We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed here often while on business in Council Bluffs. The service is great. The rooms are clean and the building is well maintained. For single female travelers its very safe. It's in a great central location and close to downtown Omaha. There are several casinos nearby, but this location is great for those wanting a quiet night. One thing I really like is that it's very consistent. I know that I can expect a nice, clean room on every stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JASamp279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thanks for the reivew, JASamp279!

We're glad you found your stay enjoyable. There are indeed a lot of casinos around, which some guests enjoy, but we also like to think of our hotel as sort of a haven for those who aren't interested in such things. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 205 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stay here regularly when I am in the area and am always pleased with the service, cleanliness, and the breakfast at this location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bigj0nb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The service was great, the lobby is gorgeous, staff was very helpful with questions. The room was very nice and roomy. The recent updates have done a good job of adding to the value of the stay here. Large bathroom countertop is always welcome to us - this room also had a wet bar area which is convenient so often. Location is so convenient just off I-29 that we wasted no time in getting back on the road. The room we stayed in had shower stall only, no bathtub. This is not a problem for us but those with small children may want to ask about it if it is an issue for them. Breakfast area was very nice, large enough it seemed, and had sufficient variety. Convenient public computers next to the breakfast area to check the weather for the next destination. All in all - a great stay. We enjoyed it so much on the way TO our destination that we made a reservation for on our return trip home as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

We appreciate the review, NLTCLB.

We're really happy you enjoyed your stay and that you chose us again on your return trip. Thanks so much for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This used to be a Sleep Inn. We love the walk in showers. The room was nice size, and very clean. Another nice feature is the choice of firm or soft pillows.
Great breakfast with bacon etc. Front desk staff took care of our every need.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: Maybe top floor as the hotel was full, and we like top floors as no jumping on floor above you.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnkenyDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

2 Queen suite
Free internet
refrigerator
Coffee Maker
Microwave

To start with... As soon as we stepped out of our vehicle the smell outside wanted to make you gag. It was that bad. It was obviously coming from one of the plants near by. I don't know what we were breathing in but it was awful. In the morning when we left it was not as bad but it was still there.

The carpets were stained both in the hallways and in the room.
The floors were dirty.

People who tend to stay here are gamblers for the most part. Not the nicest crowd to say the least. They can be very loud.

The breakfast was awful. There was no one attending it.

Security is lacking. Someone tried break into our camper shell as the weather stripping around the windows was hanging off in the morning. They were not successful in getting in, thank goodness. Now we have to get it replaced.

As I learned now, Council Bluffs is a rough gambling area. We should have stayed in Omaha.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anselrte66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thanks for the review, Anselrte66.

We're sorry your stay wasn't up to your standards. The industrial plants in the area can produce some odors at times, but usually they're not overly pungent. And although there are some large casinos in the area, we typically don't have issues with our guests' manners and security being anything less than excellent.

As for your concerns with cleanliness: we hope this is not a concern for our guests in the future, as we hold ourselves to a very high cleaning standard here at HIEH&S Council Bluffs. We're working hard to make sure we're holding up these cleaning standards so our guests' stays are as pleasant as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

First of all, I have to say for shame to the reviewer who gave this hotel a terrible rating because the guest laundry was not working. What about everything else in the hotel? did you not enjoy the speedy wifi, how about a fantastic breakfast area, and a great breakfast ? what about the very courteous staff. I check in for two night, upon arrival I was greeted by the staff, it was a very quick check in, they gave me a goody bag(water, candy & nuts) and within two minutes I was on my way to my room. The room was fantastic, comfortable room, and very quiet. Excellent stay !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is probably the sixth time I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. The staff are always pleasant and ready to help you. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is always hot and the cinnamon rolls are the best! The Horseshoe Casino across the street provides shuttle service to and from the casino.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatCheerStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#4 of 24 in Council Bluffs
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Omaha East/Council Bluffs, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 2211 S 32nd St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501-7076 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#4 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range: $96 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Council Bluffs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing