We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old River Pizza”
Review of Old River Pizza Company - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old River Pizza Company
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Old River Pizza”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice restaurant - good food - our group of 6 had Calzones, Pizza and Salads - all food was hot and good - we had new, younger waitress who did an excellent job - manager / owner followed up with us as to how she was doing - excellent experience - have eaten here before - will be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grover74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
redmon05
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Calzones & Pizza”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The food was wonderful - husband had the calzone and thought about doing the 5 lb competition but decided against it. He enjoyed food as well as part of the pizza! The service was slow - 5 minutes longer actually took 20 minutes which was frustrating. The atmosphere is outdoorsy and comfy. Good value for the food that you get.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank redmon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The pizza and the service was great. After a long day watching football it was nice to have a friendly face in a cool place to eat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorishannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel Delivery Service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This restaurant was a huge disappointment. I saw it advertized in the hotel directory, looked at their webpage (which was very well done) and called to place an order. I ordered the chicken calzone which didn't mean their $12.00 min. purchase for delivery so I ordered the cheesy breadsticks. When my order was delivered, it wasn't warm and they didn't include silverware or napkins. When I called back, I talked to a supervisor and she told me most people eat calzones with their hands!! She did offer to have them bring utensils back but I ended up going down to the front desk to get some from them. She kept telling me they usually include everything which didn't help. It actually annoyed me more. Their website is so well done, I expected more than I got. Oh yeah, it was also quite pricey at $19.00. I didn't get a receipt so I have no idea what their delivery charge was.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imelda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Do the Wednesday night buffet”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were very impressed with the wait help- the owner is on the premise. Very complete buffet not your cheesy Pizza Hut mess. Pizza is thin crust and the rib tips were great! Coffee special brewed for us and they made extra pizzas to our liking. We will go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old River Pizza Company also viewed

Council Bluffs, IA
Council Bluffs, IA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing