We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    39
    12
    21
See reviews for
75
39
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Negatives: parking lot congested with local businesses, breakfast area located right inside entry
Positives: rooms were clean, updated items
So-So: hallways clean but stairs were a mess with mud chunks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Beth,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Usually parking is not quite so busy, but you are correct in your observations about the nearby restaurants...which can be great if you are hungry!! I do apologize for the location of the breakfast area, It is a multi-functional area for the hotel with guests just plain hanging our there each evening....so it does come in handy being close to the lobby. Our proximity to the huge construction project at the University is the reason for the mud that we are experiencing. We have several construction companies staying here while building the new University of Iowa Children's Hospital....and with the snow melt comes the mud! Thank you for staying with us...we do appreciate it and hope that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you to our area!!
Debbie Bullion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

There is a reason this is one of the least expensive places to stay. The hotel is worn but renovated, the rooms are clean but even though renovated still show some age as does the jammed parking lot. Staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is not much but fine for the price of the room. It seems to be the hotel of choice for construction workers. The word that comes to mind to describe this hotel is marginal. The doors are thin and the halls can be noisy. It does the trick and the savings is nice beyond that there is not much more to say.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brassmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Brassmat,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We are a work in progress and are still doing some renovating. Heartland Inn is the closest hotel to the Univerisity of Iowa Hospital and Clinics and they are building a brand new children's hospital, hence the presence of construction workers. It is quite the huge project and has brought many specialized workers to our area. I am glad that we were able "to do the trick" and save you money at the same time!! Thank you once again for letting us know about your stay and I sincerely hope you will stay with us again sometime!!

Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I want to tell you all a story. My mother was transferred from our local hospital in Texas to the University of Iowa hospital to receive cancer treatment, and the process has been one of the hardest things my family and I have ever had to go through, until I got to the heartland inn. I was greeted by a young man by the of Jonathon who promptly checked me, but what made an impression on me was how kind and curious he was. The entire time he was talking to me it felt like I had known him since I was a young boy. He was asking me questions about how her treatment was, and later that afternoon when I came down for soup he remember my name and asked how my room was. Anyway, long story short, I was at the hotel completely exhausted and he personally brought me up extra pillows and cookies that night around 8 that night, (because they where out before), and checked on me to see how I was doing. I've stayed at many, many hotels before, and some are nicer than this one, but never, ever in my entire life have I been treated better by someone at the front desk, than I have from that young man named Jonathon. If only I could have said thank you one more time, or had a way to let him know that if it wasn't for him, my entire week would have never been the same. He brightened my day and the next day, when I was checking out, the young lady at the counter who checked me out showed me the same courtesy.

Now for the room:
The bed was comfortable
I had fresh coffee in the morning which was nice
The bathroom was extremely clean

If you are looking for a place to say in Iowa City I recommend the heartland inn to anyone and everyone. It is now my preferred hotel of choice, and will never stay anywhere else when I have the choice!

The staff is unbelievable. The only complaint I have is that the other lady at the front desk who was checking in another guest while I was getting checked in smelled like smoke, and later that night seemed rude when I asked her about the shuttle. Other than that, every single person on there staff is amazing, and I'm sure she is too! Thanks so much heartland inn, you'll forever be remembered.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Corbin C.,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful testamonial!! Jonathan is just learning the ropes here!! It is just great to hear that he is making such an outstanding impression on our guests!! At Heartland Inn, we strive to make our guests feel at home , especially when they are here under stressful circumstances. I am hoping that things are going better for your Mother. I am also glad that Jonathan was able to be of assistance during what is such a difficult time. The best compliment we could ever ask for is to get a recommendation like yours!! Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sure that you are beyond busy at this time and have many other things to do,so we appreciate you taking the time to write us. Take care now!! Sincerely, Debbie Bullion , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Bad News: the hotel is somewhat dated.

The Good News: Great complimentary breakfast; free dinner; free shuttle to University Hospital; friendly staff; free Wi-Fi plenty of places to eat (Old Chicago, Peking Buffet, Hardee's, Sparti's Gyros, Petra Falafel House, et al.).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertPC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Robert,
Thank you for your recent review. We are working our way through renovations and hopefully when you return, we will look a bit more updated. I really like the "Good News" part of your review!!! I am so glad that you enjoyed all of our extras!!! We really appreciate the compliments...especially coming from a seasoned traveler like yourself!!! The Heartland Inn staff hopes to see you again soon!!!! Sincerely,
Debbie Bullion, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was blessed on December 31st to be treated with respect and kindness by Justin, the gentleman handling the night shift. I came to the hotel at 2am after the death of my sister, no luggage, no toiletries, emotionally and physically exhausted. Justin was very kind by offering me any toiletries in the "secret" basket - and provided information on the closet drugstore if I needed anything else. All I can say, was at that time, having someone show me kindness and express their sympathy was outstanding. Thank you, Justin, and staff for who you are and how you treat your guests. ~~~ Lana Crouse

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Lana,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that we could (in a small way) positively impact a very sad time for you. I have passed your comments along to Justin. It always makes everyone on staff feel rewarded when a guest notices our special touches. Also, let me express from everyone on staff, our deepest sympathies for the loss of your sister. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully under better circumstances. Sincerely,
Debbie Bullion, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
178 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This is our favorite place to stay when visiting for a football or basketball game. If you can brave the cold you can walk to the arena. The deluxe king room is great for additional room. Staff friendly, room clean - didn't eat breakfast - too crowded.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Bearsfan78,

Thank you so very much for another review of our hotel. It was probably a very brisk walk to the Arena!! We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing Heartland Inn again while staying in our area. Hopefully, the next time you come to a game, it will be warmer!! AND, hopefully, the breakfast room won't be so busy and you can enjoy a fresh, hot made to order pancake or waffle. Thank you again for your stay and we will see you soon!!
Debbie B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Inn - Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Inn - Coralville

Property: Heartland Inn - Coralville
Address: 87 2nd St, Coralville, IA 52241-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heartland Inn - Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-80 on the Coralville Strip, the Heartland Inn Coralville is the closest hotel to both the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Hospital. We are just minutes from Kinnick Stadium, Carver Hawkeye Arena and Coral Ridge Mall. This Coralville hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from both hospitals and great hospital rates. We also offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks and wireless high speed internet. The Heartland Inn Coralville is a smoke free facility with a AAA 2 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartland Inn - Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Inn - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing