We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you are visiting Iowa City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Coralville
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great place if you are visiting Iowa City”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Iowa City for a sporting event or the University Hospitals & Clinics. We stayed here just passing through and it was perfect. Lots of local eateries and a drug store, which is all we needed for an overnight stay. Kudos go out to Jonathan who in the morning gave me great directions to the Delvian Fossil Gorge!! We found it just perfectly! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    57
    40
    13
    22
See reviews for
79
40
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Just needed somewhere to crash for the night as we were passing through town. Arrived at 10pm staff was very friendly and they had a plate of chocolate chip cookies out. Hotel lobby clean and nicely decorated. Same for rooms. Hallways were a little stuffy and quite warm but it was crazy weather outside. Room was clean. The air conditioner was a little on the noisy side but appreciated that it did a great job keeping room to my comfort level. I'm a pretty light sleeper and it's sound didn't affect my sleeping. Grabbed a quick breakfast before hitting the interstate again. Lots if choices. A few of the "hot" items were barely even warm but we went down minutes after breakfast started and their crockpots must not have been warming up long for a few of the things. But was good. Again very friendly staff upon checkout. Think I paid $50 for the night they hotwire and for that price it was an awesome value......didn't look to see what regular rate it. Also didn't spend time in the area but it seemed like the location was close to a lot of things.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiningStar0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here graduation weekend-$200.00 a night for a small room, not totally clean and a very poor free breakfast. The staff were friendly. The bathroom appeared to have been recently been remodeled but showed poor workmanship. The AC/heat unit blew under the drapery. Overall we felt we were grossly overcharged for a poor quality room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chance s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Chance S.

Thank you for your recent review. I do apologize for the problems that you encountered during your stay with us. We usually receive rave reviews about our cleanliness, so your experience is a bit unusual for us. I realize that pricing can be an issue in the Iowa City area during special events such as graduation. Heartland Inn does it's best to provide a quality experience for all of our customers. Again, thank you for voicing your concerns. Your feedback will be taken seriously. Debbie Bullion, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I packed my husband and two sons off to the Heartland Inn sight unseen and they came back with nothing but rave reviews. For under $80 they had a big, spotlessly clean room with a king size bed and a roomy hot tub. The breakfast bar included a very nice, friendly gentleman manning the pancake griddle. Everything was well-prepared and well-stocked. The boys also enjoyed the clean swimming pool and the fact that it stays open until midnight. My husband said that he called to inquire about late checkout and expected some reluctance, but the desk clerk responded cheerfully, "Sure thing! How late do you need?" This kind of customer service is becoming more and more rare these days, but thankfully, it is alive and well at the Heartland Inn of Coralville, Iowa!

Room Tip: Room 216 ("Suite Dreams") has a big ol' hot tub and lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimissy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Jmissy10,

Thank you so much for the awesome review!!! I am so very happy that we were able to make your stay so fun!! We do strive to have a nice, clean and friendly environment for our guests. It is always very rewarding when we have succeeded in making our guests so very thrilled with their stay. The extended pool hours are very popular with families...keeps those energy filled kids busy!!
I will pass your compliments along to the staff. They will all enjoy the excellent comments!!
We hope to see you again soon!! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Best REgards,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slater, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend here as part of a group booking to attend an athletic event at the University of Iowa. As a result, we did not research this or pick it out ahead of time. We arrived to very friendly and accommodating staff..and ..fresh baked cookies. Our room was also clean, with everything functional within. It is obvious that this is an older establishment, by some telltale repairs in the bathrooms, and older carpeting. Overall, for the price, this is about what I'd expect, so no negative feedback from me on these points.
The location is excellent if you are going to be visiting the University - it is about a 4-5 minute drive from central campus. It is also very near the VA hospital, and the hotel advertises a free shuttle service to the hospitals in the area.
Overall, considering the price, and location, we'll be staying here again. I'm only giving 4 stars because of the telltale aging of the facility and obvious repairs .

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chuck O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Chuck,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the postive comments on our friendliness and our accommodating staff. At Heartland Inn, it is all about the guest!! Our location is very popular with groups coming to the area and the restuarants we share our parking lot with are a positive as well. We have been updating recently, but we do have a few more items to update. The very best compliment that we could receive is knowing that you will come and stay with us again sometime in the future!! Thank you again for your review!!
Best Regards,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

It was a very clean and very quiet motel, we didn't get to our room until 11.45 at night the place was packed and u didn't hear a peep. the room was in excellent condition.i would stay again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Bryan,

Thank you for your great review!!! We appreciate the positive feedback!! It is gratifying to hear that you were 100% satisfied. It is also very nice to hear that you will stay with us again. We look forward to you seeing you again in the very near future!!
Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate it.
Best Regards,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
0.9 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#14 of 20 in Coralville
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Inn - Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Inn - Coralville

Property: Heartland Inn - Coralville
Address: 87 2nd St, Coralville, IA 52241-2603
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heartland Inn - Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-80 on the Coralville Strip, the Heartland Inn Coralville is the closest hotel to both the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Hospital. We are just minutes from Kinnick Stadium, Carver Hawkeye Arena and Coral Ridge Mall. This Coralville hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from both hospitals and great hospital rates. We also offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks and wireless high speed internet. The Heartland Inn Coralville is a smoke free facility with a AAA 2 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Inn - Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Inn - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing