We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To noisy & knats in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Reviewed October 10, 2010

It is an alright place. Great location, nice staff, very helpful. The rooms are clean except for the knats, that are annoying you in the rooms. Breakfast was alright, need a more choices. The walls are really really thin. I was on the first floor & I could not sleep because I can hear everyone walking above me and talking in the rooms beside me. The walls are too too thin! But for a short lay over stay it is alright.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keate50801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

This is pretty much like every other Fairfield that I have stayed in...which means it totally met my expectations. Reasonable price, clean, comfortable. Indoor pool, flatscreen TV, decent breakfast included, parking outside the front door (though limited; don't come in late). Computer in the lobby. Good locale right across the street from the new Marriott on the river, though not much available for food right next to Fairfield.

One area where this hotel exceeded my expectations: The Staff. Becky and Andrew greeted and assisted me with impressive enthusiasm and unwavering professionalism. They seemed like people who will be very successful in this industry and are certainly a credit to Marriott.

I noticed that many of the other Iowa City hotels in this categegory/price sounded a little old and rundown. Everything in this facility seemed modern and clean, but coming from a construction background I noticed was that the builder of this structure did not do a great job with fit and finish. I saw a room number that was crooked, and wall heater with a big gap under it, etc. Also, as noted above, the parking lot is a little cramped and probably not big enough for a full house.

Would I go back? Defininitely. Comfy beds, nonsmoking modern facility, friendly staff, etc. All the things that make me a repeat Marriott customer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshalltownMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

The staff is very nice. Hotel was nice and quiet. They keep the hot tub at a good temperature and the pool was reasonably warm for December. Pretty good inexpensive stay. I wish they have oatmeal for breakfast though.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudder80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We reserved this hotel more than 3 months in advance, using a credit card to guarantee the booking. We booked a king bedroom suite, with fridge/microwave and sleeper sofa (3 adults...husband, myself & adult daughter.) It was a weekend AAA deal, and we notified the hotel we would be checking in between 9 & 10 p.m. Our emailed confirmation guaranteed the room reservation regardless of the late check-in because the room & rate were covered by the credit card. Let me say we have booked rooms like this in the past, the same way, through Marriott website. We have never had any problem with this until now.

When we got there (between 9 & 10), our first glimmer of problems was that there were only 3 parking spaces in the parking lot -the place was packed. Then our key cards did not work to open the door to our room. When we got cards that did work, the room was just a king bed room...not suite, just a room! One bed for 3 adults (we were all standing there at the check-in desk...our print-out confirmation showed 3 adults also...the clerk knew when she gave us that room it was wrong.) So back down we go...the clerk claimed that someone on the previous shift had "given away" our guaranteed king suite. And they had no other suites available. Even though we had actually already paid for ours. So we got a very crowded room with 2 double beds instead...no fridge, no micro, no extra space for 3 adults. The clerk did knock the price down to $50 for our inconvenience (but only after we questioned paying full rate for a second-rate room.)

But honestly, the room wasn't worth the $50: the place was so shabby...linens worn out (pillowcases actually frayed & tattered edges, bedspread/blanket stained & fuzzballs.) Carpets worn out, walls dinged up, furniture scratched & stained. This place is in sad shape.

Breakfast was awful-very limited selection on cold items, and baked goods were rock-hard...obviously left over from previous days & not stored in airtight containers. One of the reasons we have liked Fairfields in the past is they always have the good egg/sausage biscuit, so you can have a hot protein for breakfast (those sausage biscuits are even pictured on their websites.) This place did not have those...had something that looked like a corndog instead (was some sort of pancake/sausage on a stick...bleh!) The area set aside for breakfast was very small (once people sat down at tables, no one could get through between tables. So basically once you were seated, you were stuck until everyone else between you & the door moved.) Ridiculously small & crowded.

Very small pool, no exercise facility.

What a waste of money. Marriott should remove this hotel from their list.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirlNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

The Fairfield in Coralville is pretty typical of the chain. My business travel experience show these are better than average hotels with a 2 star rating, and I wouldn't hesitate to bring my family. The overall appearance always seems to be very neat and clean without appearing sterile. The rooms are basic, yet spacious, clean and comfortable.
A nice swimming pool and whirlpool are available but unfortunately, no exercise room at this point. There is a very nice, serve yourself breakfast ,with much more than the usual coffee, juice and donuts, including enough healthy faire that the average vegetarian would not go hungry.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank jooltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2006

After a terrible experience at another IA hotel, we were driving around looking for something else w/ our two kids at 11 pm at night! We came to the Fairfield Inn. We were happy that the hotel was 100% non smoking. They had a room and the price was $70 a night. Great.

Our room was on the first floor, at the end of the hallway. There was just a general smell of "clean." Our room had 2 queen sized beds. The sheets were stark white - very clean and comfortable. We had wireless internet which worked well. The TV offered cable as well and the ability to watch pay-per-view. The shower/bathroom was clean. The water pressure was fine and plenty of hot water.

We stayed for 2 nights. Each morning there was breakfast: cereal, jimmy dean bacon, egg and cheese biscuits that you microwave, milk, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, blueberry and oat muffins, doughnuts, toast, waffles that you make yourself, juice, coffee, hot cocoa, etc. It was nice for all of us. A computer and flat screen TV are in the dining room.

Our one complaint was that the sheer curtains did not block out the parking lot light when we slept. However, the next night, we discovered that heavier curtains hiding behind the sheers! So that was our fault.

My daughter used the pool daily. It was clean. Overall, this was a very pleasent experience.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mypbandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

The Fairfield Inn, Coralville, IA is a Marriott chain. We stayed there for the Iowa/Wisconsin game the weekend of 11/10. As of late October 2006, ALL Marriott hotels including their other brand (Fairfield included) became non-smoking. The first room we went to upon check in was on the third floor. Someone smoked in this room, was probably charged a fee for smoking in the newly remodeled room that was converted from smoking to non, but nothing was done to remove the smoke smell. The room was clean physically, but as soon as I walked in I smelled the awful smoke. I am pregnant and VERY sensitive to smoke right now.

We went to the front desk where they assigned us another room, one that was ALWAYS non-smoking. It was the first floor, right next to the ice machine. Rather than keep whining and complaining, we decided to give this room a whirl. What a noisy disaster of a sleep we got for the two nights we were there. Stay out of the room next to the pool and the ice machine. You will not get ANY sleep!

Upon check out, my husband tried to register a complaint with the front desk. All the manager said was to send our complaint to corporate. This shows poor customer service.

In conclusion, the transformation of smoking rooms to non smoking rooms, at least at the Fairfield Inn in Coralville, was unsuccessful as of my stay dates.

My advice, check in early to have the ability to change rooms before they get booked.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dante1265Inferno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coralville hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#5 of 21 in Coralville
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#11 of 21 in Coralville
157 reviews
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Coralville
AmericInn Coralville
#18 of 21 in Coralville
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Coralville - Iowa City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville

Address: 214 W 9th St, Coralville, IA 52241-2147 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range: $69 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Coralville IA hotel near University of Iowa The smoke-free Comfort Inn & Suites(R) hotel is located off of Interstate 80, minutes away from: •University of Iowa •Kinnick Stadium •Hancer Auditorium •Carver Hawkeye Arena Additional attractions include: •Amana Colonies, a National Historic Landmark •Coralville Lake •Herbert Hoover Library •Brow Dear Golf Resort Our amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free weekday newspaper •Free local calls •Indoor heated pool with whirlpool •Copy and fax services Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! All rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, a coffee maker, microwave, iron with board and refrigerator. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper. We are pet-friendly; fees apply. It's perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Inn & Suites hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Coralville, Iowa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Iowa City Coralville Hotel Coralville
Fairfield Inn Coralville
Fairfield Coralville
Coralville Fairfield Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing