We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel was great.The staff is very professional. The food is good with many options. You can use your players card to get food free or greatly discounted.The hotel offers free shuttle to the Horseshoe casino where you can wager on horses (simulcast) or live dog racing. Check out their concert schedule, they have great bands that perform at their amphitheater. The room was very nice,clean and comfortable. I would highly suggest this hotel for a weekend getaway. The variety of restaurants and bars plus the casinos at Harrahs and the Horseshoe make for allot of choices especially if you like to gamble. If you live in the mid west and want to getaway for a weekend,this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Rick B,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your past experiences here with us on TripAdvisor. As you stated, between our Harrah’s and Horseshoe properties, we truly have something to offer anyone. Between the unique qualities of each casino, our restaurants, bars, concert venues, race track, and hotels, we have attempted to provide our guests with a constant flow of entertainment options. Our Total Rewards program allows you to earn points towards complimentary services regardless of where you choose to spend your time on property, and simply being a member offers discounts throughout our outlets. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed our staff, as they all work very hard to deliver top-quality service to each of our guests.

Thank you again for sharing such kind words with us.

Regards,

Ryan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,494 - 1,500 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and of course there nice steakhouse was closed the night we were there. It is only open Wednesday through Sunday nights. Check-in was easy and the staff was great. Our room was very large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very large with all the amenities. The casino is small but has lots of table games and plenty of slot machines. They have a 24 hour deli that we got desert from that was very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beech3242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Beech3242,

Thank you for sharing such nice comments about our property here on TripAdvisor. I’m disappointed that you were unable to enjoy our 360 Steakhouse, as the food, service, and views of the Omaha Skyline are very unique for this area. While our 360 Steakhouse is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, we do provide a complimentary shuttle over to our Horseshoe Casino, home of Jack Binion’s Steakhouse. While Jack Binion’s doesn’t have the views of Omaha, we do serve the highest grade USDA Prime beef – Chef Diego will simply knock your socks off. Information about each of our restaurants can be found in the Hotel Directory, as well as specifics about how to travel between our properties.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Ryan M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 4 days and that was too long. The casino is just about the smallest I've ever seen and they charge for drinks. We drove to the Horseshoe which is only about 3 miles but has no hotel (they charge for drinks there too.)
The rooms are fairly comfortable but they rip you off for wifi. It is a long walk from the parking lot or the parking garage to your room. My wife had a severe pain and the hotel were unable to supply aspirin. Security at the casino stated that they were not allowed to give out medication. We ended up paying $4 for 4 pills the following morning when the store opened at 10am.
I would not stay here for more than one night. Golf course nearby!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Clogtowner,

I am sorry to see that your casino experience was less than expected. We do provide complimentary beverages to all of our Diamond and Seven Stars members of our Total Rewards programs as a perk of achieving those tiers of membership. In addition, we provide complimentary non-alcoholic beverages to all of our guests at each of our casinos. While the parking garage used to be adjacent to our casino entrance, our new land-based casino is located near the hotel entrance of our property. My best suggestion for you is to utilize our Valet Parking service; not only is Valet Parking complimentary, but it allows you to drop your vehicle just steps from both our casino and hotel. For someone who has a difficult time walking, this service simply cannot be beat. In addition, our Valet can assist you with a complimentary wheelchair or a motorized scooter rental, allowing you to enjoy your time without putting undue stress on your body.

I do hope that you will return the next time you make it to the Omaha or Council Bluffs area, even if it is just for one night.

Hospitably,

Ryan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel was very nice. Friendly staff both at check-in and check-out. Room was spacious and included to large chairs ( Most hotels only have 1). Bathroom was very nice- lot of room and lots of linens. The buffet was good with plenty of choices- especially in the dessert area. If you have a players card you get a discount or if you have enough points you can use them. Casino was a major disappointment to me. Much-Much smaller than when it was on the water. Yes there is plenty of space, but it seems alot of machines were taken out. You can find nicer casinos just down the road. Easy access off of expressway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Denny B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the community here on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate the kind things you wrote about our hotel; our Front Desk team works very hard to ensure everyone enjoys their time here, and your words do not go unnoticed. Your Total Rewards card does give you discounts throughout our Caesars properties, and I am glad you were able to take advantage of this with the buffet while you were here. While our casino is smaller than the previous location on the Riverboat, we did make a number of improvements to the quality of the product and selection of our games. Should you wish to play somewhere larger, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from our Horseshoe Casino 24 hours/day. This shuttle picks up in front of our properties every 30 minutes, making it very easy to make the most out of your trip.

Thank you again for sharing your experience here. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Ryan M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was clean and spacious. The bathrooms were very luxurious. If you stay here, go to 360 Steakhouse on the 12th floor. Awesome food and service. The casino recently went from being on a huge boat to being in their building and it's pretty small and there are not a lot of table games. There is a free shuttle that will run you back and forth to Horseshoe Casino which is a just a few miles away. This casino was much bigger, nicer and had way more table games. There is a nice public gold course right next door. I would stay again. I would suggest you leave the kids at home. There is no pool and the kids can only go into the restaurants so there really isn'y anything for them to do. Great for anyone 21+ though.

Room Tip: Go for a higher up floor, the views arent great bc you are looking at the plains but it is better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarabada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

sarabada,

Thank you for choosing Harrah’s for your recent stay in Council Bluffs. We do specialize in entertainment for adults – adventurous people will enjoy our Casino, Bars, Restaurants, Nightlife, and Concert Venue, while more conservative guests can cuddle up in bed with a great book or relax in our Sauna. Our new casino has a modern, boutique feel which many people prefer over our previous riverboat offering; as you wrote, we do provide complimentary transportation 24 Hours/Day to our Horseshoe Casino, where we provide a legendary, Vegas-Style experience. Each of these atmospheres reflect the different personalities of our players, complimenting each other to make sure everyone can find the entertainment they are looking for.

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your experience at our properties, and hope to see you again soon!


Thank you,

Ryan M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This trip was due to a junket from CA for 18 to attend the UCLA-Nebraska football game. Part of the reason for going was the football tradition in Husker territory & the other part was the box provided by Harrah's for viewing the game. It needs to be said that this Harrah's did an excellent job of shepherding us from arrival at the airport to shuttling us back & forth to the game in the least amount of time possible since delays due to game traffic were less than an hr. To illustrate the diificulties faced, we all flew in at different times from different parts of CA. On our shuttle bus from airport to hotel our driver acted as a tour guide as we passed various landmarks. We checked in after midnight so had to dine at the 24-hr Backstage Grill which turned out to be pretty good & prices were very reasonable. Room seemed to be standard for Harrah's. I stay at a lot of Harrah's so I'm mentally comparing it to LV Harrah's: about the same size but here all the lights work & it's an LCD TV. Property-wide Harrah's has been on a kick about all employees making you feel welcome & the same goes for here but you have that Midwest genuineness to add to it. When the security guard greets you he means it & doesn't seem so forbidding. I won't say there's less to do than in LV because what there is to do is just different. So checklist for next trip: across the river in Omaha is Henry Doorly zoo, college World Series, national swimming championships & an atmosphere that invites you to kick back

NB Harrah's has another property called Horseshoe a few miles away. They run a 24-hr shuttle between properties. The shuttles will do pickups at nearby locations of guests & others if you call in.

All in all it was a great trip & il'll admit the 41-21 score in favor of UCLA had something to do with it but the people here had a lot to do with it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calnevatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

calnevatraveler,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our property here on TripAdvisor. Lynn and Chad worked very hard to put together such a great package for our UCLA Visitors, and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your visit (despite Nebraska losing!). I very much appreciate your kind words about our staff; our transportation team does an incredible job in tracking so many moving pieces, and making everyone feel welcome is what we are here for. You have quite the list of activities to get to when you head back to the area – we’ll be happy to help plan them out for you!

Thank you,

Ryan M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Even though this is a smaller property, the rooms are first class. The casino is well laid out and surprisingly not cramped. The buffet was average and a little pricey for what they had, but acceptable. Easy access from the Interstate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Techy D,

I glad to see that you enjoyed your experience in our new Casino earlier this month. On behalf of our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams, I would like to express my gratitude for your comments on our rooms being “first class.” These team members are dedicated to making your experience as comfortable as possible, and words such as yours make their efforts well worth it in the end. We do have a wide variety of options on our buffet, with many different promotions during the year – be sure to ask a Casino employee for the current offers the next time you are here, as we always have an incredible deal running on our property.

Regards,

Ryan M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.6 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council B...
#10 of 25 in Council Bluffs
256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 25 in Council Bluffs
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Council Bluffs

Address: 1 Harrahs Blvd, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-5680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Council Bluffs
#2 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#8 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range: $86 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Council Bluffs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure takes you to the Omaha and Council Bluffs area, staying at Harrah’s is your key to a fun, friendly time. Check in to our luxurious accommodations, including exquisite suites and deluxe rooms. Plus, you’re just step away from the action with slots, table games, fabulous dining, shopping and live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harrah's Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Harrahs Hotel Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing