We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adequate but...”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Clean and new, but we now know why it is called microtel. Rooms are...micro! Okay for one, but tight for two people. Breakfast is bare minimum. Even have to ask for pool towels. Probably fine for the single travelor just looking for a place to sleep. Don't expect any extra amenities. Although the area was decent, 3 cars in parking lot were vandalized...windows broken out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buster409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. You are correct in saying that our Single Queen rooms are small. Originally, this was the only type of room available at Microtel, which was the reason for our name. It was a hotel designed largely for business travelers and the square footage of the room was and still is, comparable to what you will find in most hotels in Europe.

Years ago however, our model added Double Queen Rooms and Queen Suites. These rooms are comparable in size to room types in any hotel. The next time you are considering a hotel stay, I invite you to look at our Double and Suite rooms. I think you will find them more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    239
    175
    62
    38
See reviews for
319
159
50
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel is very clean/new with the exception of our room smelling like a freshly lit cigarette. Sad for a new hotel. The staff was very nice, but told us moving to a different room would not help even if a room was available. The front desk employee came up and said she was a smoker and even she couldn't have slept in the room. It was awful. We were there for the CWS. We checked out and made other arrangements. I would not stay here with children of if you are not a smoker. The smoke was unbearable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I want to apologize for the smoke smell in your room. We try to operate a 100% smoke free operation. Unfortunately, a small percentage of guests refuse to respect the rules of the hotel. They are informed several times before entering their room about the rules and are charged a $200.00 fee for smoking. We do our best to defumigate rooms in which smoking has occurred. I hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.

Gery Whalen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Council Bluffs hotels

American Fork, Utah, USA
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We loved our stay at the Microtel in Council Bluffs and would stay there again. The continental breakfast was one of the best we've had, even when staying at a much more expensive hotel. Staff were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank GmaRae710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBellevue, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor. Please come stay with us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Dead spider at the end of our comforter; Ants & termites kept flying inside of our room around the window. When the toilet broke, that was the last straw.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBellevue, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your response. I an sorry that your stay was not the quality of our other guests. The issues will be corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 683 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed 1 night at this hotel for a personal trip. My friend paid for the stay. A co-worker of mine highly recommends Microtel and uses them for all of her business trips so I was interested in experiencing it myself. It does not disappoint.

Location

It is very easy to get to/from Omaha airport. It took about 10 minutes in afternoon traffic. As for restaurants and shopping, you do need a car to get around, but there is a lot to choose from off the main roads and it is very close to the casino, with a shuttle that runs all day and night.

Rooms

We had requested a one queen bed room. The room is very tiny (hence the "micro") but a nice size for one person, could get a little close for 2 people more than a couple of nights. The window has a window seat, which is nice.

The bathroom was surprisingly large, a fair amount of room around the sink area for makeup bags, etc. The sink is inside the room with the shower/commode. The lighting is good for putting on makeup.

The hotel was busy yet this was a very quiet hotel. I found the bed to be very comfortable and was able to regulate the room temperature easily. The hvac was not noisy. The room is well appointed, everything looks brand new and is very clean.

Check In

I arrived at 10:30 pm. There was one person at the desk (Charlie) and he could not have been nicer or more genuine. He gave me a more thorough orientation on the hotel and amenities. Check-in and check-out were easy, no lines.

Hotel Staff

The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful. At breakfast there was no attendant, the front desk staff (Robert) had to man the food area and the front desk check outs. The breakfast area ran out of orange juice at one point and then they ran out of forks. Robert did a good job of balancing both jobs.

Parking

The parking lot is large and well lit.

Restaurants/Bar/Room Service

No room service or restaurant.

The breakfast was okay. They have cold cereal, instant oatmeal, biscuits and gravy. They also have a belgian waffle maker which worked very well. They have hard boiled eggs, and a variety of breads and a toaster.

Fitness Center

I did not get a chance to visit the fitness center, but they do have one on the premises.

GPS/Cell Phone/Internet

My gps worked fine getting around the entire area. Cell phone service was perfect everywhere in the hotel. Did not use internet in the hotel.

Overall I enjoyed my stay very much and would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my everyone for future travel.

Room Tip: We were in room 328, all the way down at the end of the hall, far away from the elevator and ice mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaBelle35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBellevue, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. At Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham, our goal is to make every guest experience just as positive. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a very new Microtel and always good rates. I travel 50,000 miles per year on the road and I always stay at this hotel when I have to make calls in Omaha or Council Bluffs. Clean rooms, facilities, extremely courteous staff. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance, gas station around corner, etc. Breakfast isn't much, but whatever. Don't let anyone tell you this is in a "bad" area of town. It is not. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I usually book the 7 days in advance via Microtel's web site with AAA and get it for $63 / night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teebox6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBellevue, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our staff tries very hard to provide a clean and comfortable hotel for our guests. We will see you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Traveling home from AZ. to MN., we stayed in various hotels across the midwest. This was our 2nd Microtel, and we decided on this one after staying at another of the same in New Mexico a few nights prior. This particular property had a very updated room, small, but definitely upscale. A very comfy bed, although we would have preferred 2 queens, but they were not available. We very much appreciated the staff going out of their way to try to accommodate us in that request, (it really was our fault for not asking for that in our original reservation), but their attempts to help us were geniune. Continental breakfast was the norm, but a number of construction workers ate before us, it started @ 5 a.m., we were there at 5:30, and most of the coffee was already gone along with the bagels, etc. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than one night, opt for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoLadyUpperMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelBellevue, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. At 3 years old, this hotel was built with Microtel's latest design. Out goal is to provide an inviting and comfortable stay for our guests. Have a wonderful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 24 in Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Harrah's Council Bluffs
#1 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Address: 2141 S 35th St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Council Bluffs
#3 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Microtel Inn And Suites Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing