We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, New, and Helpfull” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, New, and Helpfull”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed the night while travleing cross country. Easy access to highway and close to a number of places to eat. The hotel and room was very clean and appeared new. Free breakfast that is typical of Fairfield's. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Jeff,

Thank you so much for the nice review. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your cross country trip. We are located just off the interstate and make a great stopping place for those long car trips. We hope that we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
21
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When traveling on a budget and trying to find decent places that do not nickel & dime you to death, you have to love the Fairfield Inn's by Marriott. Complimentary breakfast, clean efficient room, free wifi, free parking, free use of their business center to print boarding passes or surf. Does it get any better?

This hotel is located near lots of stores (home depot, kohls, menards, walmart) and various restaurants ranging from fast food (McDonalds to Olive Garden). Something for everyone.

Overall, very nice stay, couldn't have been happier. Room was very comfortable, overall appears of the hotel, room, dining area is very nice. Front desk staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello, Thank you so much for the kind review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Iowa. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I came to stay just for the night! Quick that day planning for car shopping. It was a great stay!
The staff was great also! It was an easy check in process which is always nice! The rooms are great too! They were comfortable and quiet even being right next to the elevator.
The location is awesome and being right next to my husband's favorite place to eat.
The breakfast was great also!
We definitely will be back the next time we stay in Council Bluffs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. I am thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay even if it was just for the night! I hope you found the car you wer looking for. We are located near other shopping and eateries as well. Next time your in Council Bluffs, you will have to check then out. We will definitely look forward to your next stay at the Council Bluffs Fairifield Inn and Suites. Thank you again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The rooms look very good. They are clean, modern looking and have everything one needs to be comfortable- including a fridge and microwave.
The breakfast is surprisingly good. It isn't your upscale type of setting with hot foods and large variety like Hampton Inn, Embassy Suites etc.
However, all the other less expensive hotels could take a long hard look at the model used in this establishment. The variety of food is plenty, so no griping about a limited amount of tasteless starch (Super8,Days Inn,Motel6 etc.).
The idea seems to be fresh, convenient and available. You get a large choice of fruits, there is steaming oatmeal with all sorts of toppings. My favorite is a fridge filled with your choice of breakfast sandwiches, V8 canned fruit juices, and other yummy items. So you just grab your sandwich warm it up and off you go. You can sit down in a large breakfast area and enjoy a paper or the news on TV, while enjoying your breakfast.
Oh, and unrelated... avoid the Fazoli's nearby, my wife got sick off their pasta.
Anytime we go through this area I will aim to stay at this location. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get ground floor rooms, all the way to the side door. There is a guest bathroom oddly placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molopomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You will have to stop by again soon as we have added hot items to our breakfast including scrambled eggs and sausage but don't worry the fridge full of yummy things is still here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff, over the phone while making the reservation, and while at the hotel was great. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I saw other reviews with complaints about nearby train and interstate traffic. I didn't hear either. The train traffic may not be the same every day and the interstate traffic was quiet because of a forecast snow storm which happened while I was there and may have kept people off the road anyway. The pool, which we did not use, is small and shallow. Not a good pool for some laps or get the heart rate going. Pool looked more for younger kids and those who just want to sit in the water and relax. Breakfast was traditional for hotels, but not bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSWIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I was so pleased to hear that our staff treated you well. Our goal everyday is to impress our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Council Bluffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was clean and affordable. The staff was very nice and accomodating. One problem. Trains. This hotel is very close to the Union Pacific switch and trains pass several times per night and cross a fairly busy street, thus blowing their horns.......repeatedly. Ugh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mslefreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites, we appreciate the nice comments on the cleanliness of our hotel and about our staff. I apologize for the inconvenience of the trains keeping you up, perhaps on your next stay we could place you on the back side of the building away from the tracks. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for 11 days due to the passing of a relative. The hotel is by far located in the best part of town. Directly off the interstate, close to a home depot, Walmart, Sam's club, far too many places to eat within a couple of minutes from fast food, breakfast, or dinner.There is a limited breakfast offered at the hotel however, we took advantages of all the different places to eat. The pool, hot tub looked wonderful but we didn't bring suits. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and due to the length of time there we never had any issue. Daily service was great, picked up a paper everyday and would recommend very highly if one is to stay over for a few days. Might also mention there are three casino's within a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsey_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crossroads of the Bluffs
BEST WESTERN Crossroads of the B...
#10 of 24 in Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bl...
#15 of 24 in Council Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Address: 520 30th Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7686
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for a hotel in Council Bluffs, Iowa will enjoy our convenient location off of I-29 & I-80. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs is located near many local businesses and shopping including the Google Data Center, Offutt AFB and Mall of the Bluffs. The Council Bluffs hotel is a short drive from many popular area attractions like the Omaha Zoo, Mid-America Center, Centurylink Center Omaha and the Old Market. Guests can gamble nearby at Harrah's and Horseshoe casinos. We are also a 15 minute drive from the College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha and Creighton University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Council Bluffs
Fairfield Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing