We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for tranquility and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Sauzette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sauzette
Ranked #1 of 1 Cazilhac B&B and Inns
Chinon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for tranquility and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

After visiting Carcassone,,, it was wonderful to have some tranquility, yet only a few minutes away from the old Cite.
Diana was a wonderful host ,, her breakfast magnificant , with fresh stewed fruits . yougurts, cheeses, homemade jams,breads , and criossants ,, say no more !

And extra bonus for us , to take our 2 dogs and be so welcomed , yet not a dog hair in sight !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daffie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed for 4 days at La Sauzette and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the service is superb. We loved the breakfasts!
And this is a very convenient place to stay to explore Carcassonne, La Cité and surrounding areas. It is very close to town (minutes away), yet is far enough out to experience that wonderful French countryside feeling. The gardens are rustic and idyllic. Lastly, Chris & Diana are amazing hosts. We had a lovely time and would recommend this chambre d'hote to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billnz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed two nights at this B&B and highly recommend this beautifully renovated farmhouse building. The rooms were very comfortable, well decorated and had modern and clean bathrooms. Our host and hostess were gracious and went to great lengths to assist us when we had a problem with our rental car! A very convenient base from which to discover the gorgeous countryside and nearby Carcasonne.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intheditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

A short break at La Ferme de la Sauzette turned out to be a real gem. Set in wonderful countryside La Ferme exceeded all our expectations. Only five minutes from the majestic cite, La Ferme offered not only peace and tranquility, comfortable and well appointed rooms but also scrumptious breakfasts enjoyed in the pretty, rose filled garden. Our stay was made complete by the kindness and generosity of Diana and Chris who offered a wealth of information about the local area including some excellent restaurant recommendations and advice about beautiful places to visit. Our charming hosts even kept the coffee flowing and entertained us while we waited for a thunderstorm to pass by! After three days we felt as if we were saying goodbye to old friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insearchofheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantimitaeo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

A stay La Ferme de la Sauzette is really like staying with old friends. Dianna and Chris were perfect hosts with lots of good suggestions about what to see in the area and the routes to follow whatever the weather (it rained a bit).
Dianna had an easter egg hunt for us on Easter Morning and a fantastic gourmet meal for us on Easter Saturday evening with lots of local cheeses and wines. A really beautiful evening. I even taught Diana to make "No Knead Bread"om the New York Times.
A great homebase for visiting Carcassonne, Albi, Chateau of Peyrepertyuse and other places in the region.
I recommend this B&B wholeheartedly. There were no negatives about it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantimotaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

My father and I really enjoyed staying with Chris & Diana. It felt more like we were staying with friends than at a bed & breakfast. Our charming hosts were incredibly helpful with providing directions to places to see, restaurants, etc. in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Vallés
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

We had a really great stay. The rooms are clean and cosy and the friendly owners serve a very good breakfast. I would recommend this b&b to anyone that wants to visit Carcassonne and it's surroundings but does not feel like staying in the city itself. The setting is very peaceful but still only minutes away from the historical centre of Carcassonne by car. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirstytraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazilhac
2.5 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau de Cavanac
Chateau de Cavanac
#1 of 1 in Cavanac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Domaine de Fraisse
Domaine de Fraisse
#1 of 1 in Leuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.3 mi away
Domaine de Marseillens
Domaine de Marseillens
#5 of 58 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sauzette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sauzette

Property: La Sauzette
Address: D 56 | Carcassonne, 11570 Cazilhac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cazilhac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cazilhac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La sauzette is an old farm completely renovated into guest rooms. Only 5 km from the magnificent medieval city of Carcassonne, you will appreciate the calm and tranquility of the Sauzet, totally isolated surrounded by vines and woods. Many hiking trails available to you, so you can admire beautiful landscapes. Parking is free and secure, each room has a theme and the hostess can if you wish one of our regional dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Sauzette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing