We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Hairy visit”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Busy and expensive place but completely disappointing because of the noise from adjoining rooms, hallway, and stairs.

Bathroom featured hairs from previous guests which were not an appreciated feature.

Staff was great and morning breakfast standard Express fare.

Won't be a stopping place on future journeys.

Room Tip: Stay away from stairways, halls, and adjoining rooms because building construction does not include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueFromWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi there Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review.

We're sorry you found your stay too noisy for your liking. New Year's Eve is a very busy time for us, and you got our last room that night so we were very busy indeed. The noise levels were not normal and we do apologize for that, but many guests were out celebrating.

As for the hair you found -- that is a problem and we will be talking to the head housekeeper about this issue. We're sorry about that.

We hope you'll visit us again to give us another chance, Sue.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    50
    21
    12
    12
See reviews for
69
44
13
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
760 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I are priority club members because we always stay at their hotels. This time we were traveling with 23 seniors who toured the Colorado Rockies. This hotel was no exception of the excellence they provide. We were greeted warmly by the staff who assisted us in getting settled. We arrived late in the evening and were tired and just wanted to "chill out" in our rooms. There were three staff at the desk to answer any questions we may have. USA news and the local paper was available and we had a great breakfast. There were pancakes, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereal, bananas and sweets with coffee, tea and sodas. What more can you ask for? The breakfast attendant was very efficient in refilling food and drinks. The manager was on duty to help. The hotel took care of our luggage, fast and efficiently. This was a great hotel. Rooms were spacious, very clean and neat with all amenities. We'll be back and continue to stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Any room any Holiday Inn Express is a good choice! We stayed in room 107 and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryannF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi Maryann,

Thanks so much for staying with us and leaving this kind review. We love how you described your stay and we're proud to have served you.

We hope you enjoyed your tour of the Rockies and had a safe trip home to Tennessee!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Overall we were happy with our stay here. However, there were a couple of issues. We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi tub and the drain didn't hold. It slowly lost water which was extremely annoying. Also, we had some major issues with the continental breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning. Saturday almost everything was empty and the bananas were completely brown. They were only fit to cook with, not to eat, which was really funny since they had signs about bananas on some of the tables. (See my pictures.) Sunday they again had very little food out. The bananas were slightly better, but not much. Both days they did restock the food but not nearly fast enough. We saw many people come and go without getting much food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brook H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi there Brook,

We're very sorry about the drain issue and problems with breakfast during your stay. I can assure you that has never happened before. We will have maintenance check the tub drains and address the banana issue with those designated people.

We hope you'll visit us again and give us another chance to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was a great, clean hotel with friendly staff! We are a large group and stay here all of the time. They are loyal to their returning customers and always welcome us back. They always have our rooms ready to go for us when we get there so the check in process is quick. The beds are incredibly comfortable! It is near casinos and the movie theater too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Loni,

Thanks so much for your continued business! We love hosting your group and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. See you again soon!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

First of all, I'm a Retired Air Force Veteran and I try to always stay at hotel chains that support the military with reduced rates. Holiday Inn used to be one of those chains, but not anymore. When I booked our room I thought I was taking advantage of this. But upon arriving late that night we found out that the policy had now changed. Our rate would be $30 higher. Well, it was too late to find another room, so you pay it. But not in the future, and a warning to other veterans, be ware. Unless you're on Orders and using your Gov't credit card, no go. Other than that, the TV wouldn't work in the morning; they wouldn't let us stay one hour later, since we had to go to a wedding, and being a long time IHG Rewards Member, you'd think that wouldn't be asking too much. I'll use up our points and be done with IHG soon. As I said, it's a nice hotel, just not a friendly one for our service members. Too bad.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter, and you won't hear the trains at night. Plus ask for a upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weathreye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi there Weathreye,

Thanks for leaving us this review, and thank you so much for your service to our country.

After receiving this and another complaint about our service member policy, we looked into the matter further and found that we can in fact accept government IDs as proof of military service. We're very sorry for this error. We just hope you and other servicemen and women understand that our policies do allow for military service discounts under the conditions you described going forward.

Regarding the TV not working: 99% of the time when this happens it means someone has turned the cable box off. In the future, please contact the front desk about this issue and we will attend to it immediately.

Regarding your issue with late check-out: we try our best to accommodate those who want to check out late, but unfortunately we are only allowed to do so a limited number of times per day, which means we have to say no occasionally. This is especially true when we're busy. We're sorry about this inconvenience.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We liked this hotel and would stay here again. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the dining was spacious and clean. There are plenty of restaurants in the area and Ruby Tuesday is within walking distance. We had to call several times before the front desk picked up the phone so we could place a wake up call.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Mark,

Thanks for leaving us this kind review. As for your problems with requesting a wake-up call - I can assure you that doesn't happen regularly. As you know, things can get very busy during some parts of the day, but we're usually next to the phone and answer right away.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again, Mark.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This was a great value, clean, friendly, quiet, close to a decent restaurant, and a delicious free breakfast to get us on the road fast! The Holiday inn iPhone app made it really convenient to find and book our stay while we were on the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi there Julie,

Thanks so much for staying with us and leaving this nice review. We love the Holiday Inn app too!

We hope you had a safe trip home, Julie.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Address: 2211 S 32nd St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7076 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing