We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Respect”
Review of La Sauzette

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sauzette
Ranked #1 of 1 Cazilhac B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I spent two delightful nights there in late March. Besides an excellent room at a reasonable price we felt like we were welcomed into their family. Both evenings we spent time with them and their children and that was one or the highlights of our 2 week trip. Excellent included breakfast every morning. Extremely helpful in planning our two days in the Carcassone area.

Room Tip: All rooms are on one level and being in the country there is NO noise issue. Our room was excellent...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for La Sauzette
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

The room had no windows just two sky lights with broken blinds and cobwebs over the ceiling. The theme of the room was American classic cars/diners and was bizarrely full of objets d'arts which hadnt been dusted or moved for ages. Disappointingly there was nothing useful like a kettle, bottles of water, a fan (in the extreme heat and airlessness of the room) or TV. The bed looked like it was made out of classic car seats and dash boards covered in blue fur and was old and dirty but it did make us chuckle a bit as it was so tacky. We were given one towel between 3 of us and told there was room for our cot, which there was if we had brought one. We had clearly misunderstood there would be one there for us. We agreed our son would sleep in the second bed which we later discovered wasnt made up. The previous reviews about welcome, chatting and food just seem a million miles away. Our french is just about passable but there was no attempt to prolong discussion or try to speak in English to help us out. Breakfast was served outside on picnic benches with lots of choice, but the table of food was not covered and was covered constantly with flies. We decided to leave after one night and the owner got quite cross with my husband trying to change the price and then make out he hadnt received our deposit. My husband was ready to show him the confirmation email which stated he had recieved it. Afters he asked where we were from and when my husband said England he hurumphed back and nodded "ah Anglais" as if to say that expalined everything. He then walked off and didnt even apologise or say farewell. A very rude man. Im sure much of this stay was down to misfortune and other people have had a much better experience but really it is overpriced for the money (95 euros per night) and is more fitting as a hostel/ low budget/ student homestay. Fortunately we have stayed in many other very good places and that was just one night of our holiday away.

Room Tip: Not the American one, perhaps one with windows.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Luc and Magali made us feel at home! It was the last night for us in France.... And we truly enjoyed it. Best sleep ever! They truly made us feel like family. I have never written a review - but three months after our trip, and La Sauzette is still a warm memory in my heart. I wish I was there!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Exceptional service.

I do not usually write reviews of my travels, but in this case the service was so exceptional that I am compelled to do so.

My wife and I arrived at La Sauzette on July 14, 2011, Bastille Day. Due to a technical malfunction on the Internet our reservations had been cancelled and all the rooms were filled. We found ourselves in the unenviable position of being in the French countryside with night approaching and nowhere to go or stay because all the surrounding accommodations were full due to the national holiday. Our hosts were even more distraught than we were at this situation. They decided to move their young daughter out of her private bedroom and have her sleep with her little brother so that we would have a place to stay. With the relief of solving the accommodation problem, we wanted to take a short drive to Carcassonne to see the fireworks display of Bastille Day—reputedly the best in France. But we were concerned about driving in the dark in the French countryside. Again, our host programmed his own GPS with the directions and lent it to us to install in our car. We drove flawlessly to Carcassonne and saw a superb fireworks display. The next morning we were served an excellent petit dejeuner. Not just the usual baguette and jam, but a magnificent spread of pastries, cheeses, sliced meats, fruits, yogurts, juices and coffee. The countryside was beautiful and the hosts and their children were the most warm and welcoming. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We spent four fabulous days in the Languedoc region of France with warm, welcoming hosts Luc and Magali, their three delightful children and dog. They were quick to offer bottles of water for the room and helpful with suggestions of sites to visit and scenic routes to take. We enjoyed lively, memorable three-hour dinners at their table with other interesting guests from Germany, Australia, France and the US. They invited us to join them for an aperitif on the nights that we did not opt to have dinner at the ferme.They really made our stay memorable with their special brand of hospitality. They are very attentive to the dietary needs of their guests and eager to engage their guests with their family. What a wonderful end to our vacation!

Room Tip: See the website to choose the room that appeals
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trilingjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We spent two nights at la Sauzette while we were touring southern France. The Dupont family was so welcoming and warm. Their children are delightful and very well behaved. We enjoyed trying to communicate with Luc and Magali, we don't speak French, but we had our book handy and they are learning English; it was fun! Our meals were excellent and it was wonderful to come back to dinner after sightseeing all day! We have wonderful memories of our time at La Sauzette.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at La Sauzette for four nights in September 2010. We used it as a base to explore Carcassonne, Albi, and the Cathar castles. We had a lovely room at the back, with a king-size bed and a full bath. The place is located just south of Carcassonne, with easy access to the autoroute. Our hosts, Chris & Diana, were in the process of turning over the place to the new owners, the Dupont family, so we had the pleasure of meeting both families. We shared a delicious continental breakfast with them all each morning. Luc, Magalie and their children are delightful, and will do very well in their new enterprise. We had a lot of fun trying to communicate... they have a little English (but are eager to learn), and we have very little French.

On our final night at La Sauzette there was a going-away party for Chris & Diana. Many of their old friends and neighbors were there. We were made to feel most welcome, and enjoyed talking with many of the guests, who seemed pleased to practice their English on us. Magalie whipped up an amazing array of fancy hors d'oeuvres, salads, cheeses, breads and desserts. We had a wonderful evening, and a wonderful stay at La Sauzette!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdk1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cazilhac
1.9 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
447 reviews
2.8 mi away
Audotel
Audotel
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sauzette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sauzette

Address: D 56 | Carcassonne, 11570 Cazilhac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cazilhac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cazilhac
Price Range: $87 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La sauzette is an old farm completely renovated into guest rooms. Only 5 km from the magnificent medieval city of Carcassonne, you will appreciate the calm and tranquility of the Sauzet, totally isolated surrounded by vines and woods. Many hiking trails available to you, so you can admire beautiful landscapes. Parking is free and secure, each room has a theme and the hostess can if you wish one of our regional dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Sauzette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing