We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in Iowa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Cantebury Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Cantebury Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
ogden, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Iowa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Quirky, unique sort of themepark like ambiance. Great hot breakfast served in the pool atrium. Many uniquely decorated rooms. Unbelievable cheerful, helpful staff. Free parking. Restaurant/bar with "camelot" theme. Walking distance or very short drive to a large variety of restaurants and bars. Free shuttle to the University of Iowa Hospitals. Right off I-80

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Casey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    117
    82
    50
    74
See reviews for
166
118
36
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I look forward to spending nights at the Cantebury. They have so many different rooms to choose from. The staff is always pleasant and willing to assist you when ever you need them! I have never had a bad experience in my 10 years of staying there! I would highly recommend giving them a try.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Misty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Themed in a medieval way. It lived up to the era's expectations. Room was cold, food was bad, actually smelled like feces at one place in the hall. Check-in clerk talked up the breakfast, but it was basically the same reconstituted stuff you get everywhere. Prefab sausage, boxed eggs, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I traveled with some family members to Iowa city with our sister (who has cancer) for her surgery at University of Iowa Hospitals, and stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Cantebury Inn, They gave us an excellent rate, free taxi service door to door to the hospital and back, free breakfast, and clean rooms with refrigerators, microwave ovens, and coffee makers. We didn't know how many nights we needed to stay so they let us call them at the last minute to book rooms at the low price for an extra night. The employees at the front desk were VERY friendly, and I could tell they were good at working with people who are stressed out, tired, and worried after spending long hours at the hospital. I can't say enough how great we were treated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viewfan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Iowa, Usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our stay was pleasant. Check-In was slow because there was only one person working on a busy day. We stayed New Year's Eve, and breakfast hours New Year's Day were 6 am to 9 am, which we thought was early for a holiday. The room was nice though, and we had a pleasant stay. We will definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We always stay here when in Iowa City area. The rooms are varied with most quite large and many with multiple sleeping areas. Doesn't look like much from the outside but is very clean and staff are professional. A major plus for families with kids is the interior courtyard pool. They also have a full bar in the basement. Didn't try the restaurant but the morning breakfast in the courtyard was ok. The medieval theme is fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank jayhawkjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I always have a good stay at Best Western Hotels. They are not real fancy with all of the bells and whistles, but if you want a clean room and good nights sleep you can't go wrong with Best Western. I love their continental breakfast. The staff are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Randall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coralville hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#10 of 18 in Coralville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
0.5 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Cantebury Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cantebury Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Cantebury Inn & Suites
Address: 704 1st Avenue, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Cantebury Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Cantebury Inn & Suites, is centrally located off the 1st ave exit,in Coralville,across from the Iowa River Landing.This property has a Old World Charm, but we are continously upgrading the property with modern amenities like NEW WIFI NEtwork, new RFID Door Locks, new Breakfast room, new Furniture and Mattresses in many rooms, new Artwork,new Roof..all with minimal inconvenience or noise to our guest. We have a nice Indoor pool, Fitness Room, Complementary WIFI All over the property,We also offer a Excellent Complementary HOT Breakfast in the morning, which includes, FRESH HOT Waffles, Eggs,Meat,Milk,Cereals,Juices,, *Pets allowed in Smoking rooms Only*. Cathedral ceilings and a large fireplace are an inviting change to a new conference room of 825 square feet of meeting space. We offer Standard Rooms,Two Room Suites,Suites with Hot Tubs,so whether you are on business or travelling with family, or want to spend a special night out with your partner, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cantebury Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cantebury Hotel Coralville
Best Western Cantebury Inn And Suites
Best Western Coralville
Coralville Best Western
BEST WESTERN Cantebury Inn & Suites Coralville, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing