We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub-Grub in Davenport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Front Street Brewery

Front Street Brewery
Ranked #4 of 294 Restaurants in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Pub-Grub in Davenport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a great little brew-pub and casual dining place in Downtown Davenport very close to the river.

We started with a 1/2 order of their nachos and they are excellent and very filling--I can't imagine what a full order would be like.

Their sandwiches and entrees are good. I had the chicken with mashed potatoes in pan gravy. It was very good and well prepared, but the gravy could have been a bit thicker as it made the mashed potatoes sort of runny. My girlfriend had the French Dip sandwich and really enjoyed it. I tried a bite and it was excellent--comes with both cheese and onions.

Being a brew pub, they also have their own excellent beers. I highly recommend their wheat beer and their stout.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    124
    34
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
516 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Food was inedible... horribly overcooked; venue nice; service OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Have been here several times over the last 5 years.... beer is always fun; atmosphere is nice; food has been a lot better in the past... last night ---- it was just plain horrible. We had 3 generations in our family present.... 6 people in total; 4 of our meals were horribly overcooked.... we should have refused them.. but didn't feel like dealing with it at the time.
We'll give them another chance.... could have been a fill-in cook or some other problem.... hope it is better next time

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great beers, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Lots of micro brews are an afterthought these days. Not here, the brewer deserves a pat on the back for making great quality ales across the board. Pulled pork nachos are good just like everyone says. The pulled pork sandwich was also flavorful & legit. Side of Mac n cheese made me happy too.

Helpful?
Thank H0Tshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good appetizers, ok service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times and their service is lacking. Very slow and forgetful waitresses. Even when they are not busy they are a bit slow. Their food is also very greasy, I have tasted it in the food on more than one time. Our last visit the waitress had told us she was suppose to be off 20 mins ago, hmmm. Not my problem, try being a little quicker to take our order! It was 6pm or so. I won't be going down here unless another couple insists on dinning there for the night. Pretty neat environment though. Brick walls and old hardwood flooring. Full bar.

Helpful?
Thank Jreshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover
Level Contributor
167 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overpriced and fair service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Food just Ok, service horrible, attitude of server was disgusting. Pricey. Beer was good, not great. Sat outside and had a garbage stink in the air.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonaldO899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Street Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Front Street Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing