We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-time candy store”

Lagomarcino’s Confectionery
Ranked #5 of 11 Dessert in Davenport
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Old-time candy store”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is the ultimate candy experience. With Easter just around the corner, this place has HUGE chocolate Easter eggs and GIANT chocolate bunnies for sale. They also have a wide assortment of hand-dipped chocolates (about $21/pound) and some very unique chocolate creations, probably the most interesting of which is the chocolate stiletto shoe! My favorite was the dark chocolate handmade sponge candy.

The shop is split into the confectionery side and a fountain side, which is an old-fashioned ice cream parlor. Here, you can get a sundae that comes with a pitcher of hot fudge...YUM!

This little shop in the historic Village of East Davenport has been around for 100 years and has won all kinds of awards. It is well worth a visit just to buy a few pieces of your favorite candy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Sweets and a Charming Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

As a local, I've been here many times through the last 20 years. The service and quality have always been exceptional. Basic menu of cold cut sandwiches and soups but it's really the soda fountain, sundaes, and candy counter that grab your attention! Homemade and simply delicious! If you haven't been here, it's a fun place to stop in and check out what they have to offer. I promise that you will not walk out without being tempted to try at least one sweet! ;)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Queen_Of_Road_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classic concept”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

They really need to update/ remodel. It's very dated and run down. The food is simple and fairly priced. Service was terrible. My husband ordered a water and never got it. Even said as she was taking our order, "yea forgot your water...sorry." Rude and really slow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lagomarcino's”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everything they have is delicious. A family favorite for many years. A great place to eat, chat and absorb the atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pleased with our experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have never been here, but we ordered chocolates from here to be delivered to a client in the Quad Cities area based on the recommendation of another client. I placed the order online and it was delivered withing 24 hours to the recipient. I expected it to be a few days at least! My client raved about the quality of the candy for days. If you are in need of client/business gifts in the area, give them a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIltonMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagomarcino’s Confectionery also viewed

 

Been to Lagomarcino’s Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing