We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family for a 50th anniversary party. We had a room with two beds. The room was a basic hotel room, not overly spacious but yet accommodating. The morning self-serve breakfast was packed. They did open a second room for people to sit in but they also experienced some delays in bringing out some of the food to the buffet area. The weight room was adequate and the pool looked nice but other customers were making comments that there was too much chlorine in it. We however did not try the pool while we were there. The front desk staff was attentive to guest requests and is why I would stay here again if I was in the area for a short time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 522 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stopped for one night on our road trip across country. Our room was very clean and the staff was friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again. Parking was great and it was close to places to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A good location and wonderful ammenities, clean and quiet. The breakfast is very nice and the staff is quite friendly and helpful. The value is extended because of the great Club Carlson rewards program. But there are a couple things that drag things down for this traveler. The wifi is free, and easy to use; but painfully slow. In this day and age business and leisure travelers rely on Internet access more and more. Access speeds only slightly faster than dial-up are beyond aggravating! The other quibble is an easy one to fix; the pool/spa isn't available before 9AM. Many of us like to get in an early morning swim or a relaxing soak in the hot tub before starting our day. The late night availability is great, but the early risers would appreciate this fine facility too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Pros: Good Location, Clean
Cons: “Slow” Internet, lack of power outlets
This was a one night stopover on a road trip. The location is convenient (right off I29) walking distance of restaurants (Famous Dave’s) and Bass Pro Super Store.
-Check-in was prompt and courteous.
-Room was clean. – included a desk and two chairs.
-In the room (approx) 30in flat screen tv. Husband liked this feature although the free channels seemed a bit limited.
-Refrigerator and microwave in the room. Did not use the microwave but the refrigerator was a nice to have and was clean.
-Lack of convenient power outlets and internet was very slow (checking email ok - but surfing internet was painfully slow)
Bathroom:
-Clean (sink – tub and toilet)
-Standard shampoo conditioner soaps provided - this was nice to have as we forgot to bring ours.
-Great water pressure in the shower.
-Adequate number of towels provided.
-Hair dryer was wrapped in worn ratty looking old draw string bag. Not sure where that came from but it did work.
- Motel type Air conditioner unit in room
- Might be just a matter of preference but breakfast was just ok – however the staff was hard working helpful and courteous.

Overall good place to stay.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor - when we were there this area was quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcs02s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Not the best hotel if traveling with little kids. It was so loud at all hours. Seems like no quiet hours were enforced. Doors slamming, could hear people stomping around above us, banquet room had parties in the evening etc. definitely the loudest hotel I've ever stayed in (and we travel a lot!!)

Room Tip: Not the first floor - horribly noisy
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
countryinncb, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise you encountered during your stay. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The staff is great. The property and room was clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Breakfast is the standard hotel type food, but the staff works hard to keep it fresh and hot. The location is convenient. The pool and hot tub looked clean but I didn't use it. The exercise room has newer equipment. There is a washer and dryer on the second floor as well. I booked this hotel through hotwire at a deep discount. Some people commented about the location. There is some construction near the interstate, but there is another interchange nearby.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScrewBeeDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here before catching a flight out of Omaha (hotel is only about 15 minutes max. from the airport).
Everything was very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was much more than the usual cold rolls and apples - hot cooked food.
Check-out was not until noon, which was a plus.
Hotel is right across the street from the Horseshoe Casino and down the street from a couple of other restaurants.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back side of the hotel (towards the casino) and did not notice any noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
15.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 24 in Council Bluffs
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs

Address: 17 Arena Way, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-6991
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Council Bluffs
#2 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
#5 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range: $87 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're doing business in Omaha, visiting loved ones or trying your luck at the area's famous casinos, you can't beat the comfort and convenience offered at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, IA. The hotel's central location puts you just minutes from Eppley Airfield in Omaha, and the Harrah's and Ameristar casinos are only a short drive away. As an added bonus, the Horseshoe Casino is just across the street from the hotel, making it easy for you to enjoy the region's best games. At the hotel, you can take advantage of numerous amenities and services, including free high-speed Internet access, a heated indoor pool and whirlpool tub, and a complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Country Inn And Suites Council Bluffs
Country Inn Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing