We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Very Pleasantly Surprised!

I didn’t expect much when we decided to go to this museum. After all, how great can this be in the... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
Bobbie H
Railroad History in Council Bluffs, IA

The Union Pacific Railroad Museum in Council Bluffs, IA is a "must see" railroad museum in the... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Beverly F
,
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Read all 265 reviews
  
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
155
86
17
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
86
17
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carnegie library interactive displays president lincoln love trains all ages public library train travel free admission small gift shop volunteer staff train buff great history lesson great for kids two floors american history suggested donation entrance fee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 265 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018

I didn’t expect much when we decided to go to this museum. After all, how great can this be in the small town of Council Bluffs Iowa?? Well boy was I wrong. This museum had fabulous displays for adults and incredible interactive displays for kids....or “adult kids”. There was an entire room devoted to Abraham Lincoln and how he was connected to the Union Pacific RR. I must apologize to the city of Council Bluffs....it was a wonderful city filled with history and friendly people.

Thank Bobbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The Union Pacific Railroad Museum in Council Bluffs, IA is a "must see" railroad museum in the Midwest. You will learn about the Transcontinental Railroad, passenger service of the Union Pacific, and the modern railroad today. It is interesting, informative, and has interactive displays. Great museum for both children and adults. Donations accepted, because the museum is free! There is a charge for tours.

1  Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

We visited the UP museum today and loved it! Lots of interesting displays, loads of history and interactive displays. And it’s free! Very worthwhile!

Thank FormerHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Very cool, interesting and educational place. Historically accurate with neat things to look at. As an adult I had fun so I can't imagine what a child would think about it. Very good place.

Thank koehlermissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

This museum is a wonderful history of the Union Pacific RR from conception to now. There is a lot of history to absorb, but there is enough interactive exhibits to keep one interested. Two floors of exhibits, one more of the past and the other more recent, including how a train is run today. There is a lot to read if you want the depth, but you can see much you don't want to do much reading. We parked on the street, but there appeared to be parking off street nearby.

Thank teklamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

I visited Omaha by coincidence just after finishing the Hell on Wheels tv series about building the Union Pacific. It was a ton of fun to see how much of the series was fact based (more than I thought!). There were a few interactive areas my tweens enjoyed, to their surprise, and the exhibits were very informative. The museum is “free” but the suggested donation is strongly suggested, something we hadn’t realized until we arrived there via an Uber. We didn’t have cash on us, so we really did tour for free, but the staff’s disappointment made it clear the cash donation was expected so we felt bad. I wish they had been set up to take a debit card and just charged admittance because the museum is worth a paid visit. Avoid a faux pas and bring cash to “mandatory donate.” You will not regret a visit to this lovely museum.

Thank geogiasun12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We have been hearing all day we want to see trains. So to the museum we came. Very very cool place. Free to enter just pay the meter for parking. Very informative and fun. Lots of things to learn.

Thank trooper198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

great museum been here twice. from the east coast I know all about the Pennsylvania RR, moved to KC now learning about the Union Pacific RR. this is a fantastic museum full of artifacts. history past to present. love the exhibit and movies on traveling out west. dinning car was amazing. great spot if you like trains. stop by well worth it. also next door is the local round jail. another interesting site. UP friendly staff, free leave a donation small gift shop. support local

Thank billhordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

We've seen more railway relics from yesteryear in other railway museums. This museum is mostly printed placards with lots to read. Apart from a large collection of UP dining crockery, there are not many railway relics on display. To be fair, there are well done mock-ups of small segments of dining cars & coaches, but nothing genuine. The engine driving simulation is a huge disappointment. All the controls are there beside the engineer's seat in a mockup of a diesel cab, complete with moving scenery to the side & ahead through cab windows, but it is no simulation in the sense that no controls vary anything - it is just a presentation of positive train control technology.
A significant portion of material is propaganda in favour of what a wonderful company UP is, but given admission is free, you can't complain too much.
Somethings to validly complain about however are:
1) A very poorly stocked gift shop of UP-related items.
2) The free audio tour is a joke. The handsets work well in response to the input of an exhibit number, but there are NO exhibit numbers posted next to exhibits! (We found out later we were supposed to have been given a map of the museum with numbers on it, but that is needless complexity. Other museums post numbers on the wall next to the exhibits).
Overall, entirely skippable, you'll learn more & see more of UP relics at the Durham museum in Omaha.

Thank aussiewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Museum is housed in the former public library building. The building itself is stunning. The renovation to make it the Union Pacific was awesome. Small gift shop. First floor has old train information. Interesting information regarding President Lincoln and accompanying artifacts. Upstairs had interactive children displays. Really awesome. One was an opportunity to explode dynamite. Children can push down the handle and the dynamite explodes with flashing lights and noise from the rocks. Very well designed.
Was a great museum. Kuddos Union Pacific!

Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews