We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Coralville
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2006

Truth be told, I have never stayed at a Hampton Inn before. My trip found me needing to stop for the night in this location, so I decided to give them a try. I will now be looking for Hampton Inns when I drive cross country.

Room was the best equipped of any I have stayed at in this price range. Bed is VERY comfortable. Believe the advertising! The room had mild smelling toiletries provided, ample towels, hairdryer, lapdesk, extra pillows, extra blanket (I love this, since I get cold at night), note pads and pens, hangers, a proper ergonomic desk chair, a local magazine to browse through, decent lighting, and a quiet fan coil unit that kept the room at the temperature I asked it to. Also liked that you could open the window.

Room was also very clean - with the exception of some mildew growth on the very quiet fan coil unit. They should take care of this.

I ate at the on sight restaurant. It was fine, but the Ruby Tuesday I ate at the night before was better. The had a decent bar scene going with fans routing for the football game.

The breakfast was the best of the bunch in this hotel category. Hot food was hot and included egss. It all tasted good.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AzureMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    128
    89
    44
    22
See reviews for
180
128
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2006

Stayed at this hotel only for one night with my family (including myself: 4 males ages 22, 24, 55, and 2 females ages 21 and 51).

This hotel is very business-like and professional. Not a place to bring a huge young family. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with friendly employees. The complimentary breakfast was really good, with coffee, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, danishes, juices, as well as a "on-the-go bag" where you can pick up at the front desk (a bottle of water, cereal bar, fruit).

The pool area was really clean and kept tidy. The pool was a little chilly but the hot tub made up for it. It was very relaxing and hot!

The rooms were very clean. We had 2 rooms next to each other. Each provided 2 queen size beds which were amazingly comfortable. I want one for my home!

The exercise room was quite large compared to many other hotel exercise rooms and was also kept neat. The hotel also had complimentary beverages (wine, bottles of beer, soda) and mini eggrolls during the early evening hours. There is also an attached restaurant on-site which offers fair-priced items.

Great stay and very convient to the interstate, but you won't hear it. Each room has high-speed internet access, irons, hair dryers, etc. Great stay!

  • Liked — Amazing Beds!
  • Disliked — The pool could have been a little bit warmer
  • Tips/Secrets — Definately stay here! But expect to see mostly business people here, not tourists.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KingCobra7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2005

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Coralville Iowa from November 7 to the 11th, 2005. The hotel is relatively new, it shows in the building, furniture, etc. I found it very clean everywhere. It was quiet even though it's very close to I-80. I didn't really hear much noise and had good nights of sleep. The staff was very friendly and helpful, from the front desk, to the people in charge of breakfast, to the housekeeping staff. The location was very convenient, right off of I-80 and less than 10 minutes driving from just about anywhere in Coralville or Iowa City. It's also away from some area of construction immediately south of I-80 where many other hotels are located. It has plenty of parking space. There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel with decent food at decent prices.

Helpful?
4 Thank JPIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2005

Stayed here on a Thursday night with wife and 2 year old - very convenient just off of I80, at the top of the exit - and the last Hilton property before Des Moines. Friendly staff - including a very attentive breakfast lady. Pool is smaller than most Hampton's (to us) and the eating area is smaller as well - but neither made us feel cramped. Room is also typical Hampton - clean - personal air/heat unit - bathtub / shower - chair - and desk/chair. No views or anything particularly notable. The free wireless internet did not work, even after getting their wireless unit, so a bit disappointed there - but no big deal.

We would stop there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank munchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2005

Im February, I spent a Sunday evening at this Iowa City - Coralville hotel located where the former Iron Man Inn was just off Interstate 80. It was just a couple of minutes down the road from the big Coral Ridge shopping center, and a couple of minutes to the VA and University Hospitals. They run a free shuttle to the hospitals during the week-days. The room was very clean and comfortable. I used the pool, spa and exercise room. The attached restaurant was moderately expensive, but there were probably 50 to 100 restaurants near by. In the morning, there is a serve-yourself hot breakfast, with a full-time staff to clean up and to keep the food coming. I used HHonors and AARP reduced rate. It was a great value.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank honu-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 2, 2003

I live in Chicago and work for a company based in Coralville - so I stay at the Hampton Inn at least once a month for the past 2 or 3 years.

I can say the staff is experienced, helpful, and relatively stable over the years.

Rooms are very nice, quiet. Surprising variety in the types of rooms - some with jacuzzis, fridges, microwaves, exercise cycles, etc. They have remodeled recently.

Lots of restaurants in the area, but the attached restaurant is actually quite good - so the room service at this hotel is probably best in the entire area. The complimentary breakfast is also far above average.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.5 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Property: Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Address: 1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coralville
#6 Business Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville Hotel Coralville
Hampton Inn Coralville
Coralville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing