We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One thing lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We traveled cross country when we stayed here on the way home. We stayed in Hampton Inns quite a few times. Everything is nice but in this heat, I was surely dismayed to see no refrigerator in our room. I wanted to bring in ice blocks to refreeze or at least keep cold overnight. Did I miss this when I read room details that it didn't have a refrigerator? I check rooms carefully when reserving online and I reserve directly from the hotel. If I knew the room description online indicated a refrigerator, I'd be down at the front desk to complain. But be sure I'll make sure other Hampton Inn and their rooms have a refrigerator or book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saramay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear saramay,
Thank you for your stay at Hampton Inn Coralville. We appreciate the feedback our guests provide us. It allows us to identify what we are doing right and what we can improve upon. At our location we provide complimentary refrigerators upon request. We are currently in the process of getting them into every one of our guest rooms. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced without the refrigerator in your room. If you book with us again in the future please let our staff know that you may need one and we will absolutely find a way to accommodate. Thank you again for your feedback and i apologize again for the inconvenience. Please consider staying with us again next time you visit the Coralville area.

Sincerely,
Angelo
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 550 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hampton Inn is always a good choice...even with minor problems. This location at Iowa City/Coralville was used as a base for a 4-night stay in eastern Iowa. It provided an easy on and off of the Interstate in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Linda N,
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Coralville for your visit in eastern Iowa. The convenience of our location off of Interstate 80 is an added benefit to the great service and clean facilities our hotel provides. Next time you plan a trip to eastern Iowa hopefully you are able to come back to the Hampton Inn Coralville.

Sincerely,
Angelo
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Originally we choose this hotel because of it's location as a half way point to stay the night on our way to Omaha, NE from Joliet, IL. We were very happy with the ratings online and we received a very reasonable rate with no reservation. The pool opened early and the kids were able to swim before we headed out. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to other families as well as business travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Lori T,
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Coralville as a stopping point on your journey. People tend to choose our location for our convenience being just north of Interstate 80. However they also choose us because of the cleanliness of our facilities and our great service. I am glad your kids were able to enjoy a nice swim before hitting the road again. And i am glad you were able to enjoy a nice breakfast. Our hot breakfast is a big hit with our guests because of its variety and friendly and helpful staff. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Coralville and next time you make the trip we would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Angelo
Front Office Supervisor



Originally we choose this hotel because of it's location as a half way point to stay the night on our way to Omaha, NE from Joliet, IL. We were very happy with the ratings online and we received a very reasonable rate with no reservation. The pool opened early and the kids were able to swim before we headed out. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to other families as well as business travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently stayed for a long weekend, I was very impressed. Normally you think of Hamptons as lower quality but I have to admit, this is a nice facility. Everything about the property, rooms, exercise facility, breakfast area was clean, new and a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark090702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Mark 090702,
Thank you for taking the time to write about the Hampton Inn Coralville. It delights me that you enjoyed your stay with us. As well, i am glad to hear you were able to enjoy all of the amenitites that our Hampton Inn provides. We take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of our facilities and ensuring the guests get everything they pay for and more.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and next time you're in the area we hope you choose to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Coralville.

Front Office Supervisor, Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family stayed there to celebrate two in our family that graduated from the University of Iowa. We enjoyed the weekend and the stay. You have a great hotel and staff. Thank you for making our visit that much better!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Daniel F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were glad to have you here on graduation weekend and hope you choose our hotel whenever you’re in the Iowa City area. I will pass along your positive comments to my staff.

Sincerely,

Chris Phillips
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in mid May with two coworkers. Walked in and the room was immaculate. Great snacks and free beverages for a couple of hours in the evening. Only complaint was there was not a refrigerator in the room, which is unusual for a Hampton. Will be a repeat customer when I return to the Iowa City area.

Room Tip: No refrigerators in the rooms so bring a cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were glad to have you and your co-workers stay at our location. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the Manger’s Reception to relax and enjoy a few drinks and snacks. I will let my housekeeping staff know that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room. As well, we are working towards getting refrigerators in every room at the Hampton Inn but for now you can request one as we have some available for special request. We look forward to your return to the area and cannot wait to have you back at the Hampton Inn Coralville!

Sincerely,

Angelo Saenz
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was everything a traveler would want...clean & fresh, delightful staff, in-house adjacent top notch restaurant with professionally selected, prepared and presented food choices. It also had a nice gym next to an indoor heated pool. They have a local shuttle and quite an expansive shopping mall around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Jan213_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#6 of 21 in Coralville
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Coralville - Iowa City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Address: 1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241-1102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coralville
#6 Business Hotel in Coralville
Price Range: $92 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville Hotel Coralville
Hampton Inn Coralville
Coralville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing