We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel itself would rate poor but add in the service & its terrible. Driving through the area to get to the hotel, I knew I had made a poor decision not to cancel my reservation after reading poor reviews on here. The building right across the street is literally boarded up. It was raining when I arrived to check in & they have a tiny covered area. The lady who checked me in was rude. I had reserved a smoking room & she said I had not even though my confirmation shows I did. Ended up in a smoke free room. Asked if she had a bottom floor room available since there is no elevator & they didn't but asking seemed to disturb her. When I asked her if there is a designated pet area, frustrated she responded that they can just go on any grass but to pick up after them. She didn't tell me how to get to my room & when I asked she seemed irritated. She explained that there is 1 door on each side of the building & told me which door would be better for us to go in. I thanked her for her time. She didn't say anything positive like thanks for staying with us, or enjoy your stay, or anything. Parked near the door she suggested, unloaded the dogs, & some small bags. Neither key card opened the door & no cover over the walkway to the door. I leave my husband with 2 dogs in the rain to walk around the building in the rain to the front desk. I waited in line & then explained that neither card would open the outside door. Her exact words were " I figured that would happen. I will tell maintenance in the morning to fix that." She asked if we had tried the door on the other side of the building. I said no it's raining & we were half way unloaded. She gave me 2 new cards after tossing the other 2 & said gook luck with these in a snarky tone. She did tell me how to get to my husband through the building. He had already went back to the truck to stay dry. Put a trash can in the doorway so I could go get them. Next morning door still didn't work with cards but my husband found another door down a ways we could use. It would have been nice to know about that door the night before. No smoke alarm in our room. The building is old & ran down. No updating. Just threw some flat screens up. At $110 a night, I expect way better. Worst hotel experience ever!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bdela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Room was okay for the price, the front desk person was terrible, didn't know anything and when I asked to talk to a manager, was told they they were out of town. Booked through Expedia for three days and wanted to check-out after the first night, no one could tell me whether or not I would get a refund or not.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COdave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Older hotel, but friendly staff. Our first impression was we made a mistake. This hotel does not have a elevator. With all that said we had a nice stay, just minutes away from most attractions in area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A mixture of things done well and others not so well. Our room showed some recent upgrades, but also some haphazard details: like carelessly done caulking in the bathroom, a toilet not properly secured to the floor, and a missing washcloth. The food in the hot breakfast buffet was all right, but "hot" also applied to the room in which it was served and where people were supposed to eat. Evidently its proximity to the large swimming pool area prevented adequate air-conditioning or ventilation. The price, however, was relatively attractive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I called up this hotel from the interstate in Omaha and was given a quote and an assurance that they had plenty of rooms left. I didn't realize until we got there that the quote was for a "suite" which meant a sofa-bed for the fifth member of the family (you try getting 3 kids to sleep in one bed). Physically, the hotel is tired and should probably be downgraded to a Sleep-Inn, but the staff is great, the pool is deep, breakfast and internet are included, and I slept soundly. I am not sure I would want them to renovate because then they could ask for room prices of 50% more.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel is right on a major artery, we didn't have any trouble with road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbirgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is definitely a budget hotel. It looks older and a bit worn down, has no elevator. My room was small. Water pressure wasn't great. I went to take a shower in the morning and found a wet washcloth in the tub left by someone else. On the plus side, it was quiet and breakfast was fine. I checked out early.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came here for the CWS and booked this hotel based on distance from the park, price, and availability. The decor needs an update but the customer service is top notch. The have a shuttle to the airport (and the games during the CWS). The front desk people are so friendly and accommodating. The will find you a way to get you whatever you need. Is it old? Yeah, it's a bit older than a hotel of the hotels in downtown Omaha. The convenience will make up for it, I promise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Council BLUFFS/9TH Ave
Days Inn Council BLUFFS/9TH Ave
#20 of 25 in Council Bluffs
343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 25 in Council Bluffs
142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Omaha - Council Bluffs
Red Roof Inn & Suites Omaha - Co...
#14 of 25 in Council Bluffs
202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Crossroads Of The Bluffs
Best Western Crossroads Of The B...
#11 of 25 in Council Bluffs
462 reviews
0.9 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Council Bluffs
WoodSpring Suites Council Bluffs
#23 of 25 in Council Bluffs
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 3537 W Broadway, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-3266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range: $60 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Quality Inn And Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Quality Inn
Quality Inn Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing