We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Family Hotel at a Modest Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Family Hotel at a Modest Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here on a family cross country trip and it was a good hotel with a nice room at a great price. The staff was very friendly and the room was average, yet clean and comfortable. This hotel is located right off I-29 and I-80 so it is very convenient for a traveling family. Equally, it is located minutes away from the downtown Omaha area (Old Towne Omaha) and Henry Doorly Zoo. This is a great spot that I would recommend to any family. They also have a free breakfast that offers staples such as cereal, muffins, biscuits and gravy, eggs, oatmeal...and some really good coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carter-elston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    27
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
18
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites in Council Bluffs, Iowa at the end of April on a cross country trip. It was just what we needed after a long day of driving---well located near both highways 80 and 29, efficient and friendly front desk, a clean, comfortable and quiet room, plus a good breakfast the next day. We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I first stayed here on a long motorcycle trip last spring. I was stressed from a horrible, windy ride. The manager's warm greeting and the comfortable room helped me get ready for the last stretch to Newton, Iowa. So when we needed a hotel again this spring, we chose this one. It didn't disappoint. We arrived late and exhausted from a day of helping our son move. We were again greeted warmly and given a room one floor up next to the elevator. It was huge, easily the size of two normal rooms, with a couple of couches and extra armchairs, not to mention a comfortable king sized bed. The extra sink came in handy as we hurried to get ready to fall in the bed. Elevator noise was not a problem, nor was the temperature in the room. We had time the next morning to enjoy a leisurely breakfast. It's free, there's plenty of it, and it's good. We recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the Omaha area, especially if the Iowa-side casinos are your goal. But it's literally a hop, skip, and jump to downtown and the Old Market, to TD Ameritrade Park, to the Henry Doorly Zoo and Lauritzen Gardens. Check out downtown Council Bluffs, too--it's pretty funky. It's a family-friendly hotel that offers good things to everyone.

Room Tip: On both stays, the rooms have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CleveB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel April 13 for a one night stay. We reserved a king room. When we arrived they allowed us to check in early and we even got an upgrade to a suite. Everyone at the front desk was really helpful, especially Ricky! She was great. The casinos can pick you up here and you don't have to worry about driving, parking, etc. They have a hot breakfast, but we went down there too late and there wasn't much left. This was a nice hotel for the price, and customer service made our stay :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel was very nice and clean. The rooms were big. The elevator was out-dated, they should look at replacing that. The pool was small, but we had no need to swim during our trip anyway. The desk boy was a little immature, but we didnt need him but to check in. The location is great for people who want to go to casinos. The movie theater isnt far, and next to the theater is a go kart place that we kept hearing great things about. There's a great Texas Roadhouse down the way.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great place!

Room Tip: Elevator is slow, so 1st floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyBreanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed there April 5 and found it to be very clean and well appointed. Staff was quick and efficient. Beds were very comfortable and breakfast was good. For the price ($89), it was a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiser003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Zoo
Comfort Inn at the Zoo
#43 of 83 in Omaha
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Harrah's Council Bluffs
#1 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1801 S. 35th Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Council Bluffs
Comfort Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing