We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is very nice, and the breakfast option were exceptional. The room was clean, and very new. The staff, while not unpleasant, did not go out of their way to be nice (the one negative we had). Also, the A/C did not function in our room after about 3 AM, so woke up sweaty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Kirk,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Our staff is committed to going above and beyond to accommodate our guests, so we hope you'll give us a second chance to prove it to you.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    49
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
63
41
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I chose this property two years ago mainly because of its location near I-80 in Council Bluffs. Because we were so pleased, we chose to stay here again. Once again, everything in this facility was clean, attractive, comfortable, and in working order. The breakfast area was immaculate and well-stocked including hot entrees both mornings of our stay. My wife was pleased to find a hot water dispenser instead of a thermos which typically yields a coffee taste...disgusting to many tea lovers. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and all details were efficiently dealt with. We've stayed in many Holiday Inn Express properties across the country but have yet to find one better in every way. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcbooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi lcbooz,

Thank you so much for not only writing this review, but staying with us for a second time in two years. They say any business is good business, but it's folks like yourself who seek us out for a return trip that make our hard work worthwhile.

See you again soon!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Holiday Inn Express review

This is one of the very best hotels I have ever stayed in! It looked exactly like the pictures. We were checked in with ease and fresh homemade chocolate chip cookies. The staff was awesome! So helpful too. We loved our room it was clean and the pictures posted was dead on. My kids and I enjoyed the pool and hot tub. There is a laundry facility for guests by the pool area. The breakfast was included with eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, coffee, juice, milk, cereal, pancakes, etc. there is a smart board to help locate places on a map and it can text to your phone the directions. This hotel is within minutes to to get to the zoo. We ate at Ruby Tuesdays which is across the street very convenient. Most of the restaurants were inside bars or casinos and we didn't want to take the children there. There are some restaurants that will deliver your order to you at the hotel. Just ask for menus at the front desk. We will stay here again the next time we come to Omaha.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdannelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi drdannelly,

Wow, we're humbled by your wonderful review!

I'll pass on your kind words to our staff - good bulletin board material. We DO hope you visit us again on your next trip to Omaha.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

OUTSTANDING! We came with our family during their busiest wknd. of the year (Berkshire Hathaway) and every request was met with a smile. Dennis and the staff went above and beyond to be as accommodating as possible. From the moment we walked in, we were taken care of (unknowingly dropped a bag in parking lot, only to have staff pick up and make sure was returned!) The rooms were VERY clean with a nice shower. All rooms have a small fridge...the suites have a larger fridge and microwave. The location is great too! Easy access to the highway and across the street from a selection of restaurants and a casino. For a lot of fun, visit Badonkaronks just down the road :). Again, I can't say enough about the staff and how kind and helpful they ALL were, especially during this BUSY time of year! I will recommend them to all and would DEFINITELY stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyP611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Sally,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff!

We hope to see you again next year!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were simply delighted with the excellent customer service. Dennis, Randa and Sarah get A+ for the hospitality. All the staff are helpful and kind and a pleasure to work with. We were especially grateful to Dennis for helping us out a difficult situation. This is a great hotel and we will be back again. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: We were happy with our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Molly,

Thanks so much for the review. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Dennis, Randa, Sarah and everyone else on the staff.

We hope to see you again!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were beyond pleased with our stay at this hotel. The customer service is outstanding, Dennis, Randa, Sarah and all the ladies at the front desk are kind, helpful, efficient, They accommodated our many requests, promptly and cheerfully...even during their busiest, sold-out weekend of the year, Berkshire Hathaway. Whether it was directions for shopping, or borrowing their stapler, extra bedding for an extra guest, re-doing room keys that were de-magnetized..etc....they were exceedingly patient and nice.
The rooms and building are beautifully decorated and clean, love the colors and furniture. Loved the shower in the bathroom, it is roomy, and handy with shelves and a seat, easily accessible. The breakfast room is lovely with pane glass doors and a fireplace, large screen t.v. The breakfast was great, nice variety of choices, and I might add, a pretty tasty cinnamon roll. The swimming pool area is spacious, with tables and chairs to supervise the children. Our thanks to the staff for their excellent customer service. We will definitely be back to stay at this Holiday Inn Express and Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi KBessen,

Thanks so much for the review and for the kind words about our hotel, staff and amenities. I'll be sure to pass this on to our staff.

See you again soon!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nothing but excellent things to say about Holiday inn express and suites - Council Bluffs. Staff was very accommodating, helpful, courteous and nice. They really stepped it up during a crisis of another hotel (Staybridge Inn & Suites - Omaha) backing out of their commitment last minute and leaving several people scrambling for a place to stay. Holiday inn ex and suites went beyond what was asked doing everything they could for our stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Pmlande,

Thanks so much for the review. We're humbled to see your kind words and hope to see you again in the future!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Council Bluffs
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Address: 2211 S 32nd St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7076 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing