We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but just OK.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“OK but just OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We wanted to be on the east side of Omaha and ended up here. The front desk was efficient and helpful. Room was OK, a musty smell that cleared our after the window was left wide open for a couple of hours on a cool night. Otherwise it was clean. Room was quiet.
The next morning breakfast was just OK. There was lots of staff, but surprisingly everyone's apron's ( 3 people) has soiled aprons which did not make me feel very comfortable. Maybe the waffle making machine blew up.... don't know. Would not go out of my way to stay here away. I feel bad saying this, but that is the way it was that day.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side opposite the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    135
    57
    18
    16
See reviews for
172
94
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We made a reservation sight-unseen and arrived late at night. The room was very nice, large and comfortable. As others have written, the breakfast room was busy, but well-stocked. We easily found a table for two.

When we checked in, I was unable to find parking. The lot was full and the area on the access road was full, too. We found out the next day that a Little League travel ball team was staying there- lots of parents with lots of cars and SUVs. Little wonder they were out of parking spots. The night clerk was very helpful. He directed us to park in the handicapped spot as their handicapped rooms were already occupied. He said the police only come if they call them. He left a note for the morning clerk saying he had directed us to park there. We did not get ticketed- I have to admit that I felt a little nervous all evening. My wife even had a dream that our truck got towed. The motel has no parking behind the facility, so if you arrive late at night, you may have difficulty finding parking.

By the way, if any parents from the travel ball team read this, your boys were very well-behaved and polite. There was no running around the halls, they were well-mannered at breakfast- in fact we didn't realize there was a large group of children at the facility until we saw them eating breakfast in their uniforms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berniega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Simply put.. Wonderful
The staff was very welcoming and even recognized my elite status. They also recognized it was our anniversary and made sure we had what we requested on our reservation. The room was super clean and comfy!! The hotel was sold out, but you wouldn't have known it!
Very pleased!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyClark74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I wrote a rave reveiw last year of this motel and my opinion has not deminished. The facility was spick and span and the staff treated everyone like loved family members. We walked next door to Famous Dave's Barbeque resteraunt and had a superb meal and then returned to Country Inn to have a pleasant evening conversation with the desk persons and then on to the spacious room and comfortable bed. It may be another year before I visit again, but I anticipate the same superb quality care and service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobjan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Reservation made by Harrahs for special event. Front desk staff were friendly and quick. Lobby warm and inviting with fireplace and coffee.

Room nothing special, Door wouldn't lock from the inside, was totally messed up. Bed was made with bottom sheet inside out and barely on the bed, There was a fridge, mini micro and coffee.
The television was too far down to watch if you were lying in bed, and if setting in bed it still was set low on dresser.

Went down to breakfast buffet, Room was totally packed, so, extra room had been opened up.
The way the buffet is arranged was terrible. There are two waffle irons, setting at the end of the aisle, next to the doorway to extra room. The rolls,bagels and toaster are immediately right of those, so you have people lined up waiting for the toaster, trying to make waffles, wanting spreads,etc. They had country gravy, biscuits, eggs, potatoes and sausage offered. Hubby made 3 trips to buffet trying to get one piece of sausage, Failed, was able to get the last spoonful of potatoes. There were to ladies trying to keep up with things but were unable to get around all the people trying to eat. It would have been far more effective to have set the buffet up in the larger room to enable everyone to truly enjoy. Also, if you wanted hot oatmeal, it was set up between the waffles and the toaster.

Even as a "freebie" we won't stay here again. Would rather drive from Harrahs back to the Horseshoe if the Hilton is available

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinncb, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Was there for business and thought I would drop a line on how nice and cozy this place was! Loved the staff and the room! Also some great dining and shopping in the area that you can easily walk to! This is a great place to rest your weary traveled body!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennykelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here because we wanted to be close to the Horseshoe casino; it's right across the street! A person doesn't need to use their vehicle until they depart the next day. The construction leading to their can be a problem, but a gps helps.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Harrah's Council Bluffs
#1 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Address: 17 Arena Way, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
#5 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're doing business in Omaha, visiting loved ones or trying your luck at the area's famous casinos, you can't beat the comfort and convenience offered at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, IA. The hotel's central location puts you just minutes from Eppley Airfield in Omaha, and the Harrah's and Ameristar casinos are only a short drive away. As an added bonus, the Horseshoe Casino is just across the street from the hotel, making it easy for you to enjoy the region's best games. At the hotel, you can take advantage of numerous amenities and services, including free high-speed Internet access, a heated indoor pool and whirlpool tub, and a complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Council Bluffs
Country Inn & Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Country Inn Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing