We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great game, great time, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salinas, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great game, great time, great stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This trip was due to a junket from CA for 18 to attend the UCLA-Nebraska football game. Part of the reason for going was the football tradition in Husker territory & the other part was the box provided by Harrah's for viewing the game. It needs to be said that this Harrah's did an excellent job of shepherding us from arrival at the airport to shuttling us back & forth to the game in the least amount of time possible since delays due to game traffic were less than an hr. To illustrate the diificulties faced, we all flew in at different times from different parts of CA. On our shuttle bus from airport to hotel our driver acted as a tour guide as we passed various landmarks. We checked in after midnight so had to dine at the 24-hr Backstage Grill which turned out to be pretty good & prices were very reasonable. Room seemed to be standard for Harrah's. I stay at a lot of Harrah's so I'm mentally comparing it to LV Harrah's: about the same size but here all the lights work & it's an LCD TV. Property-wide Harrah's has been on a kick about all employees making you feel welcome & the same goes for here but you have that Midwest genuineness to add to it. When the security guard greets you he means it & doesn't seem so forbidding. I won't say there's less to do than in LV because what there is to do is just different. So checklist for next trip: across the river in Omaha is Henry Doorly zoo, college World Series, national swimming championships & an atmosphere that invites you to kick back

NB Harrah's has another property called Horseshoe a few miles away. They run a 24-hr shuttle between properties. The shuttles will do pickups at nearby locations of guests & others if you call in.

All in all it was a great trip & il'll admit the 41-21 score in favor of UCLA had something to do with it but the people here had a lot to do with it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calnevatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
calnevatraveler,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our property here on TripAdvisor. Lynn and Chad worked very hard to put together such a great package for our UCLA Visitors, and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your visit (despite Nebraska losing!). I very much appreciate your kind words about our staff; our transportation team does an incredible job in tracking so many moving pieces, and making everyone feel welcome is what we are here for. You have quite the list of activities to get to when you head back to the area – we’ll be happy to help plan them out for you!

Thank you,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    441
    219
    63
    62
See reviews for
325
584
178
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Even though this is a smaller property, the rooms are first class. The casino is well laid out and surprisingly not cramped. The buffet was average and a little pricey for what they had, but acceptable. Easy access from the Interstate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Techy D,

I glad to see that you enjoyed your experience in our new Casino earlier this month. On behalf of our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams, I would like to express my gratitude for your comments on our rooms being “first class.” These team members are dedicated to making your experience as comfortable as possible, and words such as yours make their efforts well worth it in the end. We do have a wide variety of options on our buffet, with many different promotions during the year – be sure to ask a Casino employee for the current offers the next time you are here, as we always have an incredible deal running on our property.

Regards,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

stayed two nights in august 2013....very clean rooms, clean lobby, hotel personnel were very cordial and professional. Casino on the other hand is not the greatest.....Ameristar Casino is the best of the council bluffs casinos....in my opinion. However, I would stay at Harrah's again when visiting council bluffs. Also, the harrah's 24 hour restaurant is great.....the buffet, no so good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
cactus7,

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone here on TripAdvisor. We have a very hard-working staff here, and I assure you that we all appreciate your kind words about our service and hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the updated menu at our Backstage Grill; you’ll have to return to try our newest options such as Bottomless Pasta, Unlimited Pancakes, and an incredible Prime Rib special. Our Food & Beverage team is constantly developing new ideas to stay on the forefront of variety and value, and I’m confident you’ll enjoy them as well.

Hospitably,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

this was third year in a row that four of us have traveled here for a four night getaway. we have always enjoyed our stay. the rooms are above average. the beds are great. the staff has always been first class. the food is very good. the buffet is very reasonable, and offers a good variety of well above average food. the restaurant on the top floor is very good steaks and seafood for more formal dinners at a decent price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
fun1972,

Thank you for continuing to make Harrah’s your home during your annual getaway! I am glad to see that you continue to enjoy yourselves, and very much appreciate your comments about our staff, rooms, and restaurants. You have some exciting changes to look forward to next year, as we have built an all-new, land based casino just at the entrance to our property. Now you are only moments away from excitement no matter where you are!

Thank you again for choosing us as your destination each year. I look forward to seeing you in the Spring!

Thanks,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the start of our stay to the end, the Staff was wonderful. Room was nice, clean. The only downfalls are no free wifi in the rooms and no pool. There is free wifi in the lobby and the staff did say something about they are waiting for the contract to end with there current providers, so hopefully in the future the wifi will be free in the rooms. The shuttle to their other property, The Horse Shoe, was very nice. Had a excellent meal there, at Jack Binion's Steakhouse, from 5-6 pm, 3 for $33 and it was well worth it. If the hotel had free wifi, I would have rated this 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big3b69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Big3b69,

Thank you for your kind words about our property. We do provide a number of complimentary amenities, such as Valet Parking at our front doors, Daily Newspapers, Fitness Center access with Sauna, Local and Airport Transportation, and 24 Hour access to our Business Center, complete with computers, printer, and office services. Jack Binion’s Steakhouse is an excellent choice for dinner, and our current three course option is tough to beat. The next time you are in town you will have to try our 360 Steakhouse here on our 12th floor – Not only is the food incredible, but the view is the best in the metropolitan area.

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a late review from our 2012 summer road trip across the US. We stayed at Harrah's which was located in Council Bluffs Iowa, across the river from Omaha, NE. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. We had an very overpriced dinner there, with a salad made from old lettuce. The waitress was very friendly when my wife complained about it, and they gave us huge desserts, which my grandson loved. The WiFi also was available for a fee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
HunkyJoe,

Thank you for writing about your trip last year. Since your experience we have made a number of changes to our property, most notably through building an entirely new, land-based casino. In addition, we have also made changes to the concept, design, or menu of each of our four restaurants and bars. While I am disappointed to see that you experienced an issue at dinner, I am very happy to see that your grandson was so happy with our ability to correct the problem. I do hope that you’ll stop by and see us again the next time you’re passing through!

Regards,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed over a Friday night free thanks to the Total Rewards club. Check in was quick but the staff was not very welcoming. We had reserved a room with a king bed, but were told those were all gone. Apparently they can take a reservation, but not hold a reservation...sorry, old Seinfeld bit. Anyway, the hotel is newer, and the rooms are adequate. In fact, our room was nicer than the one we had at Caesars Las Vegas. Room was clean, bathroom updated, etc. The casino there sucks, small and smoky with no poker room but they have a free shuttle over to the Horseshoe casino,so that worked out. The buffet at Harrahs is also adequate, but I suggest you eat at the Horseshoe buffet when you are over there to gamble, as it has more variety. Overall, for a free night, we can't complain, but not sure I would pay to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Just 1B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. Our Total Rewards program provides our guests with a multitude of benefits, from discounted or complimentary hotel stays to excursions around the world. Because of this, both our hotel here at Harrah’s and our virtual hotel partners at Horseshoe run incredibly high occupancy throughout the year. We do make every attempt to honor special requests, but it can be difficult at times because of our occupancy. While our Casino is smaller than our Horseshoe property, it is designed to complement the games and services found at the Horseshoe. Our 24 Hour complimentary Shuttle Service exists so that all of our players can enjoy the best of both of our properties. Whether you prefer the Poker Room at the Horseshoe or the 360 Steakhouse at Harrah’s, we have something for everyone here in Council Bluffs. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Council Bluffs
0.6 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
1.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Council Bluffs

Property: Harrah's Council Bluffs
Address: 1 Harrahs Blvd, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-5680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Council Bluffs
#2 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#8 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Council Bluffs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure takes you to the Omaha and Council Bluffs area, staying at Harrah’s is your key to a fun, friendly time. Check in to our luxurious accommodations, including exquisite suites and deluxe rooms. Plus, you’re just step away from the action with slots, table games, fabulous dining, shopping and live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Harrahs Hotel Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing