We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel!”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

When traveling to the Quad Cities, my first choice is Hotel Blackhawk. Make it yours too! Newly renovated back to its early 1900's charm with room upgrades and amenities that would satisfy the most demanding traveler (me!). The staff is courteous and willing to cater to all your needs. The food in the restaurant is spectacular. The only downfall is they do not offer complimentary breakfast. That's to be expected, I suppose, for a non-chain establishment. Take it from me, I've stayed at most (if not all) of the hotels in the QC, and the Blackhawk is the nicest place in the area - hands down! Did you know that this is the hotel that Cary Grant was staying at when he suddenly passed away at the adjoining Alder Theater? Look at your room key next time you check in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcintire81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Kmcintire81,
Thank you for your recent stay at The Hotel Blackhawk. We are very appreciative of your great recommendation as well as glowing review of our hotel. We inspire to be a home away from home to people who are traveling across the country and we hope you have found a second home with us.We certainly would love to have you as a guest again in the future. Thank you again for your wonderful words.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    106
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
105
170
26
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, IA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed here for an overnight and was impressed by the work that had been done! An amazing lobby and bistro on the main floor. Attended a concert at Adler Theatre and it was great to stay down right next to the Theatre. The rooms were very upscale - put together in a classy, upscale decor. Overall, will stay here again on our next trip to Davenport. A great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank java27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Java27,
Thank you both for staying with us on your recent trip to the Quad Cities! Whether taking in a show at the Adler Theatre or just having a weekend getaway we look forward to seeing both of you again in the future.Please contact me directly on your next trip and I will set everything up for you. Thank you again we appreciate your feedback.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We were so excited for the Hotel Blackhawk to re-open in the Quad Cities. We stayed there not long after they opened so the pool and spa and some shops were not quite finished, but everything we saw and experienced was fantastic!

The lobby and ballroom areas are gorgeous. They kept the "period" shapes of furniture, but with modern fabrics and patterns. The colors throughout are enough neutral without being boring. I'm posting several pictures - I think they can describe better than I can.

Our room (we had a King-bed room) was spacious with some really nice touches. Besides a very comfortable bed, there was a nice chaise lounge with a pretty tray table so you could set a drink or your book or computer. The desk area is HUGE - could really spread out and get something done if you needed to - if traveling for work. The bathroom is very large with a big tub and separate shower (yay!).

The closet wasn't huge but was big enough for our purposes. This is such a small thing, but they provided a small spouted cup to fill the water in the iron - so much easier than trying to shove it under the faucet or spilling water all over the place.

There is a little fridge with some mini-bar items, but for us, it was nice to be able to have some cold water in there.

The gym had some decent cardio equipment - we didn't use any of the strength equipment.

The bar and restaurant were great.

Overall the service was lovely and friendly. Everyone was very helpful.

We took a stroll through the ballrooms which are very impressive!

Can't wait to go back when the pool, spa, and shops are open - we've already booked another date there in March.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pinkcashmere75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Pinkcashmire75,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your January visit. Hopefully you have had a chance to come back and experience everything the Hotel Blackhawk has to offer now that all of our ammenities are in place. If not, what are you waiting for ? = )
We are running at full speed and are really getting a chance to showcase the level of hospitality that we have worked to achieve. We are delighted you have already planned a second trip, and are eagerly awaiting your arrival!
Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
831 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

During a recent trip to the Quad Cities for a wedding, I was lucky to stumble upon the website for this terrific hotel. The historic Black Hawk hotel in downtown Davenport has been completely remodeled and updated. It has the style and appearance of a very hip urban property (think Kempton or London's Sanderson). My room was truly amazing. I travel frequently and I can honestly say that every detail is to an international standard. They have thought of everything. Huge bath room with tub and large shower "room." Granite furniture style vanity with flat screen embedded in the mirror. Excellent products and great linens.

In addition to your excellent comfortable room, you'll want to check out the world class salon/spa in the Lobby. I couldn't believe that such an impressive salon was in Davenport, IOWA! Sincerely, this place would be right at home on the upper East side of Manhattan.

IF work or pleasure takes you to the Quad cities, you'd be crazy to miss staying at this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear jg325,
I apologize for the delay in response to your review, I would like to thank you for commenting on your experiences.January seems as if it were only yesterday, when in all actuality it has been almost a year. Since your stay we have concluded work in the Blackhawk bowling alley, opened a coffee shop, a flower shop, as well as the pool area. We have so much more for you to experience ,we would love to showcase it all for you on your next trip.Please contact me to make future reservations if your travels bring you to our area again. thank you again for the wonderful review.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2011

It's a beautiful hotel. I have to say I loved the pool and everyone needs to try the spa. It's the perfect place to have a few days of affordable luxury.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear "The Townsend",
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us in January. We appreciate all the feedback and look forward to introducing you to all of the new areas that have opened since your previous stay. Please contact us if you are traveling through the area in the future.Thank you again .
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I'm a Wedding Planner & I visited the property to write a review. From the moment I entered the stunning & opulent lobby, I was in awe. Check-in was seemless, and I immediately was taken to my room. The accomodations were contemporary & modern w/ attention to detail for a business person.
The rest of the property speaks for itself. I have stayed in several Ritz-Carlton properties & this was on that same level of style & service. Can't wait to go back again for a wedding in one of their Ballrooms!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaupanache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear beaupanache,
We are so grateful to have such a seasoned guest give us such rave reviews. Hopefully you have had the chance to experience an event in the Gold room of other banquet facilities by the time this response gets to you. If not, i am sure we will see you soon. Our sales team is hard at work booking events and can assist in any and all aspects of your planning process. Please contact myself or the sales team with any questions or information you may need in the future.
Thank you again for your kind words.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had a wonderful stay and highly recommend it. This is an historic property risen from the literal ashes. The restoration has been painstaking but hasn't been a slave to history making the property full of the things a modern guest(we count ourselves among them)wants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear William,
I cannot tell you how much we appreciate such glowing feedback. I apologize for the delay of my response, But really wanted both of you to know we are listening. Thank you as well for the wonderful pictures you took the time to take and post to accent your review.We look forward to be able to meet all of your needs in the future,look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Garrison Gardner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.1 mi away
Radisson Quad City Plaza Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Davenport
Hampton Inn Davenport
#1 of 26 in Davenport
503 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Davenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson on John Deere Commons
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bettendorf / Quad Cities
3.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Moline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection
Address: 200 E 3rd St, Davenport, IA 52801-1633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a Return to Sophistication!Resplendent from a multi million-dollar renovation, the Four Diamond Rated, Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection once again reigns supreme as the grande dame of Davenport, Iowa. Since it first opened in 1915, the hotel has served as a home away from home for families, romantics, presidents, movie stars and legendary athletes alike. Now this majestic landmark reopens with a “something old something new” approach to hospitality and a fresh new focus on modern amenities and rich décor—and all the while keeping a hand in the past under the direction of an artful restoration team. Poised to provide knock-your-socks-off service to a new age of guests, The Hotel Blackhawk has reclaimed its status as the venue of choice in the Quad Cities. It is once again an integral part of the community—where guests are impressed and memories are made—a friendly, fun place where approachable luxury and personalized service will be enjoyed for generations to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Blackhawk, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing