We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, great staff, go to horseshoe to gamble”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Roon was great , although dated, the staff was friendly, the casino was worse the casino night at a local church, go to the horseshoe it was wayyyyyyyyyy better. The shuttle to there is free. Smoking is prevalent at this location

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattslatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,554 - 1,560 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great customer service here. The buffet is great - Tonya at the register, when we were there on Sunday, 3/24 - was very friendly, professional. Whoever was working the phones that night was also very helpful - I called to order a cab for the morning and she let me know about the shuttle that started at 4:30 AM, then also offerred a wakeup call. The beds are VERY comfortable - nice sheets and great mattresses. Overall - nice place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki86001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The beds are so comfortable! The curtains are perfect so you don't have to see any light in the morning :). The staff was all very friendly! Also, the little diner in the hotel is open 24/7 and it is good food for the price. We had a nice stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorganMcKinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

the room was so nice and the staff were more than helpful ! they will go out of their way to help you and make your experience a wonderful one.Thank You Harrah!! and the food is so good,the service more than what we expected ! the sea food variety was so great that we even had frog legs something we had a hard time finding.

Room Tip: they are all good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a quick overnight stay but walked the grounds and dined in the morning. Was not much available for the time I arrived.

Room was spacious and very comfortable. I had a beautiful view of Downtown and the river for which I kept my curtains open for most of the night.

I booked a great rate through secondary source and was very satisfied with that. Hope to return sometime in the future when I have more time.

Room Tip: I liked the river/city views the best....parking is a little chaotic but you have choice of valet, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allamerican7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Trying to book a room at this casino is a nightmare. You get a reservation center somewhere in New Delhi. Besides the language barrier, the reservation personnel is not familar with the promotions and offers. My husband was on the phone for over 30 minutes with two different people just trying to book a room for a mid week evening. He was told that he was getting the last room and an unbelievably high rate. In frustration he declined. I ended up calling the Council Bluffs location direct and was lucky enough to get a very helpful person on the line. She said that they are supposed to transfer all calls to the reservation center but since she was not busy she would help me. She stated they had plenty of rooms available and we were able to use our "free room" coupon that we received in the mail. Within minutes we had our reservation.

The hotel itself is average. Starting to show a little wear, but I thought the bed was extremely comfortable. The casino was dead. I could not believe how few people were in there. Even during the week, there is a lot more action going on at the Ameristar down the street.

This experience solidifies why my first choice is Ameristar between these two casino hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here this month prior to leaving for a flight out of Omaha. We stayed here because they allow you to keep your car here for free while you fly and have a covered garage. They also have a free shuttle to the airport.

Rooms were nice. Two queen beds, desk, fridge, coffee maker. Bathrooms were very nice sized. No butting up against the shower when you are at the sink. Probably 4 feet between the two. Beds were comfy, nice pillows. We didn't hear a peep from any other neighbors.

Staff was very nice and friendly. Casino is just down the hallway. They are advertising that they are building a new casino soon.

No free breakfast. Buffet and cafe downstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnLSiouxCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.6 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council B...
#10 of 25 in Council Bluffs
256 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 25 in Council Bluffs
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Council Bluffs

Address: 1 Harrahs Blvd, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-5680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Council Bluffs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#8 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range: $85 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Council Bluffs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure takes you to the Omaha and Council Bluffs area, staying at Harrah’s is your key to a fun, friendly time. Check in to our luxurious accommodations, including exquisite suites and deluxe rooms. Plus, you’re just step away from the action with slots, table games, fabulous dining, shopping and live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Harrahs Hotel Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing