We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
SW Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff, over the phone while making the reservation, and while at the hotel was great. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I saw other reviews with complaints about nearby train and interstate traffic. I didn't hear either. The train traffic may not be the same every day and the interstate traffic was quiet because of a forecast snow storm which happened while I was there and may have kept people off the road anyway. The pool, which we did not use, is small and shallow. Not a good pool for some laps or get the heart rate going. Pool looked more for younger kids and those who just want to sit in the water and relax. Breakfast was traditional for hotels, but not bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSWIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I was so pleased to hear that our staff treated you well. Our goal everyday is to impress our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Council Bluffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    45
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
50
27
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis MO
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was clean and affordable. The staff was very nice and accomodating. One problem. Trains. This hotel is very close to the Union Pacific switch and trains pass several times per night and cross a fairly busy street, thus blowing their horns.......repeatedly. Ugh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mslefreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites, we appreciate the nice comments on the cleanliness of our hotel and about our staff. I apologize for the inconvenience of the trains keeping you up, perhaps on your next stay we could place you on the back side of the building away from the tracks. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for 11 days due to the passing of a relative. The hotel is by far located in the best part of town. Directly off the interstate, close to a home depot, Walmart, Sam's club, far too many places to eat within a couple of minutes from fast food, breakfast, or dinner.There is a limited breakfast offered at the hotel however, we took advantages of all the different places to eat. The pool, hot tub looked wonderful but we didn't bring suits. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and due to the length of time there we never had any issue. Daily service was great, picked up a paper everyday and would recommend very highly if one is to stay over for a few days. Might also mention there are three casino's within a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsey_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place has been recently refurbished so I had no complains about that, but small details like, the toilet seat flopping all over the place and the brace to hold up safety bar needing attention were two things that make me wonder why it is needed for guests to report these things. I have to say the bed was super comfy and that is really important after a long day on the road. The breakfast is the usual expanded fare that Marriott Fairfields have. We were greeted nicely and felt they are putting out effort to make your stay enjoyable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDakGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your feedback and kind words about our hotel. I apologize you had these negative experiences. I have addressed these issues to ensure they do not happen again. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance and we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you give us a chance to make things right and try the Fairfield Inn & Suites again next time you find yourself in the Council Bluffs area.

Sincerely,

Karl Crompton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rolled in to Council Bluffs without a reservation and checked several other options, none of which were acceptable, before finding the Fairfield. Jennifer at the front desk was very friendly and efficient. Gave us the Senior Rate of $101 for two adjacent rooms and made check in easy and fast. Facility and rooms were clean and beds were comfrotable. Hotel was close to full so we had to stay on the first floor but the noise from the outside was bearable and forunatnely there were not any bigfoots in the rooms above us. Breakfast was fine with waffles and biscuits and gravy that were of good quality for a freebie. All in all good value for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

People will complain about anything this hotel was clean the suite was wonderful and my kids played in the hotel all day the noise was not a biggie and the breakfast was nice . Stay here and if you have kids they'll love it you can sleep just right ! (;

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Fortunately this hotel was close to the highway to take us home because the stay here was unbearable for me! Our family was separated, not given the ammenties we requested, and I spent 2 nights in a room with no working a/c. I repeatedly asked for maintenance to look into the situation and dealt with very difficult staff. The solution offered to me was unacceptable. This was NOT the hotel I would have selected for our stay, but it was booked by another family member so that we could be together for our vacation. We had 4 rooms (over $800.00 was spent on this facility) and never received a genuine apology or any other compensation. I would not recommend this facility! The pool room was as hot as the room I stayed in, the pool water was too hot and the spa water was cold-according to other family members. Thank goodness Cracker Barrel was next door because the breakfast was unacceptable for anyone with special dietary needs. Last I knew, the customer was ALWAYS right. Not here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl C, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I apologize we did not provide you with the experience you expected while staying at our hotel. I want to assure you I have spoken with our maintenance staff and stressed the importance of doing anything we can to take care of guest issues right away. Guest satisfaction is our main priority and I am sorry that these issues were not handled for you during your stay with us. We hope with our continued efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you will give the Fairfield Inn & Suites another try when you are in the Council Bluffs area again.

Sincerely,
Karl Crompton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Address: 520 30th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for a hotel in Council Bluffs, Iowa will enjoy our convenient location off of I-29 & I-80. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs is located near many local businesses and shopping including the Google Data Center, Offutt AFB and Mall of the Bluffs. The Council Bluffs hotel is a short drive from many popular area attractions like the Omaha Zoo, Mid-America Center, Centurylink Center Omaha and the Old Market. Guests can gamble nearby at Harrah's and Horseshoe casinos. We are also a 15 minute drive from the College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha and Creighton University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Council Bluffs
Fairfield Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing