We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a little better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Olathe, Ks
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Could be a little better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Front desk clerk upon check in - we asked for a good LOCAL restaurant option nearby and were told "nothing but chains here". We went down the road a few blocks and found NUMEROUS LOCAL options. Shame on him for not offering suggestions. Customer service should have these suggestions of simply driving a few blocks to find great places.
Breakfast - pretty bad for the $100 rate paid. It was basically disgusting and not worth the extra. Super 8 was ruled out as they didn't offer a hot breakfast. Your breakfast was terrible. Waffle mix doesn't work in your irons. Everyone had to chop at them to get them to come out of the iron. Day 2 was the same way. If your juice machine only has 2 of the 4 spigots that work - then label those - not the whole machine.
Floors - the bathroom, under the desk & lounge chair needed to be vacuumed. We found peanuts under the chair and socks under the bed.
One of the worst overall experiences at a Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    23
    5
    15
See reviews for
52
22
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

this hotel was not nearly as well maintained as other comfort inns I have stayed at. I stayed for one night on 3rd floor. the furniture in the room was nice and bed comfortable but the room had several items in disrepair. cobwebs along ceiling. faucet on sink was missing a handle. trim missing on wall etc. microwave not plugged in. ice machine was not working on the 3rd floor. the landscaping around the hotel had lots of dandelions, weeds and dog feces.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coralville hotels

Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
335 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We only stayed here one night, but our experience was a good one. The hotel is easy to find off the freeway and despite being close to the freeway and another busy road it was very quiet. We had a top floor room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable, with a micowave, fridge and coffee maker. The bathroom was clean with good towels and toiletries.Breakfast was the usual fare nothing special but OK All of the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. We did not have time to use the pool but it looked very nice. There are several restaurants close by, we walked across the street to a Perkins which was good. Should we be in this area again we would stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The greeting by Jill @ check in was a small-hello,if that.She told us where the room was and that's it.The breakfast was good and the morning desk persons where very nice & happy !! Room was o.k. roomy ! except for the -_filthy-! hair drier.It was real DIRTY !! The moring front desk persons made up for the day b/4 person .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel was very clean. However, when something doesn't currently work, such as the hot tub, then guests should know during the booking process or disclosed during check in as we would have chosen to stay at another comfort inn. Very disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjm100513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Comfort Inn and Suites was good place to stay. The room was clean and well-appointed, and the bed and pillows were clean and comfortable – these things make a place livable for me, and are kind of the basics. I felt good sleeping in the bed. Breakfast was reasonable; although not high grade, it was serviceable and pretty complete. My brother forgot a shaver, and they gave him complimentary shaving cream and a safety razor. I probably will stay here again when I am back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CI-197, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We appreciate your compliments on the facility and we are thrilled to see that your stay at the Comfort Inn & Suites was beyond your expectation.

Thank you for recommending us and we will see you soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed overnight for a college visit to the University of Iowa. Since our niece goes to the school as well we only used the room to sleep and it served that purpose at a reasonable rate very well. The room was clean and nicely done. Though we didn't use the fridge and microwave they were very nice to have in the room. The breakfast was just okay. Another family visited with us and we all thought the scrambled eggs were unedible. The waffles were good and the other selections of cereal, bagels, etc. was fine. Overall it was very good for the purpose intended but wouldn't want to have an extended stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdoyle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CI-197, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that your stay here was up to your expectations and you were happy with the amenities provided in the room.

We appreciate your comments on the room condition. I apologize for the mediocre condition of the scrambled eggs. We try our best to improvise our quality of service using the feedback we receive from our valuable guests like you.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coralville hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#8 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#10 of 18 in Coralville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
Address: 214 West 9th Street, Coralville, IA 52241 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Coralville IA hotel near University of Iowa The smoke-free Comfort Inn & Suites(R) hotel is located off of Interstate 80, minutes away from: •University of Iowa •Kinnick Stadium •Hancer Auditorium •Carver Hawkeye Arena Additional attractions include: •Amana Colonies, a National Historic Landmark •Coralville Lake •Herbert Hoover Library •Brow Dear Golf Resort Our amenities include: •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free weekday newspaper •Free local calls •Indoor heated pool with whirlpool •Copy and fax services Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! All rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, a coffee maker, microwave, iron with board and refrigerator. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper. We are pet-friendly; fees apply. It's perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Inn & Suites hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Coralville, Iowa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Iowa City Coralville Hotel Coralville
Fairfield Inn Coralville
Fairfield Coralville
Coralville Fairfield Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing