays. I have been able to forward your great review to the Food and Beverage department and they are eager to show you the great strides they have made to guarantee timely service.We look forward to your next stay, and thank you again for the wonderful review.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Blackhawk in Davenport is a wonderful find. This historic hotel has been renovated beautifully with marble, polished wood, crystal chandeliers, leather and upholstery. The lobby and bar area are spectacular in a very elegant, traditional but modern and comfortable way.

My group spent our first entire evening in the bar. Drinks were good, full dinner menu and bar menu available and appealing, and service great (great bartender). Ambience also excellent because the surroundings are so attractive. The signature drink is the martini, of which there were a nice variety, and a half price martini special a couple of nights during the week.

We also ate in the restaurant, where the food was good but the service slow.

Rooms were nicely redone in a modern style reminiscent of art deco. I had a wall of windows overlooking the Mississippi River - very nice view. Bed, pillows, towels and toiletries of very good quality. Shower and separate tub very nice. Altogether very comfortable and luxurious - a very pleasant environment to come back to at the end of the work day.

Exercise room is large and well equipped, with two bikes, two treadmills, and 2-3 ellipticals, free weights and one weight universal. Pool on a separate floor also very nice. And a bowling alley in the lower level, where younger members of our party enjoyed spending evening time.

Getting breakfast was a bit of an issue. The coffee shop off the lobby doesn't open until 6:30 (too late for those on East Coast time, exercisers and people with early meetings). And service there was extremely slow a couple of mornings, with only one server and a long line waiting. Room service is the best bet - leave an order form (which is not provided in your room, but you can ask for at the front desk) and breakfast arrives. Fresh fruit plate was fresh and delicious. Room service was efficient and courteous.

I have always enjoyed staying in downtown Davenport for accessibility to the local scene, but at the Blackhawk, I felt like just staying there every evening!

Room Tip: Ask for the room service order form at the front desk and order breakfast from room service - coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNesterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear EmptyNestedMom,
We appreciate the great review of your recent stay at The Hotel Blackhawk in September. We love accommodating our business travelers and it sounds like you had a wonderful stay. The issues in our restraunt outlets have been addressed and to ensure great service both outlets are now fully staffed at all times. We have also added room service order forms in each room. I thank you, Your thoughts and suggestions as well as those like it have allowed us to put our finger on the pulse of alot of customer service opportunities . We hope to see you back as soon as possible whether it be for business or pleasure, Perhaps to sample the half off martini's!
Thank you again,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Hotel Blackhawk is a total Luxury Hotel. I’m a person that leads a more simple style of life, so it’s a bit ‘much’ for me. This was a 2 week business stay.

Valet Parking, very professional and business like staff, and “high class” all around. Restaurant, coffee shop, bar, spa, pool, fitness center, business center, bowling alleys, and airport shuttle. This is a non-smoking hotel, but if the need arises, there are rooms with outside balconies.

Flat screen TV’s in work area and bedroom, and a TV built into the bathroom mirror. Internet connections are fast. Beds are comfortable and rooms are immaculate, and quiet.

My only disappointment was that I had to be at the Airport at 5:30am, and the shuttle doesn’t start running until 6:00am.

Dozens of excellent restaurants, shops, and ATM’s are within walking distance. This Hotel would be ideal for Vacation, Social Function, Romantic Getaways, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDavisHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Jim Davis,
Thank you for you very thorough and informative review concerning your recent stay. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. We strive to offer the best hospitality to all of our guest and make them feel welcome in any and all situations. I wish you all the best in your upcoming travels and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Booked executive suite 2 mos, in advance.Confirmed two days prior to stay in writing, Bumped from suite after waiting six hrs.for them to clean room.Horrible tiny room then. Bathroom walls replaced with shutters-yes, shutters no privacy. Horrible treatment from mgmt. No other hotels available. Too worried about being high and mighty than worried about the guest . Offered me free lunch,ordered burger, waitress went home and never told anyone. I was waiting for burger over an hour and they had no clue why I was waiting! Unacceptable. If this happened to me it must be happening to others. .Charged $1,500 to my debit cards for 99.00 room. Why did they do this? They never would explain. They had card # I gave them to book room, $900. then swiped my other card on check in for another $600. Didn't know until I checked my bank accounts prior to checking out. They wouldn't admit they were wrong !! Told them I would sue them and they took care of it immediately. So sad. You don't get a second chance to make a first impression. They too worried about their appearance and talking down to you. Beware!! Wolves in sheeps clothing!! Can you believe a hotel gets away with this?

Room Tip: Don't stay in corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Kathy N,
Let me first apologize for the terrible experience you have described throughout the course of your stay. There are no excuses that I have to offer for the unfortunate series of events that occured during your time with us. I can confirm that the level of customer service you recieved during these situations is far below our standards of hospitality. Guest are our number one priority and we take your feedback extremely seriously. You are absolutely correct, you do not get a second chance to make a first impression, although In your case we would hope to rectify this treatment and experience of your past stay if given the opportunity. I would be more than happy to extend to you and your family a return stay on us at your convenience. I would like to speak to you directly about all of these problems, I assure you we can deliver a positive unforgettable experience to all of you. Please contact me, my direct line is 563-484-5911.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Lovely old hotel that has been completely renovated. Could be the best in town. Room was great. Restaurant was quite good. Food very fresh. No evidence of frozen veggies and the like.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWonderfulToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Mr. Wonderful,
Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us next time you are in town traveling on business or passing through at your leisure, we would love to accommodate you again. Have a pleasant day, and thank you again.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I was shocked how nice this hotel was. I have stayed in nice hotels in Chicago and NYC, this is just as nice at 1/8th the price. We are trying to find an excuse to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rico70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Rico,
Thank you for the glowing review of your recent stay. Personally, the best part of my role here at The Hotel Blackhawk is hearing great feedback like yours. It still delights me to see guest "shocked" and amazed at our lovely property sitting in the middle of downtown Davenport.
We definitely appreciate your response and look forward to your return visit.
By the way Rico, I would be more than happy to help you with an "excuse" to come back, I am positive we can come up with something. = )
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.1 mi away
Radisson Quad City Plaza Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
503 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson on John Deere Commons
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bettendorf / Quad Cities
3.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Moline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Address: 200 E 3rd St, Davenport, IA 52801-1633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Return to Sophistication!Resplendent from a multi million-dollar renovation, the Four Diamond Rated, Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection once again reigns supreme as the grande dame of Davenport, Iowa. Since it first opened in 1915, the hotel has served as a home away from home for families, romantics, presidents, movie stars and legendary athletes alike. Now this majestic landmark reopens with a “something old something new” approach to hospitality and a fresh new focus on modern amenities and rich décor—and all the while keeping a hand in the past under the direction of an artful restoration team. Poised to provide knock-your-socks-off service to a new age of guests, The Hotel Blackhawk has reclaimed its status as the venue of choice in the Quad Cities. It is once again an integral part of the community—where guests are impressed and memories are made—a friendly, fun place where approachable luxury and personalized service will be enjoyed for generations to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing