We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Exceptionally clean hotel. We stayed four nights while touring the museums of Council Bluffs, Iowa and Omaha, Nebraska. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast served each morning was of good quality and plentiful. The parking lot was large and well lit. We will definately stay at this hotel again when we return to the area. Excellent value!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    135
    57
    18
    16
See reviews for
172
94
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Bed was super comfy! Room was clean. Microwave and fridge was a welcomed bonus. Will definitely stay at Country Inn again when in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I use TRIPADVISOR in all my planning, and I looked up this hotel before we stayed here. It had great reviews. I felt at ease, because I trust Tripadvisor. The reviews are correct. I stayed here for three nights, and to tell the truth I pick out hotels that have a pool for my children. I was happy with this choice. I saw, on a regular basis, a man cleaning everything, from the exercise equipment for the pool tables. The cleaning ladies are nice too and it is a welcome change for me that they actually could understand what I was saying to them when I asked for extra towels. They have free cookies, and believe me my children made good use of this benefit. Now there was a few times they were out of cookies, but my children got their share. The free breakfast does leave a little to be desired. The waffles are ok, but the biscuits, oatmeal, danishes were unedible. My kids took a bite and asked to go elsewhere, so that didn't save me money like I thought it would. BUT...the place is clean, the pool is clean, even the whirlpool (which I usually don't trust the cleanliness on) was clean, even I hopped in. I would suggest this hotel to my friends and be confident in that suggestion. I would stay again. It was right next to the HORSHOE CASINO, I walked there one night from my room. The Horshoe is nice too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkygirl2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you're looking for a throwback to 1980's style, this hotel is for you! Everything from the garish carpet in the hallway to the gold bedspread (BEDSPREAD! What quality chain uses bedspreads anymore?) screams truck stop motel.

Our guest room had firm and comfortable beds swaddled in those gold bedspreads previously mentioned. The room was very clean and dust free. The bathroom was immaculate. The wireless internet signal was available throughout the property. The doors to the sleeping rooms must be among the heaviest in the industry; perhaps this is due to fire code in Council Bluffs specifically or all throughout Iowa, but we could hear doors shutting all throughout the night.

There is an indoor pool and hot tub with great views of the adjacent casino.

One of the best features of Country Inn & Suites is the free hot breakfast served each morning. Our breakfast included biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, chicken patties, various pastries and muffins, cold cereal, and several other options. This is a wonderful way to start the day! The ladies staffing the breakfast room were very friendly and took pride in keeping the room organized, cleaned, and stocked with fresh food items. I regret that I did not get their names, because they were the two bright spots among all of the staff that we encountered.

All in all, if you are looking for a fun time warp back to the dated style of the 80's and you want a substantial free hot breakfast, check out the Country Inn & Suites in Council Bluffs. Locating it can be a challenge as it sits in a complex with other hotels, a convention center, and a casino.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated just to see if you get something that doesn't have a gold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WylieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a good, but not great, budget hotel. The rooms are nice, roomy and clean. The breakfast was average, with the usual fare. I was only there for a night, but did visit the casino, which is only a minute walk from the hotel's back door. There are renovations going on, including the room across the hall being gutted, but it didn't bother me during my short stay. The people were nice and friendly. I recommend this hotel for folks on a budget, as there are nicer and more expensive places nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elkayandboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of a 12 day road trip. This was a stopping point for us on the last leg home and this was an decent place to sleep. The beds were ok and we had a fridge and a microwave in the room which was nice.

The breakfast wasn't the best since it was dehydrated eggs and fruit that had clearly been frozen. Better than perhaps a doughnut and coffee but not the best as far as hotel breakfasts go.

We would stay there again but it was an average stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank SueZtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night while travelling home to Canada from Kansas City. It was a great value for clean rooms and a decent breakfast. Right across the parking lot from a Casino, and easy driving distance to a number of shops and restaurants. Beds were very comfortable (best pillows on our trip!) and our room was immaculate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Bomber_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Harrah's Council Bluffs
#1 of 24 in Council Bluffs
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 24 in Council Bluffs
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
Address: 17 Arena Way, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
#5 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're doing business in Omaha, visiting loved ones or trying your luck at the area's famous casinos, you can't beat the comfort and convenience offered at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, IA. The hotel's central location puts you just minutes from Eppley Airfield in Omaha, and the Harrah's and Ameristar casinos are only a short drive away. As an added bonus, the Horseshoe Casino is just across the street from the hotel, making it easy for you to enjoy the region's best games. At the hotel, you can take advantage of numerous amenities and services, including free high-speed Internet access, a heated indoor pool and whirlpool tub, and a complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Council Bluffs
Country Inn & Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Country Inn Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing