We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Amazing!!”
Review of Tantra

Tantra
Ranked #20 of 300 Restaurants in Davenport
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Davenport, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always Amazing!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are regulars here and it has always been amazing! Recently had a party and the cartered food ordered was no different. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking to eat fresh delicious Thai food!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ber15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    24
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rural Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A promising evening ruined”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent food. Intimate, dimly-lit, relaxing and romantic ambience. My wife and I have come back several times. Tonight we had the chicken satay appetizer, the spicy seafood soup, and the Kung Pao chicken and it was all superb. So, why just two stars? Because were seated at 9 and ordered right away, but since they close at 9:30 on Sundays, the chef purposely sent our entree out before we had finished our appetizer or soup, and instructed our waitress to tell us that we needed to hurry. This is not how one treats a loyal customer. We had planned to have dessert but another establishment received our money for that. Simply amateurish customer service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jimissy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, IL
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very Nice Thai Food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We (3 of us) stopped at Tantra's on our way through Davenport based on previous TripAdvisor comments, and found it to be a very nice restaurant indeed!

While its location looks a little shopping center like form the outside, the decor inside was lovely with lots of light from the outside and some flat waterfalls inside. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - very nice and courteous with every request.

We had the chicken lettuce rolls for appetizers - the chicken itself was great - like a well spiced kung pao chicken - but the iceberg lettuce, while very crispy, was indeed hard to roll. They might have been better off with some crisp romaine or other leaf lettuce. The other entrees we had (beef crying tiger, vegetable stir fry with tofu, and tofu fried rice) were all very good. The beef of the crying tiger was very tender and prepared nicely, and the sauce was very spicy and bursting with a sweet/spicy flavor. My only complaint with the beef was that it was just that - strips of beef with nothing else (other than the sauce to dip in). I would have thought that something other than shreds of iceberg would be nice to put the beef over (perhaps some mixed shredded vegetables of some sort?). As I say, the beef itself was great, but there were no other flavors to blend with it.

Overall I would say that this was very good thai food, although not the best I have had, served in a nice atmosphere from a wonderful staff. We had a great dinner here and would easily go back again when we pass through town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Four couples found this place due to a recommendation from an area business. We were told we could bring our own wine to dinner. When we got there we discovered Tantra has wine available. They quickly agreed to let us drink our wine and even helped open it. From there everything only got better. The food & service were outstanding. The atmosphere was wonderful. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Ty food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great place to eat. Loved it. Nice atmosphere and food was delicious. Service was outstanding. Easy to locate. We were able to bring in our own wine to drink which I had never heard of that before.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 62Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantra also viewed

 

Been to Tantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing