We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local venue!”
Review of Hog Stop BBQ

Hog Stop BBQ
Ranked #28 of 143 Restaurants in Council Bluffs
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great local venue!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Clean but unassuming BBQ, waitresses super friendly, food amazing!!! Nothing fancy but has a Poole table for $1 a game, kids loved it, tv's and a buffet on some nights! BBQ sauces are fabulous. Buffet is good but the chicken and apple cobbler are unbelievable!
Would come back again!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank njgirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced, nice location”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stopped in for lunch had the pulled pork sandwich which was not only good but a good size sand which. This place has a full bar open til 2:00 a.m., however, did not have a drink at lunch. Price for beer was no higher, in fact I remember it was about .50 lower than other bars. Located next to the Days Inn, right off the interstate. Not a five star place but worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank bugsey_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Close to the Action”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stopped here because it was virtually in the parking lot with the Days Inn Hotel we were staying. We were going to the Queens of the Stone Age concert at Harrahs Stir Cove Ampitheater. We decided to pre party a bit and eat dinner before going to rock out and smash on a bunch of beers
The food was hot and the Mountains were Blue and thats basically all that really mattered. For appetizers we got Smoked Chicken Nachos and the Blazing hot wings. The Nachos were good, the only thing that was different was that the chips and cheese were like ballgame nachos. The Chicken was good and the toppings were fresh. The Blazing Wings weren't really that blazing. They were hot but nothing too crazy.
For the Main course we had a couple of sandwiches I had the shaved beef brisket with smoked mac and cheese. The sandwich was served with a caddy of various sauces.
The bartender's name was Joe. He was pretty cool. He was all creamed up about the NFL preseason game that was on and switched all the TV's to the Dolphins Cowboys Hall of Fame Game. He had a sad look on his face when we asked him to turn the bar TV back to Sports Center so we could see some Twins highlights, but he obliged.
2 apps, 2 sandwiches, 4 rounds of beer and a couple shots came to right around 75$ with tip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Chad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hog Stop, a must stop!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I ate the buffet. The buffet had several choices on it. All was very good! If I had one complaint, food could of been warmer, but taste was very good. Sauces are excellent as well. Brought my 4 year old, and we really enjoyed the sweet corn from buffet. If in Council Bluffs, a must stop if looking for BBQ.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Hawk247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good BBQ!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The pork and beef were both delicious. The sweet potato fries were some of the best I've had. The mac and cheese needed work - too creamy for my taste. Good value, good service, and good location!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank m0nd1m00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Stop BBQ also viewed

Council Bluffs, IA
 

Been to Hog Stop BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing